We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good priced rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #57 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Kennesaw, Georgia
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great location, good priced rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great location in Fisherman's Wharf walking distance to everything. Convenience is the key to this hotel. The hotel lobby and rooms have been recently renovated into a cruise ship motif. The rooms are not bad but the view from our room was of a courtyard of other room windows (so not views). The buffet breakfast was included in the price and well worth it. Pancakes, cinnamin rolls (awesome), eggs, gravy and biscuits, bacon, sausage, fruit, cereal and oatmeal. Make sure you check both sides of the kitchen as the food is separated where biscuits on one side and gravy on the other side. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I'd recommend and will actually stay at this hotel again next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the elevator. There are some rooms with street views but expect the noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello thank you so much for staying with us as well as sharing your thoughts. I am so glad you found our location key during your stay. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    818
    292
    53
    34
See reviews for
547
657
71
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel in the past. This time, I made an error in my reservation. I had to call from my car on the way there, and they could not have been more accommodating. They found a room for us in their very crowded hotel, and gave me a break on my mistake. The hotel itself is very comfortable and a great location for all the touristy stuff in San Francisco. It is just what you know to expect from Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hello, Thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts. I am so glad we were able to help you as best we could as we know how tricky it can be when in transit. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Can't fault this place apart from the parking price - - over $50 for one night's parking! I strongly recommend parking on the street nearby (2 hour free parking zones but be careful about street cleaning arrangements as signposted), or in one of the other carparks a few blocks away (around $30 a night).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Sliminvestor, thank you very much for choosing Holiday Inn Express and for taking the time to review your stay with us. We understand, parking can be expensive in San Francisco, but we do offer our guests in and out access as well as allowing guests to park up until 6pm on the day of departure that many of the local lots do not provide. We hope that the next time you're in the city that you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here one night while visiting San Fran earlier this month. The interior of the hotel itself was great, I believe it was recently remodeled but rooms were definitely on the smaller side for a HI Express and our room did not have a refrigerator which was a bummer. Free breakfast was the standard but the area where they served breakfast was definitely small for the amount of people it needed to accommodate, so that made things a little nuts. All in all the hotel was perfectly fine and I would definitely stay again based on the location, just would love to see these tiny improvements.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
caseylc, thank you so much for choosing Holiday Inn Express for your trip to San Francisco. Also, we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear you found our accommodations clean and up-to-date. We will make sure to share your valuable feedback with the rest of our team in hopes to continually improve our service. Please make sure to come back and visit us the next time you're in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Holiday Inn Express, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco; May 2 and May 3, 2014. Upon arrival, the desk clerk was very courteous and acknowledged our Platinum Elite Status by offering us a small bag with sweets or two bottles of water. We took the sweets. Unfortunately, we were not able to get an upgrade because none were available. However, our room was fine; it was quiet and spacious with comfortable beds, pillows, flat screen TV; plenty of towels, and coffee pot.

The breakfast had a lot of selections including cinnamon rolls, fruit, juice choices, oatmeal, eggs, bacon, etc. It was an excellent choice.

Because we were going on the 5:30pm Alcatraz cruise tour (sunset tour), the hotel was perfectly located. It was a short historic tram ride to the pier where the tour was debarking.

We used our points to pay for the hotel (35,000 points per night) but we get 10% back.

I recommend the Holiday Inn Express; it is just around the corner from the historic tram, a cable car, and the municipal bus one takes to the Golden Gate Bridge.

Room Tip: To get a quiet room, ask for one away from the street on an upper level in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts on the stay. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The location is great, situated 2 minutes walk from Fisherman's Wharf and near to the tram terminus. Rooms are clean and spacious and good value for San Fran. Breakfasts are expensive but good quality, staff are very friendly and all other aspects of our stay we're great. It was rather noisy in the mornings, with leaf blowers or something similar making a hell of a racket each morning. Other than that, a perfect stay and a location we would certainly return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for staying as well as posting your thoughts on the stay. We do hope to see you soon at the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Arrived a few hours before check in, but they had room for me and I was able to check in straight away. The room was nice, very comfy and huge bed! All tv channels. my room was on the second floor looking out on the road, there was a little bit of car traffic and tram noise-but it really did not bother me at all. The location was amazing to fishermans warf! I did a bus tour and it was such a quick walk to there offices, also a 10 minute walk to the pier where alcatraz tour leaves! I still had a full day left in San Fran and they kept my bags for the day which was very handy! I never had the free breakfast but enjoyed the free wifi! I did book my room only a week in advance so was a bit more expensive but was a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello and thank you so much for staying as well as sharing you thoughts. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay as well as our location. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.