We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel/Clean but Wharf/Sketchy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #58 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
St. Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hotel/Clean but Wharf/Sketchy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

First trip to San Fran. The hotel was very convenient in that we could walk to many of our spots. The hotel room was tiny but very clean. The front desk staff was extremely nice and very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was substantial but get an early start to beat the big crowd, The only negative was the Wharf at night. Walking back from any of the restaurants in the area at night is pretty sketchy. I am not sure I would stay in that general area again but not because of the hotel.

  • Liked — Clean room. Friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Neighbohood at night.
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    824
    293
    54
    34
See reviews for
550
664
71
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

Out of three motels we stayed at on our trip up the coast, this one was by far the best. We stayed here for two nights. It was within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and Ghiradelli Square, which made everything so much easier. The staff was friendly, and the breakfast was full of people but organized and good for families. The inside of the hotel looked just like the pictures, and our room was clean - carpets and all.

For a break from the city and a drive over the Golden Gate Bridge, we recommend visiting Muir Woods. The trees are amazing, and the kids loved it, too.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — hmm....one of our keys stopped working once
  • Tips/Secrets — have fun!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2006

Outstanding location in the middle of Fisherman's Wharf. Walking distance from most of the nearby attractions. Very loud street noise. Friendly hotel management and staff, nice and well-kept property. Valet parking service was expensive (maybe $36/day), but it was always nice to have a parking space waiting whenever we returned to the hotel. Rates were reasonable, complimentary breakfast buffet was mediocre and crowded. Decent hotel, but too noisy for my wife.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Very, very, very Loud Street Noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid the "Inward-Facing" rooms; looks like a jail cell block & no privacy.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2006

Like a previous reviewer, my family came for a short visit to San Francisco while spending the majority of our vacation time in beautiful Lake Tahoe. Having not visited the Fisherman's Wharf area for many years, the primary shock was finding the dirty, cheesy state of the wharf. Homeless folks and other unique characters along the streets caused us, my young daughter in particular, to be uncomfortable. But within that disappointing aspect of the neighborhood, we found the Holiday Inn Express a wonderful place to come home to. The hotel seemed quite new and sort of boutique-like in its decor. Rooms and public areas were quite clean and the complimentary continental breakfast was much above average for "budget-style" accomodations. Staff was friendly and always helpful.

The rooms were smallish, and probably not large enough for 4 people, and our room was probably one of many without any view whatsoever. Thankfully we chose this hotel for easy access to the cable cars and other things on our "to do" list. Valet parking was $32.00 per day (before taxes). I felt our car was fairly secure in that lot, however the hotel elevator takes anyone down to the parking area unsupervised.

For our personal tastes, we will likely try a downtown hotel next time we come to San Francisco, not because of the hotel but because of our personal discomfort in the wharf atmosphere. Finding a good rate may be difficult, but location is important to us.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — location in the wharf area
  • Tips/Secrets — Knuckles bar and grill across the street offers good menu when needing quick, basic food
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2006

this hotel was as well presented as a 4 star friendly staff. The rooms are just perfect and well kept. Even though we were on a main road we hardly heard any noise or even from other rooms. the breakfast was really good although just the usual toast croissants fresh fruit coffees teas cereals but plentiful. Fully reccommend this hotel. The holiday inn is just a few minutes walk away where there is a Dennys but is in such a good spot for all food outlets and the pier.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

We stayed here for one night on a short side trip we took to San Franciso while we were staying at Lake Tahoe. (Good Points) The hotel is located right near the wharf area which would be a plus for most people. It is only a short walk to the cable cars and trolley. The hotel is new and shows no wear and tear yet. The breakfast is the typical Holiday Inn Select breakfast which I believe to be one of the best around. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. They put out fruit on the counter in the afternoon.

(Needing improvement or that which you may want to be forewarned of) We needed two rooms. The one my son and his friend stayed in was a typical two bed room of adequate size. The one my wife and I stayed in was really small (477 I think). It reminded me of some of the smallish european rooms we have stayed in. It was adequate, but should not have been priced as high as the others. Parking your car here is 32 dollars a pop for one night. I consider that too high even for a large city. I believe you can park it cheaper at some of the local lots. Neither room had a fridge or a micro. As this is a new hotel I would have expected this to have been included. I do not think there is a pool for the kiddies, but I believe you can use the Holiday Inn pool a few doors down.

Would I stay here again? Yes

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — tiny room
  • Tips/Secrets — parking your car here will set you back 32 dollars a day
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

We stayed at the hotel from the 22nd August, the facilities were as described on the website, the room was spotless, the free internet access was very useful, the staff were friendly and the service was good. The location was excellent, there are plenty of things to do locally and the hotel is easily accessible for public transport or to walk to the rest of san francisco (mind the hills!!) i would definitely stay there again, the only thing i would say, is make sure you go for the complimentary breakfast early as it gets busy later on, which we found out due to jet lag!

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.