We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent boutique hotel in the heart of San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book a Free Breakfast PKG
Ranked #8 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“An excellent boutique hotel in the heart of San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have recently stayed at the Orchard Hotel three times (since October 2012). A great location (just steps from the Powell Street cable car and two blocks from Union Square), excellent service, free fast wifi, nice spacious rooms with all the amenities one would expect, and a great doorman, David. The front desk personnel are welcoming, efficient, and full of information, if needed. Some rooms have spacious walk-in showers as opposed to tub over bath, so if that is important, be sure to request this. While the hotel can be expensive during conventions or other peak times, they have excellent special offers from time to time, which makes this an exceptional bargain in a city with (many) overpriced hotels, based on our experience. The breakfast, while not inexpensive, if not included in the room, is excellent, as is service in the pleasant restaurant, but Starbucks and other diner-type cafes are nearby. We travel to San Francisco, our former home often, and we will be staying at the Orchard in the future, whenever possible.

Room Tip: While there are no amazing views, corner rooms higher up (tenth floor is the top) are spacious and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    645
    121
    29
    15
See reviews for
206
964
148
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a cracking location.

The hotel itself has an old style to it (like much of San Fransisco), but it's actually all new and clean and lovely. There's a bit of cable car noise, but it's all part of the San Fransisco atmosphere, and also it's because it's such a central location.

The concierge people were amazing. So genuinely friendly and wanting to help. Really knowledgeable too.

To top it off it's a green hotel. So lots of little things to help save the earth, for instance any reviews left good or bad on trip advisor, they plant a tree. Lucky for them they were so good, so gag pays off!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very well situated near Union Square and Chinatown, and just a short walk to Moscone or to hop on BART. Parking, like anywhere in downtown SF, is exorbitant, so if you can avoid bringing a car, that would definitely be better. The door staff and valet are helpful, though. The room we had was spacious, with a large bathroom as well. This isn't entirely common in hotels in that area, and I would guess had been achieved by almost entirely gutting the old building and making a new interior layout. This was at the expense of character, which I found the rooms to be lacking. Kind of like you took a Marriott room and set it down in an old building. There are pluses to this approach of course, just depends on what you're looking for. The room was quiet, as dual pane windows isolated us from the noises of the city - which since we were there the night the Giants won the Series, were not insignificant. I have a pathological loathing of windows that cannot open, though, so that was a negative for me. Also in the negative column was that the room was very dark. Cleanliness was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at The Orchard. What I especially liked about it is that it is practically right on the cable car route and next to a great breakfast/lunch restauirant. It is more of a boutique hotel than a chain "establishment." The personnel are always friendly and helpfulespecially Suna and Cornell. Although the Orchard has good dining facilities we tend to stay away from hotel food and look towartds more variety when we are traveling. It is also only 2-blocks from Chinatown and Union square. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Foye de Vinax
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We booked this hotel because we prefer smaller more personal hotels. We were not disappointed. The staff upon arrival were charming and friendly and up-graded us to the top floor which was very much appreciated. The room was not overly big but extremely comfortable and with every amenity one needs. The bathroom was spacious and there were ample towels and toiletries provided. The housekeeping staff were very good, discreet and helpful. We were on a B/B rate, so were limited with our choice at breakfast, however, it was always excellent and the staff accommodating. The situation of the hotel was perfect for us, we could catch the cable car from the corner and the bus stops were just a short walk away. The major areas of San Francisco were all extremely accessible, which suited us. If we ever go back to San Francisco I would not hesitate to re-book at The Orchard. It was my husbands 60th birthday and the hotel gave him a superb box of handmade Belgian chocolates, much appreciated by him, not so good for his waistline!!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to 1008 which was super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vdeltoro, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed our location, service and clean rooms! It sounds like the accommodations were ideal for your special occassion. I'm glad your husband enjoyed his giftbox of birthday truffles; I hope he shared them with you! Please know that we are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and when you decide to visit our beautiful city again, we would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I had been in SF many times but this was my second stay at the Orchard Hotel. I enjoyed the 7 nights stay last year and it was an easy decision to book here for this year’s trip. And again, I had a great time and was happy with my hotel choice.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is great with easy access to union square and Moscone Center wer held the American Geophysical Conference.

But the Staff for the hotel are AMAZING, FRIENDLY, COMPETEN AND EFFICIENT. They were really outstanding and always very helpful. Special Suna and Cornell always ready for EVERYTHING I needed.

Thank you and my best wishes of a Happy Holidays.
Gisele

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vdeltoro, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We feel so honored to see we were able to meet your EVERY need during your stay with us! As a guest who's stayed with us previously, it's always good to hear that the service is still impeccable. I've shared your comments with our staff and the two, whom you mentioned, were glowing after and appreciate your acknowledgements. We look forward to your next visit with us; if not sooner, we hope to see you during AGU 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The staff for the hotel were really outstanding and always very helpful. I was underwhelmed with the service in the restaurant but up front and at the door was great. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is great with easy access to union square the cable cars and lots more

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.