We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #68 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great value, location and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

We stayed in The Holiday Inn Express during our honeymoon in San Francisco. The rooms were clean and pleasant (and we could just see the Golden Gate Bridge!), housekeeping was superb - well above average, staff were pleasant and helpful. The location was excellent - great for the Wharf, bike tours of the bridge, and well located for tram and bus stops. Lots of restaurants round the Wharf area and lots to do - would be great for families. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back. Beds very large and comfortable, good choice of channels in rooms and free broadband which was a great bonus. Excellent.

  • Liked — Location, staff, comfy bed
  • Disliked — lack of wardrobe space
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    486
    719
    256
    47
    32
See reviews for
471
575
57
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
southern california
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

Prior to a cruise to Alaska, we had a quick over night stay at the H.I. Express at Fisherman's Wharf. We were travelling with 7 others, but they had opted to stay at another chain hotel nearby...their reservations were messed up, their check in was late and their hotel more expensive than ours. Us? We checked right in, had the good luck to receive one of their 3 rooms with a "wharf" view, and had a generous late check-out the next day. Be forewarned, the rooms are on the small side (think New York hotel rooms) but the staff was extremely helpful, the rooms very clean and it was located in a great place ~ about 3 blocks from Fishermans Wharf (close enough to walk, far enough to be quiet) and a short cab ride to the cruise ship terminal. We were very pleased with all the H.I. Express at Fisherman's Wharf had to offer. Thanks to others that posted reviews on this site...cuz that's what helped me decide where to stay!! (sorry no photos...too excited about the cruise to remember to take them!! )

  • Liked — staff were very very accommodating...that, and the value for your money
  • Disliked — rooms were a little small for all our luggage...but were were going on a 2 week cruise, so we had Lots of luggage!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

Just got back from a Memorial Day Weekend getaway in San Francisco and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express at Fisherman's Wharf. The location is supberb for all there is to do at Fisherman's Wharf and easy access to transportation for other areas in San Francisco. The hotel offers your standard Holiday Express amenties and does a great job in doing so. One addition that would be nice would be an indoor pool not that I would have had any time with so much to do in San Francisco. Facility has a clean modern look to it. The rooms are nice size for a large city. The only drawback was the beds seemed to sit a little low for my preference. The staff here were just awesome. Everyone that I encountered was friendly and went out of their way to assist.

  • Liked — Close to Everything!
  • Disliked — Low Beds
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

Nice, clean, comfy hotel. Just a few blocks from the wharf and the trolly. Vallet parking underground about $35 a day. Cont breakfast was more than expected with hard boiled eggs, cinnamon rolls, and pastry along with cereal and doughnuts. Room was comfortable and even had its own coffee maker. Interior room view was not the best, but we didn't stay for the view. Friendly and helpful staff. They were great with directions. I'd recommend for the budget watching folks who still want to stay within walking distance to the wharf. Overall, a great stay and no complaints.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

My wife and I spent eight nights here in April, 2007 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is very conveniently located for the many attractions of Fisherman's Wharf and only a five minute walk to the cable car terminus. The cable car (which is a San Fran "must") takes you right into the heart of the shopping area centred on Union Square. Indeed the cab fare to the Square was only $8 so for four people (we were joined by our daughter and son-in-law on day 3) this is the better deal.

The hotel is all that you could wish for - spacious room, queen-size bed, cable TV, ironing board/iron, complimentary tea/coffee etc. Add to that the inclusive continental breakfast and you have a bargain. The hotel's warm cinnamon buns are to die for!

Built-in ramps for those with wheelchairs etc figure in the lobbies on each upper floor and I cannot honestly think of any negatives. We would certainly stay here again if visiting San Fran once more.

Do visit Alcatraz (but book in advance), Ghiradelli Square and Pier 39. We also enjoyed the open-top double decker bus tours and our tour in a World War II DUKW.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Not having a bar or in-house eatery (other than at breakfast time)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2007

This hotel is very good value for money and the staff are helpful. The only slight problem was a noisy party next door one night , but the desk staff attended to this when I complained and there was no further problem. The rooms are a reasonable size, I had a view of Coit Tower, and the location is excellent.
The breakfast area gets a bit crowded at the weekend but that is a small price to pay. I would go there again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford, uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in February 2007 and it was fantastic. I can recommend it to anyone wanting a fishermans wharf area hotel as not only are the rooms spacious and clean, but you also get a free continental breakfast which is a rarity in the U.S.
There is also a Sports bar opposite which has a friendly atmosphere (much nicer than the bar at the neighbouring Holiday Inn!) Only problem with this area of the town is the distinct lack of nightlife but regular trams take you up to Union Square where it is much livlier.
A great hotel at a great price

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.