We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VFM and great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #72 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Plymouth, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“VFM and great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

My wife and I spent eight nights here in April, 2007 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is very conveniently located for the many attractions of Fisherman's Wharf and only a five minute walk to the cable car terminus. The cable car (which is a San Fran "must") takes you right into the heart of the shopping area centred on Union Square. Indeed the cab fare to the Square was only $8 so for four people (we were joined by our daughter and son-in-law on day 3) this is the better deal.

The hotel is all that you could wish for - spacious room, queen-size bed, cable TV, ironing board/iron, complimentary tea/coffee etc. Add to that the inclusive continental breakfast and you have a bargain. The hotel's warm cinnamon buns are to die for!

Built-in ramps for those with wheelchairs etc figure in the lobbies on each upper floor and I cannot honestly think of any negatives. We would certainly stay here again if visiting San Fran once more.

Do visit Alcatraz (but book in advance), Ghiradelli Square and Pier 39. We also enjoyed the open-top double decker bus tours and our tour in a World War II DUKW.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Not having a bar or in-house eatery (other than at breakfast time)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    681
    248
    45
    31
See reviews for
440
540
55
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2007

This hotel is very good value for money and the staff are helpful. The only slight problem was a noisy party next door one night , but the desk staff attended to this when I complained and there was no further problem. The rooms are a reasonable size, I had a view of Coit Tower, and the location is excellent.
The breakfast area gets a bit crowded at the weekend but that is a small price to pay. I would go there again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford, uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in February 2007 and it was fantastic. I can recommend it to anyone wanting a fishermans wharf area hotel as not only are the rooms spacious and clean, but you also get a free continental breakfast which is a rarity in the U.S.
There is also a Sports bar opposite which has a friendly atmosphere (much nicer than the bar at the neighbouring Holiday Inn!) Only problem with this area of the town is the distinct lack of nightlife but regular trams take you up to Union Square where it is much livlier.
A great hotel at a great price

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, U.K.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

Good tourist location, modern clean rooms and bathrooms. Very helpful reception staff. The valet parking is expensive..around $40 with tax, but very convenient - the car is parked in a garage under the hotel. If you want to save money on that, it is possible to park for less just a block or two away. The breakfast is acceptable as a "free" breakfast, but we chose to eat in the Hollywood Cafe next door for an inexpensive big American breakfast !
Overall I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes,UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights after an eventful journey from the airport via BART! Checkin was very quick & cheery & helpful although we did have to insist on 2 beds! Room was nice no real view but the beds were comfy & the pillows plump. Great location just 2 blocks from Fisherman sWharf.
Breakfast was included & good but not always plentiful. it consisted of cereals, fruit, juice, coffee, croissants, donuts, bagels & toast. 9am was ok but dont expect everything!
Staff were helpful with directions.
The hotel was clean & fresh & very pleasant! Free internet access just off the lobby. Hotel is surroundedby other hotels & lots of souvenir shops. There is a 7-11 & a walgreens nearby (in different directions!)
Had a great stay!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no view from our room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

This is a great hotel. I had a king room on the interior. Quiet, but I also turned on the fan to mask any hall noise. Noisy toilets, though. Room was nice size with an upholstered chair, small desk with
comfortable work chair, internet access, good lighting, safe, small bathroom but lots of counter space. I used the lobby computer and printer for my boarding pass. Nice folks at front desk. Nothing exciting on breakfast bar and it did get busy, but typical for big city hotel. Luggage trolley available for your use-no bellman.

I was attending a conference at the Hyatt and my AAA room rate was $35 less than the Hyatt conference rate and included more in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Cal.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

We stayed here this past week with our girls 8 and 10. It was perfect. Had a junior suite which included a kitchenette - fridge and microwave. Great for snacks. It was clean but the room was not large. We were comfortable. The breakfast was tippical but perfect with one girl up at 6:30 and starving and the other up at 8. Close to everything. Would recommend it for a convenient/safe/clean place to stay. Nothing fancy.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — no concierge or room service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.