We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff,great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast on Us!
Ranked #7 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great staff,great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The staff for the hotel were really outstanding and always very helpful. I was underwhelmed with the service in the restaurant but up front and at the door was great. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is great with easy access to union square the cable cars and lots more

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    706
    132
    30
    17
See reviews for
233
1,045
156
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our second visit to San Francisco and our second stay at the Orchard Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our 7 nights stay last year and it was an easy decision to book here for this year’s trip.
And again, we had a great time and were happy with our hotel choice.

The room, a Deluxe King was spacious (esp by SF standards), the a/c worked well (and was quiet), beds comfy, everything perfectly clean. Staff were also always very friendly. The location is great for exploring this beautiful city. There is a cable car stop just outside the hotel on Powell St and walking down (or up on the way back) to Union Square took us about 5 mins. There is a Walgreens not far down on Powell St as well which is open 24hours.

There is just one tiny thing (which didn’t really bother us): They still have those old CRT analogue TV monitors in the rooms. I understand it is a boutique hotel and maybe they feel a modern flat screen would clash with the décor? The new LCDs generally use less power than the old CRTs so maybe they’ll change it in the near future.

Overall, very happy and glad we stayed at The Orchard again. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel staff was firendly and courteous. The hotel is very close to famous places like Chinatown, Union Square. There are several places to eat and drink around this restaurant.
The only down side is that the building is just 10 floors unlike other taller buildings.
I would stay at the Marriott opposite to this hotel (south) next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was our first visit to the Orchard.We've usually stayed at the St Francis for the holidays. Staff were helpful, the room was larger than expected, tastefully decorated with nice amentities, valet parking, and restaurant on premises. It is a short walk to Union Square and along the Powell Street Cable Line (don't worry it is quiet and more residential than commercial).Breakfast was excellent and our waitperson personable and efficient. The hotel is up the hill from Union Square along the way to Nob Hill. You will get your exercise if you walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed here recently on a business trip. It's a 20/30min walk to the convention center, and its a pretty nice stroll. Also, it has a pretty decent Taqueria for classic San Fran burritos nearby, and a 24hr diner nearby for those late nights.

The staff was friendly enough, and the room was great for the price. The free wifi in the room worked well too. I like their focus on sustainability, which is pretty cool, and they plant a tree for every TripAdvisor review (good or bad).

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed several nights at this hotel, but unbenknownst to me, they lock the door at 2am. I came 10 minutes late, and tried both doors, assuming, of course, like most hotels, they'd be open. But they didn't, and after a couple attempts of trying both doors, a man finally appeared and grudgingly opened the door and had a massive chip an his shoulder and berated me for trying the doors too amny times.
Like I said, I was at this hotel for several night, and I'm a paying CUSTOMER, and this guy treats me like a child. I called him from my room afterwards to complaina bout his attitude, and he said he was angry because I had "tried the door too many times." Huh?
My advice: there are several hotels within a block of this hotel that do not have this policy of this attitude. Try them first.

Room Tip: Higher floor and away from the cable car tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vdeltoro, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Before I begin, allow me to thank you for sharing your experience of the Orchard Hotel on TripAdvisor. At the Orchard Hotel, we take much pride in servicing our guests. One aspect of service that we hold with the utmost highest regard is the safety of our staff and guests. With that said, we lock the entrance doors at midnight as a safety measure so that non-guests are not able to access the hotel without the knowledge of our staff. Most boutique hotels follow this same procedure. With that said, we appreciate your patronage & would be more than obliged to be of service upon your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Perfect location, close to everything but not in amongst the noise.Courteous, friendly and helpful staff throughout the property. Clean rooms and quiet so you can actually sleep! Breakfast in the Daffodil restaurant was superb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#10 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,179 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,436 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#3 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#6 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,159 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 234 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#5 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.