We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
South Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“surprisingly excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Although it's not to my taste in that it's not 'modern', this has to be one of the very best hotels I've stayed in for its location, staff, amenities, room size, bed and cleanliness. The only drawback is that there is only a restaurant for breakfast, and I didn't eat there, and the room service menu for the evening (only) is limited. But the location is excellent for restaurants, and the staff very helpful with advice. My suggestion is to go for a leisurely walk to the Embarcadero for breakfast at Plant Cafe Organic.

Green Features: The best smelling hotel I've ever stayed in. There was NO SMELL. Perfect. And the standard of cleanliness was without question, the best I've ever seen.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences. We are thrilled of your comment that we are one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in San Francisco. At the Orchard Hotel, It’s always our mission to provide our guest the clean, comfort accommodation and consistent exceptional services. However, we are sad knowing that our in hotel dining facility have not met with your expectation. Please be assured that your feedback had been addressed to, and we are currently working to improve and enhance our Dining facilities offered to our guest. We are in the process of upgrading and adding more varieties to our restaurant menu, so it gives our guest a better option to choose from. We sincerely hope that you will have the opportunity to try our Roots Restaurant on your next visit with us. Once again, thank you and hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,205
    574
    111
    27
    14
See reviews for
180
838
139
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We liked this hotel - although we'd agree that its 'green' credentials are overplayed. The location is great and the staff were really helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Nice size room and comfortable bed. Overall, good value for money in an expensive city. Would use it again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review. As you may know, hotels here in San Francisco could be on the expensive side in comparing to some other places. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us; our overall services and standard have met with your expectation. However, what is more important to us is that; you have found it indeed a value worth experiences. We also appreciate your recognition of our efforts and supports for the Green Environments. Thank you for your recommendations and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip. Was clean, loved the room decor, and the room service for breakfast was very good. Staff friendly, but not outstanding. Very comfy bed! Cryptic alarm clock (but with an iphone, really, who cares). Lobby was a bit too "cozy" (cramped and small?).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind review regarding our hotel and staff during your recent business trip to San Francisco. . We are happy to hear that you have liked the convenient location, our clean and well décor room. I have to also agree with you that our beds are pretty comfy. We really appreciate your comment about our team, and will make sure to share your feedback with them. At the Orchard Hotel, we strive to provide every guest consistent and exceptional experiences. Feedback, positive and negative, allows us to improve our service and offerings to not only meet but exceed our guests’ expectations. Your review has given us valuable information on the guests perspective and to that, we are grateful. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the nearest future.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at The Orchard for a week in June. Not like the slick business hotels in the area, this has a more down to earth homey feel. The doorman, David, is very friendly and helpful with things to see and do. He even tried to help me see a sports game. Unfortunately the seasons were either over or everyone was out of town. I had a great time in San Francisco during this week. Be sure to check out the French breakfast place two blocks down the road on Bush street. The staff and clientele were nice and friendly. I would definitely stay again. It lifted my spirits. Thank you, guys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review and your stars rating. A wonderful experience is what we are all about. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed the boutique homey feel character of our hotel. However, we are sad knowing that you were not able to see the sports game that you wanted to see. So, please make sure to plan your next trip early ahead to tag with the game season. It’s always our # 1 goal to provide every guest with consistent and exceptional experiences. We are thrilled that the staffs here have made such a great impression. We will definitely pass on your feedback and let the team know of their friendless especially to David. Glad to hear we made your stay a great one. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed for three days and loved it. The room was large, well appointed and the bed was the most comfortable in a hotel that we have slept in! Location wise, the hotel was well placed for getting around San Francisco, great staff (particularly the doormen) and although not cheap, good value for money on the basis that you get what you pay for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for posting the review. We are delighted to hear that you have a great time here in San Francisco and our hotel is part of that positive experience. I just can’t help but agree with you on our Location. As you have mentioned, getting around the city from our hotel is easy, convenient without any hassles. We are happy that you have liked our room and amenities. We appreciated your kind words about our staffs. Customer service is one of our very best qualities. Hotels in San Francisco could be on the expensive side, and we strive to make sure we provide our guest with excellent value. Thank you for your high recommendations, and look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I visited the hotel early May as part of our Honeymoon. The difficult part is where to begin? The hotel was just fantastic with lovely staff too.

I wanted start off saying that we visited many hotels throughout our honeymoon and the Orchard Hotel was the only place that did something really nice for us to mark this occasion. i won't say what, but we really were touched by the gesture. Our only disappointment is that I can't remember the kind lady's name who worked on the reception at the time. It MAY have been Victoria but i can't quite remember, but I would like to extend our thanks particularly to her

Location wise it was wonderful. There's a bit of a walk up hill from Union Square but my wife and I loved this after a meal as it definitely helps with fitness. Just around the corner is obviously union square that gives you access to all the fantastic shops San Francisco has to offer. Furthermore it's only a short walk to Chinatown and little further on you will find Fisherman's Warfe etc.

The hotel itself was beautifully maintained, and the rooms were huge. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate too. As expected the room contained all essential amenities and more! They even provided Bath robes! Noise wise we barely heard any of the street traffic and had two wonderful night's sleep.

If we come back to San Francisco we would have no hesitation in stopping here again. WONDERFUL PLACE. Thank you Orchard Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Congratulations! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Orchard Hotel to celebrate your honeymoon. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your trip and our hotel was part of the positive experience. We are happy to hear that you have liked our wonderful location; and found most of your point of interests was within walking distance from our door. We are thrilled of your great words about our staff. They are really one of a kind and are some of the most genuine people; always kind, caring, sincere and willing to help our guest in any way that we could possibly manage. We work together as a team with our guest’s experience being the NUMBER ONE goal at all times. On this note, I am passing on your thanks and appreciations to the entire team in particularly to Victoria. Once again, thank you for your patronage and hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed a week at this hotel in Nob Hill and loved it. We found it very easy to get to Fisherman's Wharf and Golden Gate Park from here, especially with our City Pass, which gave us access to all public transport and a few attractions over the week. And it's a short walk to a number of good restaurants and Union Square. The staff were helpful and friendly, especially David the doorman, who's a great guy. The room was large, clean and comfortable, which you'd expect given the room rate of around $260 per night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for selecting the Orchard Hotel as your choice accommodation during your recent visit to San Francisco. Your review was great. We agree totally with you that our location is JUST fantastic; shops, restaurants, Bart and sightseeing are within a stone’s throw from the hotel. We are thrilled that our staffs made such a great impression and that you have decided to share your experiences. We’ll definitely let the team here know, especially to David. We are glad you also felt the room lived up to your expectations, and most importantly you found the value is indeed worth. Thanks and hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.