We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco International Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added San Francisco International Hostel to your Saves list
San Francisco International Hostel
140 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Party Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in total. The rooms were average size, beds comfy, bathrooms clean, and staff very helpful. They provided free pancake mix and free beer after 10pm which is pretty good if like to party. The rooms were quiet and wi fi worked throughout the entire building so you could be online in your bed! I would recommend this hostel to any age of traveler!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We came to San Francisco all the way from the UK. We had booked a room at this hostel about one month in advance. The day we booked the room we made a mistake and put the wrong day in the booking. We immediately called to tell them about it. We were told the problem had been solved and that our booking was now confirmed. We wanted a private bedroom with private toilet and shower. They said it was fine. We called again about one week before the trip, to make sure everything was fine. When we arrived there they did not have our booking. We were offered a room with shared toilet and shower facilities, which we did not accept because it was not what we had booked. We suddenly found ourselves in SF with no place where to stay. They did not bother in helping us to find another room and never gave us a refund for the booking fee (15 dollars). The entrance to the hostel and the reception looked pretty dirty. The staff was not helpful at all. We wasted time and money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopscotch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Desborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Avoid this hostel, there are other better, friendlier, cleaner and more organised hostels in this town. Me and a friend booked a room more than a month in advance. We made a mistake of booking the wrong date on their on-line webpage and called them immediately to rectify our mistake. We were told that everything was ok and that it wasn't necessary for us or them to verify by e-mail. It was a priority to have a private bathroom so we called several times to make sure we would get that. When we arrived from Europe they seemed to have forgotten that we would come. They could offer us a room without bathroom and seemed to think that they did us a favour of being able to give us a room at all. Also, even though they couldn't offer us the type of room that we "bought" they still won't give us our deposit back. What a waste of money and time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CambsDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hostel seems like it is perfect for travelers in their young 20s who don't mind quality of service or convenience. The hostel has a cool vibe, and most of the people who stay there seem fun and social.

However, the staff (and in particular, the owner), made this stay unenjoyable. In fact, the owner barged into my room at 1am (where I was sleeping with my wife), and accused me of bringing someone who was unauthorized to stay in my room. I had to explain to him that both my wife and I were paying customers, and we were assigned the room. After the explanation, he simply shrugged and walked away. There were also a few instances where I literally heard him screaming profanity at his staff in front of guests--not very professional or welcoming.

The hostel does have convenience though. They allow you to store their bags after check out. The location is a bit sketchy, but there's not much the hostel can do about that.

So if you are 22 and are looking for a party spot, this might be it, but after reading other reviews, I would at least look into those places (for the location and the service).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

After hearing such good things about this hostel we thought we'd give it a try after staying at two other horrible hostels in the City (Amsterdam Hostel and Union Square Backpackers Hostel).

Rooms weren't very clean.

Smallest bathroom ever to share between whole floor. My face actually touched the door whilst I was peeing - its that small!!

One mutton on whole floor.

Pancakes were great in morning.

Brilliant location!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutclis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here in Jan/Feb 2012. The location is great, central San Francisco, close to shopping centres, buses and everything you need. I met some interesting people while there. I mean for $20 a night, it's pretty alright. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzabam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

A friend and I booked a twin-ensuite and were given a quad with ensuite on the third floor. Even at that height the street was a bit noisy (the hostel provide excellent quality earplugs for free) but, aside from the claxon announcing the party was about to start at 2130 every night, that's all we heard. The party area is situated out of sight in the basement so you can go or choose not to, no biggie, though it would be hard to pass up a free drink. The front desk were really friendly and helpful. Shower was pretty good, with consistent hot water. The dining area was nice with free filtered water, hot water, tea, coffee and creamer available all day. Plenty of room in the cupboards and fridges for storage of stuff. One or two of the frying pans were a bit of a challenge to use - some people's creations came out more pancrumble than pancake. Great central location, and the homeless like it too, so you're bound to go home with a story or two about your encounter with the people of the streets.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Parc 55 San Francisco - a Hilton Hotel
Parc 55 San Francisco - a Hilton...
#98 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,993 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#101 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#116 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#41 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco International Hostel

Address: 140 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 71

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing