We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orchard Hotel good experience all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book a Free Breakfast PKG
Ranked #8 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Orchard Hotel good experience all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Husband and I in town for Americas Cup. Liked the location, near Union Square and Trolley direct to Pier 23. Staff very kind, helpful, well informed,. Rates competitive even with demand from the Cup activities. Great breakfast, lovely rooms and breakfast area. Small hotel, with an inn feeling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
A wonderful experience is what we are all about. Thanks for the kind review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Aside from the convenient location, we would always say our staff is what makes us so special. We appreciate your patronage and comments. Look forward to seeing you again soon in future.
Regards,
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    623
    117
    28
    14
See reviews for
199
925
145
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located just a couple blocks from Union Square. The rooms are good size with flat screen TV's. The staff at the front desk were very pleasant at check in. The hotel is clean but not really fancy. My biggest disappointment was the workout room. It is very small and has ,just three pieces of equipment. Also, there was quite a bit of street noise in the middle of the night. Overall, for the price a good value. Not quite up to par with the Nob Hill hotels.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for the reviews. We are glad to hear that you have liked the location of the hotel and are pleased with the arrival experience. We are glad you also felt the room lived up to your expectations. However, we are sorry to hear that our exercise faculties and street noises issue had disappointed you. We do offer an option for guest to use the facility of one of the brand fitness club closed to hotel at a fee. We are sorry to learn that the uncontrollable noise factor outside of the hotel has disturbed your stay with us. As our guests enjoyed the benefit of the hotel’s convenient location, with easy access to all means of activities and sightseeing, under such circumstances, noise issues are sometimes regrettably understandable. To regain your faith to the Orchard Hotel, I invite you to contact me directly to make arrangement for your next visit, and I will personally see to it that you will be pleased with your room accommodation and that your stay will be enjoyable. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the Orchard Hotel in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We started our recent holiday with 2 nights at the Orchard Garden Hotel and then on our return to San Francisco at the end of our holiday we spent 2 nights at the Orchard Hotel.

The hotels are quite different but I would highly recommend either of them. The Orchard Garden’s décor and bedrooms are more contemporary than its sister hotel which I preferred but whilst we were given a warm welcome by both hotels, the Orchard Hotel’s staff were more proactively friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Both hotels are situated on Bush Street, which gives them a good location to travel around San Francisco from, however they are some way from Fisherman’s Wharf and we used public transport (bus/cable car) to get to that area.

We only had breakfast at the Orchard Garden Hotel and that was extremely enjoyable, so much so that we ate there both mornings, which was not our original intention.

Before booking hotels in San Francisco I did a lot of research on other hotels and their rates and now having stayed at these hotels I can say that I am pleased that we choose the ones we did. They are reasonably priced (for San Francisco), with an excellent level of customer service. The room we had at both hotels (Orchard Garden – Superior Room with King bed, Street view and Garden Hotel - Deluxe Room – 1 King Bed) were spacious, very clean and extremely comfortable. At both hotels I requested a quiet room on a high floor which I was allocated.

As I have already said, I would highly recommend both the Orchard Garden Hotel and the Orchard Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Wow… What a great honor to have you stayed at both of our hotels, The Orchard Hotel and The Orchard Garden Hotel, during your recent trip to San Francisco. We are thrilled to hear that we did not disappoint. And equally excite to hear that we have met and possible exceed your expectation, and that you will return to stay with us. We can’t agree less with you about the location; our guests are enjoying the benefits of it, with easy access to all means of activities and sightseeing. Our team is truly one of a kind. Caring, sincere and always willing to help a guest in any way that we could possible manage. We appreciate very much of your high recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I checked in at about 12:30 (after the check-out) time but our room wasn't ready. Upon our return at around 6:30, they informed us that the previous guest fell ill and needed to stay an extra night and that the no other rooms with king beds were available, so they'd be putting us up in a room with two twin beds for the night. They didn't offer any sort of compensation for the mishap, but I told them they needed to make amends somehow and that I wanted to speak with the manager. I didn't (and still don't) understand why they didn't know when we checked-in that someone was still in our room as of 12:30, when check-out is at noon.

While I was upset about the mishap, the hotel definitely made up for things in the long run. Shortly thereafter, they called us in the room and told us that we'd been upgraded to the King Suite, where we ended up staying for the duration of the trip. They refused to take a tip for bring our bags to the room because of the misunderstanding. We even had a package shipped directly to the hotel because we had forgotten my wife's bridesmaid dress back home. But for the rest of the stay, the staff was very jovial and helpful.

The room itself was very dated though. The carpets are definitely worn down, the furniture is chipped, and the bedding, while clean, needs to be replaced (our sheets were torn in spots). I doubt I would pay full price for the hotel (we got a discount through Expedia), but I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear of your unpleasant experiences during the check in. Please accept our sincere apology on the way the situation was being handled. In no way this represents the level of service we aim to provide our guests. We strive to maintain and provide our guest the best and consistent guest services possible. We want to assure you that your comments have been addressed to the concerned personnel and department for the immediate attentions and improvements. Feed back, positive and negative, allows us to improve our service and offerings to not only meet but exceed our gusts’ expectations, your detailed reviews has given us valuable information on the guests perspective and to that, we are grateful. We are so pleased that despite of the unpleasant experiences this time. You will definitely return to stay with us again in future. I will invite you to contact me directly to handle your future reservation. I will personally assure you of a pleasant and enjoyable stay wit us. Once again, we value your patronage and comment. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Orchard Hotel is situated in an ideal central location for shopping, restaurants and access to transport for sight-seeing. The cost of our stay was very reasonable and our room was very comfortable, clean and quiet, despite being in central SF. The staff were efficient, helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good, though the only small down-side was that it was waiter service only and we would have preferred a buffet-style breakfast. Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Your review was great, thank you ever so much for the nice feedback. We will agree, our location is fantastic, transportations, shopping, and restaurants… all within a stone’s throw from our front door. Our staff is indeed so special. We say it all the time. They really do their best to keep our guest as comfortable and happy as they could. We strive to provide our guest with excellent value in which we believed that we have achieved our goal. Glad to hear that you have a great stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We caught the BART from the airport and the Hotel was only a 10 minute walk from Powell St. The last block is uphill before you turn onto Bush St. It was a quick and efficient check in and when we got to the room we were happy with what we say. It was bright clean and well decorated room. The bed and pillows were super comfortable and the slippers and bath robe was a welcome addition. The location was fantastic with the cable car stop on the corner of the block 10 metres away and the main shopping down the hill 5-10 min walk. We ate at the cable car café just round the corner for breakfast but there are plenty of others to choose from within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We couldn’t have said it better ourselves. . Our location as you have mentioned, simply cannot be beat. Especially if you are taking BART to and from San Francisco Airport, it couldn’t get any more convenient. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed yourself, which is our #1 goal at all time. We certainly can’t wait to welcome you back the next time you are in this great city.

Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Hotel is in a great spot in the city near Union Square and China Town. So close to restaurants and shopping. Everyone was very helpful and nice and the hotel is very clean and the rooms are real nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We couldn’t agree with you more regarding our location. You literally have almost everything quintessential San Francisco outside our doors. We appreciate your compliments about our staff. We are glad you also felt the room lived up to your expectations. Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.