We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book a Free Breakfast PKG
Ranked #8 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for over 6 nights and on 3 occasions as we were travelling in and out San Francisco. Rooms might need updating but were very clean - decor is classic style and sufficient for travellers. Quiet too and we were on the tenth floor and in the back. The only thing is the fridge seems to have a low alarm sound in the night which might be disturbing. Overall it's recommended stay as its mainly clean comfortable and friendly staff . Might help with more hot water kettles . Unsure why this is not common in America as in Europe or Australia.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,248
    607
    117
    27
    14
See reviews for
194
906
144
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northfield, ct
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel was terrific. We were there Sept. 11 to Sept. 16. It was our first trip to San Francisco. Found the hotel on TA. What a great choice. The staff was genuine; friendly, smart, competent, and helpful. Example, one of the doormen offered us tickets to the theater because he couldn't go. We went
The mattress was so comfortable we called when we got home and the main desk was more than willing to share the mattress info. We now have new mattresses. After we left and headed south Irealized I left a sweater in the room. A phone call to he hotel resulted in the sweater being in the mail when we got home. Cornell? From the start he was tremendous. We needed a good cup of coffee after the trip. He sent us down the hill and well ask him where you can get a good cup of coffee. Hint: it's not Starbucks. Thanks Cornell.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose The Orchard Hotel based on Trip Advisor. A great decision. The Orchard Hotel is located on the corner of Powell and Bush - a perfect location. Our room was located on the seventh floor - very quiet. Never heard any street noise. The room was nicely appointed and very clean. The bed was fantastic and we had a great nights sleep for the three days we were there. The bathroom was large and had the usual niceties. The hotel is eco-friendly and to our amusement found a half-flush and full-flush for the toilet. There is a small safe in the room for valuables. The concierge and front desk were extremely helpful and the housekeeping staff kept our room very clean. The hotel is located two blocks away from Chinatown and three blocks away from Union Square. The famed San Francisco Cablecar is right on the corner of Powell and Bush making it very easy to travel from downtown to Fishermans Wharf with plenty of interesting stops in-between. We would definitely return to the Orchard Hotel - excellent value, excellent location and a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice size room, good location, clean and comfortable. Added amenities aren't important to me, so I was pleased. Doormen great, but desk service not as great. Didn't seem to know any answers to my questions regarding the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I just finished staying 5 nights at this hotel. The room was attractive with high a quality bed and linens. Even on the 3rd floor facing the street it was quiet every night, except for Oct 28 after the giants won the series which was forgivable. The location is outstanding, literally a few steps or blocks from some of the best neighborhoods and attractions, and about 5 blocks from both the muni and bart public transportation systems which I used often. Breakfast is not included in the room charge and expensive to buy in the hotel restaurant, but there are cafes in the area and a coffee maker plus a small refridgerator in the room. The staff were friendly and helpful the few times I needed anything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Spent two nights in San Francisco on our way to the wine country. It was a wonderful hotel. The staff was very helpful, great recommendations on restaurants. The location of the hotel is perfect, right next to the cable cars and almost around the corner to Union Square. The beds were very comfortable. I would definately recommend this hotel. They had a great AAA rate too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a great "city break" hotel well located in San Francisco, unable to offer the facilities which a larger hotel might have (pool etc.) but with some charm and good location. The hotel itself is relatively small and homely. Some might find the rooms old fashioned but to others, us included, they were just more conservatively styled than some one might find. We didn't try the restaurant as there are so many great options within a short walk. Staff were helpful when called upon - they arranged a transfer to the airport for us with ease. This is San Francisco so the room prices are relatively expensive but in that context the prices charged are fair. The key attraction here is the location - on from Bush Street one can pretty easily access all parts of the city or, if you'd prefer not to stray too far, you have plenty of options for eating and drinking. Essentially just a very good all-rounder.

Room Tip: We faced onto Bush St and suffered no disruption from noisy neighbours so I wouldn't worry too m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.