We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast on Us!
Ranked #8 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Holiday Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was our first visit to the Orchard.We've usually stayed at the St Francis for the holidays. Staff were helpful, the room was larger than expected, tastefully decorated with nice amentities, valet parking, and restaurant on premises. It is a short walk to Union Square and along the Powell Street Cable Line (don't worry it is quiet and more residential than commercial).Breakfast was excellent and our waitperson personable and efficient. The hotel is up the hill from Union Square along the way to Nob Hill. You will get your exercise if you walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    706
    132
    30
    17
See reviews for
234
1,048
156
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed here recently on a business trip. It's a 20/30min walk to the convention center, and its a pretty nice stroll. Also, it has a pretty decent Taqueria for classic San Fran burritos nearby, and a 24hr diner nearby for those late nights.

The staff was friendly enough, and the room was great for the price. The free wifi in the room worked well too. I like their focus on sustainability, which is pretty cool, and they plant a tree for every TripAdvisor review (good or bad).

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed several nights at this hotel, but unbenknownst to me, they lock the door at 2am. I came 10 minutes late, and tried both doors, assuming, of course, like most hotels, they'd be open. But they didn't, and after a couple attempts of trying both doors, a man finally appeared and grudgingly opened the door and had a massive chip an his shoulder and berated me for trying the doors too amny times.
Like I said, I was at this hotel for several night, and I'm a paying CUSTOMER, and this guy treats me like a child. I called him from my room afterwards to complaina bout his attitude, and he said he was angry because I had "tried the door too many times." Huh?
My advice: there are several hotels within a block of this hotel that do not have this policy of this attitude. Try them first.

Room Tip: Higher floor and away from the cable car tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vdeltoro, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Before I begin, allow me to thank you for sharing your experience of the Orchard Hotel on TripAdvisor. At the Orchard Hotel, we take much pride in servicing our guests. One aspect of service that we hold with the utmost highest regard is the safety of our staff and guests. With that said, we lock the entrance doors at midnight as a safety measure so that non-guests are not able to access the hotel without the knowledge of our staff. Most boutique hotels follow this same procedure. With that said, we appreciate your patronage & would be more than obliged to be of service upon your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Perfect location, close to everything but not in amongst the noise.Courteous, friendly and helpful staff throughout the property. Clean rooms and quiet so you can actually sleep! Breakfast in the Daffodil restaurant was superb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nice hotel, as others have written it's not luxurious but still quite nice given the price compared to other surrouding properties. Great location with a cable car stop literally right outside the door and only two blocks from Union Square. It's also not too far from Market Street where more nice shopping can be found, and if you're up for a 1 mile walk or so, you can easily get down to The Embarcadero to sightsee around the Port of San Fran, and then walk a bit further into Fisherman's Wharf (or if you're feeling lazy, take the cable car). Staff was very friendly and my room was clean and well-attended. My only real complaint was with the wireless, which was SO SLOW....1.3 Mbps for you techies, and this was both in my room and the lobby, so it was not a proximity issue. Apparently other folks have complained about the same pathetically slow wireless, so let's hope an upgrade is on the to-do list, espeecially if you need to get work done wirelessly while staying here. Otherwise, as previously noted, the hotel was quite nice, in a great location, and a good "buy" for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel was clean, the staff friendly, and the accommodations were great! The location of the Orchard is perfect; I was able to walk to my conference at the Moscone Center in under 15 minutes, not to mention the amount of restaurants, bars, and shopping that were also in walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Keep in in mind there is another Orchard Hotel (I believe same owners) on the 400 block, this one is on the 600 block (up the street).

Thank you for also being eco-friendly Orchard!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Orchard Hotel was great - friendly and helpful staff, very convenient to shops, food, transportation, training location, and overall a pleasant, comfortable room. The only downside was the cleanliness and shower- the carpet in the room had a few stains and the water pressure in the shower was almost non-existent. Aside from those two things, the hotel was great and would definitely return.

Room Tip: King deluxes on the 3rd floor were great - not noisy at all and could see th cable cars go by out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#10 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,190 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,453 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#3 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#5 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,172 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 234 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#6 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.