We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem Near Union Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast on Us!
Ranked #7 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Gem Near Union Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. I was traveling alone,
and the gentleman who serves breakfast is a true professional who
made me feel so welcome. My room was very quiet and tastefully furnished.
The room and bathroom were both bigger than the typical small boxes of S.F. hotels
in this price range. The only negative is that Bush Street is up some steep hills from
Union Square, so, if you're on foot as I was, be sure that doesn't bother you.
For me, it was good exercise!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Powell--a very noisy street, indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,417
    717
    136
    31
    17
See reviews for
240
1,070
158
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at the Orchard hotel for a week at the end of March. The hotel location is good (just two blocks from the Union square), close to all shopping and dinning sites and to all means of public transportation. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. My room was spacious, with two windows, equipped with a small refrigerator, mini locker, TV set and tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom was spacious too. I used the same day dry cleaning service ($12 for a jacket). You need to keep in mind that the hotel is located on a steep hill slope, but for me it was a pleasant walking exercise.
What I did not like was the outside noise (too thin window shields) and a very slow WiFi Internet connection most of the time, even in the nights. I used to stay at the Chancellor Hotel or at the Cornell Hotel de France in that area (this time they were completely sold out) and advise you to do so.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Orchard Hotel during your recent visit to San Francisco. We appreciate very much your time sharing with us the experience of your stay. We are glad to hear that you have liked the location of the hotel and are pleased with our overall services. However, we are sorry to learn that the uncontrollable noise factor outside of the hotel and the deficiency of hotel WIFI internet connection have disturbed your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences which may have caused you. Please rest assured, we have taken immediately attentions to rectify issues for improvements. In order to regain your faith to Orchard Hotel, I would like to invite you to contact me directly to make arrangement for your next visit. I will personally see to it that you will receive a quiet and comfortable accommodation and that your stay will be enjoyable. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you to the Orchard hotel again in the nearest future.
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great price for a well-maintained and comfortable hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. Terrific central location made it easy to get to all attractions and many restaurants and shops are within walking distance. Free Internet and drinking water were a nice bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We needed to stay in SF last minute for the night. Hotel is perfectly located near gate to Chinatown. Easy walk to many sites. Staff suggested restaurants and things to do. Suite was beautiful but near elevator so constant low hum. Only reason not 5 stars was 25 mins wait after check-in to find out when room was ready. I would go again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My second time in the hotel. Considering the corporate rate that they gave me, this Hotel was really a steal considering great service, clean & spacious room ... Will definetly stay in this Hotel again next time in SF!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

stayed for 3 nights. our room was reasonably sized and in good shape. the place was quiet. the small fridge came in handy and the staff was very friendly. the location can't be beat and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great location, super nice staff (especially the door man, who was always eager to help with suggestions for restaurants and things to do!) - clean, spacious room and comfy bed at a very good price for San Francisco. I would come back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay at The Orhcard Hotel. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, and found our hotel is convenient located. It is always our mission to provide our guest with consistent customer services, comfortable accommodations and most importantly the good value to stay. We value your patronage and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#9 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,237 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,537 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#6 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 235 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,333 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#5 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotwire, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.