We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think about booking here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco International Hostel

Save Saved
You added San Francisco International Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Francisco International Hostel
140 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't even think about booking here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We came to San Francisco all the way from the UK. We had booked a room at this hostel about one month in advance. The day we booked the room we made a mistake and put the wrong day in the booking. We immediately called to tell them about it. We were told the problem had been solved and that our booking was now confirmed. We wanted a private bedroom with private toilet and shower. They said it was fine. We called again about one week before the trip, to make sure everything was fine. When we arrived there they did not have our booking. We were offered a room with shared toilet and shower facilities, which we did not accept because it was not what we had booked. We suddenly found ourselves in SF with no place where to stay. They did not bother in helping us to find another room and never gave us a refund for the booking fee (15 dollars). The entrance to the hostel and the reception looked pretty dirty. The staff was not helpful at all. We wasted time and money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    39
    29
    51
See reviews for
3
14
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Desborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Avoid this hostel, there are other better, friendlier, cleaner and more organised hostels in this town. Me and a friend booked a room more than a month in advance. We made a mistake of booking the wrong date on their on-line webpage and called them immediately to rectify our mistake. We were told that everything was ok and that it wasn't necessary for us or them to verify by e-mail. It was a priority to have a private bathroom so we called several times to make sure we would get that. When we arrived from Europe they seemed to have forgotten that we would come. They could offer us a room without bathroom and seemed to think that they did us a favour of being able to give us a room at all. Also, even though they couldn't offer us the type of room that we "bought" they still won't give us our deposit back. What a waste of money and time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hostel seems like it is perfect for travelers in their young 20s who don't mind quality of service or convenience. The hostel has a cool vibe, and most of the people who stay there seem fun and social.

However, the staff (and in particular, the owner), made this stay unenjoyable. In fact, the owner barged into my room at 1am (where I was sleeping with my wife), and accused me of bringing someone who was unauthorized to stay in my room. I had to explain to him that both my wife and I were paying customers, and we were assigned the room. After the explanation, he simply shrugged and walked away. There were also a few instances where I literally heard him screaming profanity at his staff in front of guests--not very professional or welcoming.

The hostel does have convenience though. They allow you to store their bags after check out. The location is a bit sketchy, but there's not much the hostel can do about that.

So if you are 22 and are looking for a party spot, this might be it, but after reading other reviews, I would at least look into those places (for the location and the service).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

After hearing such good things about this hostel we thought we'd give it a try after staying at two other horrible hostels in the City (Amsterdam Hostel and Union Square Backpackers Hostel).

Rooms weren't very clean.

Smallest bathroom ever to share between whole floor. My face actually touched the door whilst I was peeing - its that small!!

One mutton on whole floor.

Pancakes were great in morning.

Brilliant location!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here in Jan/Feb 2012. The location is great, central San Francisco, close to shopping centres, buses and everything you need. I met some interesting people while there. I mean for $20 a night, it's pretty alright. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

A friend and I booked a twin-ensuite and were given a quad with ensuite on the third floor. Even at that height the street was a bit noisy (the hostel provide excellent quality earplugs for free) but, aside from the claxon announcing the party was about to start at 2130 every night, that's all we heard. The party area is situated out of sight in the basement so you can go or choose not to, no biggie, though it would be hard to pass up a free drink. The front desk were really friendly and helpful. Shower was pretty good, with consistent hot water. The dining area was nice with free filtered water, hot water, tea, coffee and creamer available all day. Plenty of room in the cupboards and fridges for storage of stuff. One or two of the frying pans were a bit of a challenge to use - some people's creations came out more pancrumble than pancake. Great central location, and the homeless like it too, so you're bound to go home with a story or two about your encounter with the people of the streets.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just a great, great hostel. Excellent location, very friendly staff and great crowd overall. When I booked it I had no idea it was America's #1 party hostel - which was awesome. Free booze every night! Had a blast playing beer pong. Great value!! And the hostel is huuuge. I would definitely come back (to San Fran and the hostel). Also, free pancake/oatmeal all day long - saves a lot of money if you're on a budget. And $15 valet parking (24h) service!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Francisco International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco International Hostel

Address: 140 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Specialty lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your San Francisco International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco International Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.