We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at Orchard!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience at Orchard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I took my daughter to San Francisco as her high school graduation gift. After much research on various websites, I decided to stay at the Orchard Hotel. The research paid off. This was by far the best hotel I have stayed. The location was excellent. It was within walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and the BART Montgomery Station. The staff were always courteous, friendly and helpful. The room was quiet, spacious, extremely clean and well-maintained. I will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Wow…. By far the best hotel you have every stayed? What a compliment. I have to agree with you wholeheartedly, our location is superb and our staffs are indeed one of the kinds. We are thrilled that you felt the Orchard Hotel and the team here were worth every penny. Appreciate so much your high recommendations. Can’t wait to see you back…
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,205
    573
    111
    27
    14
See reviews for
180
838
138
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is perfectly positioned just off Union Square. Couldn't be more convenient. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. Lots of places to get breakfast nearby including Roxannes just next door - really good but a bit pricey. The hotel staff were extremely helpful - especially David, the concierge. Nothing to fault. Use as a base for Fisherman's Wharf (short cable car/taxi ride), North Beach, Alcatraz (take a trip - its fascinating), French quarter and Chinatown (both short stroll) and the hop on/hop off bus services from Union Square (well worth the money). San Francisco is a great city and this is a great place to use as your base.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
A Wonderful experience is what we are all about! I have to agree with you, San Francisco is such a fabulous city. It has a lot to offer in terms of sightseeing and activities, and we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit. We are happy to hear that you have liked our convenient location, and found our staffs extremely helpful. I will make sure to share them with the team, especially to David, our Concierge. We strive to provide our guest exceptional experiences. Glad to hear that you have a great time here. Thanks again for your review. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is just awesome!!! The atmosphere is great and the beds are really comfortable !!!! It is also very well placed: it's a few minutes from Union square and about 10 minutes from Westfields Shopping Center ;) The rooms were very clean! Our rooms were connected so it's great were you are travelling with your family (or friends ;) ) The restaurant serves good food although we only ate here for breakfast ;) I really recommend this hotel !!!

Room Tip: The higher floors rooms seemed to be quieter as we could barely hear the traffic passing by, not eve...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel's environmentally-friendly practices are satisfying :)
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review on both our hotel and staff. We will make sure to share your positive feedback with the team. It is always nice to hear from our guests that we are meeting and possibly exceeding their expectations. Can’t thank enough for the high recommendations. Look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Excellent choice for experienced travelers that wish to get perfect fit comfort avoiding big chains. We had 2 rooms: one king and a double-queen and both were very large, clean, comfortable, cool decorated, brand new utilities etc. Super close to anything a traveler would need in San Francisco either for business or just traveling. Restaurants range from cafés to fancy and cool places, all shops, laundry (various) and even public parking (more affordable) less than a block away. The staff is eager to help and provide interesting tips, far from any conflict of interests you normally can expect. The gym solution was very wise: it is perfect for one that simply needs some quick aerobic work, but a partnership provides very affordable high-tech gym close by. We were on the front 4th floor and I found a bit noisy but wife and kids did not hear anything. The walls are thick, the doors are top-line and windows are sound proof, but San Francisco is a noisy place itself. The rates are honest for each dime spent. I admire competent management and it seemed the owner’s eyes were always around.

Room Tip: We were on the front 4th floor and I found a bit noisy but wife and kids did not hear anything. The...
See more room tips
Green Features: They don't show off their practices annoyingly, but one can perceive that behind the curtains they are environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are so happy to hear your trip to San Francisco was a great success. This city is incredible. We are thrilled our hotel and staff were as part of that positive experience. We truly believe we really have a lot to offer our guest when they stay with us. We strive to provide every guest a safe, comfortable, friendly and uncomplicated experience. As you have mentioned the location is pretty stellar. You literally have everything quintessential San Francisco outside our doors. Cable cars, shops, restaurants, … you just name it. We value every guest feedback which allows us to improve our service and offerings to not only meet but exceed their expectations Once again, we appreciate your detail review. Look forward to serve you again in the future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here immensely. It was in a perfect location, near Union Square, North Beach, Chinatown and the cable car. Our room was nice sized, well decorated, cute and charming. This is an excellent boutique hotel.
The bathroom was lovely and nicely sized, as well. The concierge and front desk staff were friendly, knowlegeable and helpful. We enjoyed our stay here immensely and would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor for less noise.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you have liked the location and our tastefully appointed guest room. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. Guest service is always one of our best qualities. We consistently focus on meeting our guests needs. Our goal is your positive experience. Glad to hear that we made your stay a great one. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great location, close enough to Union Square and entrance to Chinatown, without being so close that the noise keeps you up. Couple of places to eat very close, cable car stops at the corner and there's a little market just down the street. The room was just the right size too! We didn't spend a lot of time in it, other than to sleep!
The beds were comfy, the pillows the perfect plumpness, the towels soft. We even liked the complimentary soaps and lotions. And there was chocolate!

Green Features: This is why we chose this hotel! We wanted to experience the environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for selecting the Orchard Hotel as your choice accommodation during your recent visit to San Francisco. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We couldn't have said it better ourselves that our location is fantastic; restaurants, shopping, transportation all within a stone’s throw from our front doors. We are happy that you have liked our comfy room and the amenities. It is always our #1 goal to provide every guest with a consistent and exceptional experience, from service to amenities and product. Once again, we appreciate your great comments. Look forward to seeing you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed two nights and it was great! Great location to cable cars and China Town. The bell boy was very friendly and gave great suggestions on places to eat. We really like the free wifi the hotel provided. Recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for the positive review, we certainly appreciate it. We are so glad that you liked the location and found our staff friendly and helpful. As you mentioned, our team here is a wealth of knowledge regarding the city. They know just about everything this city has to offer. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Appreciate so much of your recommendation. Look forward to seeing you next time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Amex, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.