We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast on Us!
Ranked #8 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We liked this hotel - although we'd agree that its 'green' credentials are overplayed. The location is great and the staff were really helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Nice size room and comfortable bed. Overall, good value for money in an expensive city. Would use it again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review. As you may know, hotels here in San Francisco could be on the expensive side in comparing to some other places. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us; our overall services and standard have met with your expectation. However, what is more important to us is that; you have found it indeed a value worth experiences. We also appreciate your recognition of our efforts and supports for the Green Environments. Thank you for your recommendations and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    706
    133
    30
    17
See reviews for
234
1,048
156
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip. Was clean, loved the room decor, and the room service for breakfast was very good. Staff friendly, but not outstanding. Very comfy bed! Cryptic alarm clock (but with an iphone, really, who cares). Lobby was a bit too "cozy" (cramped and small?).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind review regarding our hotel and staff during your recent business trip to San Francisco. . We are happy to hear that you have liked the convenient location, our clean and well décor room. I have to also agree with you that our beds are pretty comfy. We really appreciate your comment about our team, and will make sure to share your feedback with them. At the Orchard Hotel, we strive to provide every guest consistent and exceptional experiences. Feedback, positive and negative, allows us to improve our service and offerings to not only meet but exceed our guests’ expectations. Your review has given us valuable information on the guests perspective and to that, we are grateful. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the nearest future.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at The Orchard for a week in June. Not like the slick business hotels in the area, this has a more down to earth homey feel. The doorman, David, is very friendly and helpful with things to see and do. He even tried to help me see a sports game. Unfortunately the seasons were either over or everyone was out of town. I had a great time in San Francisco during this week. Be sure to check out the French breakfast place two blocks down the road on Bush street. The staff and clientele were nice and friendly. I would definitely stay again. It lifted my spirits. Thank you, guys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review and your stars rating. A wonderful experience is what we are all about. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed the boutique homey feel character of our hotel. However, we are sad knowing that you were not able to see the sports game that you wanted to see. So, please make sure to plan your next trip early ahead to tag with the game season. It’s always our # 1 goal to provide every guest with consistent and exceptional experiences. We are thrilled that the staffs here have made such a great impression. We will definitely pass on your feedback and let the team know of their friendless especially to David. Glad to hear we made your stay a great one. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed for three days and loved it. The room was large, well appointed and the bed was the most comfortable in a hotel that we have slept in! Location wise, the hotel was well placed for getting around San Francisco, great staff (particularly the doormen) and although not cheap, good value for money on the basis that you get what you pay for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for posting the review. We are delighted to hear that you have a great time here in San Francisco and our hotel is part of that positive experience. I just can’t help but agree with you on our Location. As you have mentioned, getting around the city from our hotel is easy, convenient without any hassles. We are happy that you have liked our room and amenities. We appreciated your kind words about our staffs. Customer service is one of our very best qualities. Hotels in San Francisco could be on the expensive side, and we strive to make sure we provide our guest with excellent value. Thank you for your high recommendations, and look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I visited the hotel early May as part of our Honeymoon. The difficult part is where to begin? The hotel was just fantastic with lovely staff too.

I wanted start off saying that we visited many hotels throughout our honeymoon and the Orchard Hotel was the only place that did something really nice for us to mark this occasion. i won't say what, but we really were touched by the gesture. Our only disappointment is that I can't remember the kind lady's name who worked on the reception at the time. It MAY have been Victoria but i can't quite remember, but I would like to extend our thanks particularly to her

Location wise it was wonderful. There's a bit of a walk up hill from Union Square but my wife and I loved this after a meal as it definitely helps with fitness. Just around the corner is obviously union square that gives you access to all the fantastic shops San Francisco has to offer. Furthermore it's only a short walk to Chinatown and little further on you will find Fisherman's Warfe etc.

The hotel itself was beautifully maintained, and the rooms were huge. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate too. As expected the room contained all essential amenities and more! They even provided Bath robes! Noise wise we barely heard any of the street traffic and had two wonderful night's sleep.

If we come back to San Francisco we would have no hesitation in stopping here again. WONDERFUL PLACE. Thank you Orchard Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Congratulations! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Orchard Hotel to celebrate your honeymoon. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your trip and our hotel was part of the positive experience. We are happy to hear that you have liked our wonderful location; and found most of your point of interests was within walking distance from our door. We are thrilled of your great words about our staff. They are really one of a kind and are some of the most genuine people; always kind, caring, sincere and willing to help our guest in any way that we could possibly manage. We work together as a team with our guest’s experience being the NUMBER ONE goal at all times. On this note, I am passing on your thanks and appreciations to the entire team in particularly to Victoria. Once again, thank you for your patronage and hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed a week at this hotel in Nob Hill and loved it. We found it very easy to get to Fisherman's Wharf and Golden Gate Park from here, especially with our City Pass, which gave us access to all public transport and a few attractions over the week. And it's a short walk to a number of good restaurants and Union Square. The staff were helpful and friendly, especially David the doorman, who's a great guy. The room was large, clean and comfortable, which you'd expect given the room rate of around $260 per night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for selecting the Orchard Hotel as your choice accommodation during your recent visit to San Francisco. Your review was great. We agree totally with you that our location is JUST fantastic; shops, restaurants, Bart and sightseeing are within a stone’s throw from the hotel. We are thrilled that our staffs made such a great impression and that you have decided to share your experiences. We’ll definitely let the team here know, especially to David. We are glad you also felt the room lived up to your expectations, and most importantly you found the value is indeed worth. Thanks and hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel, only last week. First impressions were very positive, and this was proved correct with standard and size of room, particularly the spacious bathroom. The reception staff were very helpful, and always ready to please with directions and advice when sought. The location was excellent, with only 5 mins walk to Chinatown and Union Square. The cable car stop is only 30 metres from the hotel front door, so very easy to catch.
All in all highly recommend this hotel for any stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 7th floor, facing away from front, which may have added to the quietness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that your recent experience at the Orchard hotel was excellent and great. Thank you kindly for your great comments on our staffs. We will make it a point to share them with the entire team. We agree 100% with you of our convenient location, with easy access to all means of activities and sightseeing. Also, at the Orchard Hotel, exceptional guest service is the foundation of our promise to our guests; we strive to provide every guest a consistent and exceptional experience, from service to amenities and products…We are simply delighted to hear that you will return and recommend us for any future stay…. As always, safe trip and look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#10 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,191 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,455 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#3 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#5 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,173 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 234 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#6 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.