We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #66 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
London, U.K.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

Good tourist location, modern clean rooms and bathrooms. Very helpful reception staff. The valet parking is expensive..around $40 with tax, but very convenient - the car is parked in a garage under the hotel. If you want to save money on that, it is possible to park for less just a block or two away. The breakfast is acceptable as a "free" breakfast, but we chose to eat in the Hollywood Cafe next door for an inexpensive big American breakfast !
Overall I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    770
    280
    53
    33
See reviews for
512
632
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes,UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights after an eventful journey from the airport via BART! Checkin was very quick & cheery & helpful although we did have to insist on 2 beds! Room was nice no real view but the beds were comfy & the pillows plump. Great location just 2 blocks from Fisherman sWharf.
Breakfast was included & good but not always plentiful. it consisted of cereals, fruit, juice, coffee, croissants, donuts, bagels & toast. 9am was ok but dont expect everything!
Staff were helpful with directions.
The hotel was clean & fresh & very pleasant! Free internet access just off the lobby. Hotel is surroundedby other hotels & lots of souvenir shops. There is a 7-11 & a walgreens nearby (in different directions!)
Had a great stay!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no view from our room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

This is a great hotel. I had a king room on the interior. Quiet, but I also turned on the fan to mask any hall noise. Noisy toilets, though. Room was nice size with an upholstered chair, small desk with
comfortable work chair, internet access, good lighting, safe, small bathroom but lots of counter space. I used the lobby computer and printer for my boarding pass. Nice folks at front desk. Nothing exciting on breakfast bar and it did get busy, but typical for big city hotel. Luggage trolley available for your use-no bellman.

I was attending a conference at the Hyatt and my AAA room rate was $35 less than the Hyatt conference rate and included more in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Cal.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

We stayed here this past week with our girls 8 and 10. It was perfect. Had a junior suite which included a kitchenette - fridge and microwave. Great for snacks. It was clean but the room was not large. We were comfortable. The breakfast was tippical but perfect with one girl up at 6:30 and starving and the other up at 8. Close to everything. Would recommend it for a convenient/safe/clean place to stay. Nothing fancy.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — no concierge or room service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

This hotel was clean, quiet, modern and conveniently located. The staff was always helpful and the free continental breakfasts were quite adequate. The decor was something between art deco and modern/
contemporary. Many restaurants were within walking distance and the view to the water from some of the rooms was fabulous. Internet access was easy and the excercise room was a pleasant bonus. We asked
for a handicapped accessible, no smoking room with a king size bed and that is exactly what we got. There were no strange odors or other
undesirable surprises. The only drawback was the $35 per day parking fee. But the parking valet service was swift and polite. I'd stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean, no smoking odors and free continental breakfast
  • Disliked — high parking fee
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

Stayed at the Hotel Spring Break Week, April 3 - 8, 2007. I booked a mini-suite and was notified of a free upgrade to a full suite upon check-in! Prior to arrival, the hotel booked a city tour and a Muir Woods/Sausalito tour for me and my daughter. The hotel is very clean.

The continental breakfast was a benefit - saved money. I am a healthy eater and I found, the fruit (bananas, organges, and apples), boiled eggs, fat free milk, wheat toast, and raisin bran & tea sufficient for me. Plenty of muffins, crousaints, and danishes, etc. are also available. A full hot breakfast is available across the street at "Knuckles" at the Hyatt or try the mom and pop shops adjacent to the H.I. Express and eat inside or on the curb!

No restaurant is at the hotel, but a sports bar, Knuckles, is across the street. Want something late nite like I did? Denny' s open 24hrs is a 3-5 minute walk from the H.I. Express.

Very short walk to Fishermans Wharf! Would stay there again. The hotel is on the same street as other Major hotels. I would easily choose the Hotel again. I am a business man that has been travelling a lot since 1985.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Disliked — 2 minute Noise from street gabage trucks in the AM
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

We stayed here for 5 nights 20-25th March and the location is superb.Hotel check in was very good and the room,although a little"tired" was ready on our arrival and clean.It had all the usual facillities and was nice and quiet.The breakfast is more than adequate,with a good selection,(but the toasters could do with replacing).Fishermans Wharf is very good,and we would HIGHLY recommend trying the clam chouder which is served up in a bread bowl,its just gorgeous.Alcatraz is still well worth a visit but book early in the day to get a place on the boat across.We had a lovely walk over the Golden Gate bridge(get a taxi there though) and we carried on walking right round to Sausalito which dosnt take very long and then have a coffee overlooking the bay its really nice.Take a tram car for the experience,plus the streets are very very hilly,and take a walk down Lombard Street,then keep going to Coit Tower.This is a lovely city with plenty to see and do,and dont miss Chinatown.Once again there are a lot of street performers and homeless people begging and sleeping in the streets but they dont cause you any trouble.Go to San Francisco and enjoy,its wonderful,and stay at this hotel too,its adequate.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Could do with chearing up a bit
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.