We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well located hotel that provides great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A well located hotel that provides great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were recently in San Francisco for ten or so days and stayed at the Orchard Hotel. The location is great, a short walk to Union Square and the service and the amenities of the hotel were very good. The internet access from the room was good and the front desk staff were most gracious in printing numerous documents sent from our office.
A perfect place to stay if you are in San Francisco for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,258
    599
    115
    27
    14
See reviews for
187
884
143
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I read the reviews in TripAdvisor before choosing where to stay in San Francisco center and it paid back. The Orchard is really nice with well designed, quiet (better to take one with yard window, as Bush or Powell streets are quite noisy, especially due to trams) rooms and common areas, has all you need for a few days stay. Most important for me (one person on a business trip, but staying over the weekend) was proximity to all places of interest, so I could walk, though the waking was sometimes quite strenuous on hilly SF streets.
Although breakfast were made to order, I did not like this so much, as you have to choose one selection and cannot combine with other items – I prefer buffet in the morning. And they charged 4$ for additional glass of orange juice!

Room Tip: Better choose non-street facing room - cable cars are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

There is no real lobby. My room and bathroom were large by SF standards. There is AC in the room, though I didn't need it (mid-April). The bed was a little too soft but I slept alright. The room and the bathroom were very clean. There was a nice FM/CD player in the room. There is a minibar which keeps really cold but housekeeping apparently took my own beverages out of it. The desk and table were very comfortable. There is some noise from the street that didn't bother me but my colleague in another room was woken up by the garbage truck. The receptionists were very helpful and polite.
It is not too far from Union square but on a rather steep street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Subject heading pretty much covers it all. Easily accessible to public transport. The onsite gym is average to say the least but something you can do without when your on holiday. A safe secure hotel in a good location. We didnt try the restaurant so cannot comment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your experiences with Orchard Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide our guest, a safe, comfortable and friendly accommodation. We are happy that you have liked the convenient location of our hotel, and found it easy access to most public transportation. On your visit with us, I highly recommend you to try our Daffodil Restaurant for breakfast and Dinner. Once again, thank you for staying with us We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in future.
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colorado Springs
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is an outstanding value hotel in SF, walk to everything, friendly staff, impeccable and comfortable rooms. We've stayed here a dozen times and always enjoyed everything, and hotel has always gone out of their way to try to accommodate our special requests. This stay received a small gift package with some cool stuff. A special shout out to excellent front desk staff and doorman Cornell.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences and your kind review with the Orchard Hotel. It is always nice to hear from our loyal guests. I will assure you to share your comment with our Front Desk Team, in particularly Cornell. We are thrilled to be part of your home away from home. We all look forward to seeing you again in the nearest future.
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel, I returned because of the value, the location (the Powell/Bush cable car stop is nearby), and the quality of the facilities.
No breakfast is provided, but there is a restaurant downstairs, plus several good cafes nearby.
Friendly helpful staff, beautifully furnished rooms, a comfortable base in SF.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Rooms were large and comfortable, particularly the beds, and there was little traffic noise despite being located a few blocks from Union Square. The location was handy for public transport and for exploring SF on foot. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
The decor of the hallways were dated (think 1950s floral wallpaper), but the rooms themselves were nice.
Would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.