We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #66 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Andover, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Finding an affordable hotel that is also great to stay at is a feat in San Fran (especially on a small budget!) So I was excited to find that the Holiday Inn Express was not only at a GREAT location-only a few blocks from the wharf- but the rooms were really nice, and the breakfast in the morning was much more than I anticipated.

Instead of having week old muffins and dry cereal as is typical for a lot of hotel continental buffets, there was everything from biscuits and gravy to fresh cinnamon rolls and fresh fruit, eggs, turkey sausage and pancakes. It was a pleasant surprise!

Given the location and the amenities as well as the ambiance- I'd stay at this hotel again anytime! The staff were also very helpful and kind!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco SBEbling and thank you for rating us such a high score. We really appreciated it. You are correct, our location is great and we carry a hot breakfast where we have hot cinnamon roll, pancake and eggs as well. Also, we have upgraded to have wifi in all our guest rooms as well. hope to see you again when you visit San Francisco the next time.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    773
    281
    53
    33
See reviews for
515
632
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I booked this hotel but on the last minute, there was a change in my plan. I called the central reservation office to cancel the booking but they refused. Helpless to do anything, I went to the hotel and asked them if they can offer me a discount to use the room only for a few hours. It was so nice of them to cancel the booking without any penalty and they let me use the space in the hotel lobby for my meeting which was only for less than 30 minutes. Very impressed. Will definitely use this hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
David N,

Hello thank you so much for the post. We know how travel plans change and we do the best we can to help everyone in any situation. We do hope you stay with and look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. The location is excellent for the cable car turning point, Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. The staff are friendly and the buffet breakfast is very good. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello CarrollyMarrolly,

Thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts on your last stay with us. I am so glad to have you back again and look forward to the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii ,USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We love the location near resturants, stopping, the pier, bus and trolley. The front desk staff was very helpful with our tours and suggestions. We rode the Hop on Hop off bus and the stop was just around the corner. Will stay there again on our next vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello Candy H,

Thank you so much for staying with us and am glad we were able to provide you with a stay that you enjoyed. Hope to see you soon at a IHG hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel check in was efficient and quick, the room was clean and spacious, our maid was lovely and keen that we had everything we needed. The location for us was ideal we could get to all parts of the city from here but we don't mind walking and exploring, we did go to Union Square a couple of times and I found this area too hectic. As other reviews have said the breakfast is a 'bun fight' and if you want a relaxing meal this isn't the option for you, everything was plastic and throw away which I didn't like, not very environmentally friendly, but it is free so everyone seems to put up with it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello Helen D,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as it was our pleasure in having you here. I do hope to see you again soon at a Holiday Inn Express & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel has everything you need, its location can hardly be beaten, the rooms are clean and staff are friendly!
We stayed in a room with two double beds for two couples. Whilst the room is really small for four people, would be more than enough space for two, however we knew what we were booking and it more than suited us.
Bathroom was clean and the room was cleaned daily. The staff were GREAT - we arrived two hours before check in and they advised us our room was ready and we could check in there and then which was PERFECT.
Breakfast was basic but good enough to have a feed before heading out for the day.
Location is great - there is no need to have a car as it is within walking distance to fishermans wharf and public transport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco hannricho and we are glad that enjoyed your stay with us. If there is a room ready, we will try to check in our guests because we know after a long travel, the first thing they would like to do is to check into their room and relax. We now upgraded to have wifi in all our guest rooms as well. Hope this will invite you back to staying with us next time when you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here on our way from the east coast to Hawaii weekend of Sept 13, 2013. Loved this hotel and stay. Absolutely perfect location. Just across the street from much more expensive "name" hotels for a much lesser price. No more than a 10 min walk to everything on the Wharf, including cable car turnarounds, Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square (for chocolate lovers) and shops, Alcatraz boat pier, restaurants, bus stops, and the Grey Line open air SF tour bus station is next door.

Hotel was just what we wanted, no more, no less. Very clean with a friendly, helpful staff. Nice breakfast though some patrons do not help when leaving their messes behind. This is a self service breakfast, not a restaurant. Be courteous to others. Don't expect a high rise, this is four story hotel, so it is a little more spread out, but a non issue. Parking here and in SF is at a premium so avoid rentals, use transfers from the airport and public transportation if possible to get around SF. King bed room was plenty big. This is a high value hotel not a high priced show place. Felt safe in the surrounding area at night. Heartily recommend this hotel and would love to stay here again. Wished our Waikiki hotel was this nice.

Room Tip: There are no views to be had, so just avoid rooms near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Danny W and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express. We are located right at Fisherman Wharf which you can walked to everywhere and all our staff are helpful and friendly as well. We just upgraded to have wifi in our guest rooms as well. Hope you have a fun time in Waikiki and we look forward to seeing you again in San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.