We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean spacious room with breakfast included” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #72 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good location, clean spacious room with breakfast included”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. The location is excellent for the cable car turning point, Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. The staff are friendly and the buffet breakfast is very good. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello CarrollyMarrolly,

Thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts on your last stay with us. I am so glad to have you back again and look forward to the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    681
    248
    45
    31
See reviews for
440
540
55
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii ,USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We love the location near resturants, stopping, the pier, bus and trolley. The front desk staff was very helpful with our tours and suggestions. We rode the Hop on Hop off bus and the stop was just around the corner. Will stay there again on our next vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello Candy H,

Thank you so much for staying with us and am glad we were able to provide you with a stay that you enjoyed. Hope to see you soon at a IHG hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel check in was efficient and quick, the room was clean and spacious, our maid was lovely and keen that we had everything we needed. The location for us was ideal we could get to all parts of the city from here but we don't mind walking and exploring, we did go to Union Square a couple of times and I found this area too hectic. As other reviews have said the breakfast is a 'bun fight' and if you want a relaxing meal this isn't the option for you, everything was plastic and throw away which I didn't like, not very environmentally friendly, but it is free so everyone seems to put up with it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello Helen D,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as it was our pleasure in having you here. I do hope to see you again soon at a Holiday Inn Express & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel has everything you need, its location can hardly be beaten, the rooms are clean and staff are friendly!
We stayed in a room with two double beds for two couples. Whilst the room is really small for four people, would be more than enough space for two, however we knew what we were booking and it more than suited us.
Bathroom was clean and the room was cleaned daily. The staff were GREAT - we arrived two hours before check in and they advised us our room was ready and we could check in there and then which was PERFECT.
Breakfast was basic but good enough to have a feed before heading out for the day.
Location is great - there is no need to have a car as it is within walking distance to fishermans wharf and public transport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco hannricho and we are glad that enjoyed your stay with us. If there is a room ready, we will try to check in our guests because we know after a long travel, the first thing they would like to do is to check into their room and relax. We now upgraded to have wifi in all our guest rooms as well. Hope this will invite you back to staying with us next time when you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here on our way from the east coast to Hawaii weekend of Sept 13, 2013. Loved this hotel and stay. Absolutely perfect location. Just across the street from much more expensive "name" hotels for a much lesser price. No more than a 10 min walk to everything on the Wharf, including cable car turnarounds, Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square (for chocolate lovers) and shops, Alcatraz boat pier, restaurants, bus stops, and the Grey Line open air SF tour bus station is next door.

Hotel was just what we wanted, no more, no less. Very clean with a friendly, helpful staff. Nice breakfast though some patrons do not help when leaving their messes behind. This is a self service breakfast, not a restaurant. Be courteous to others. Don't expect a high rise, this is four story hotel, so it is a little more spread out, but a non issue. Parking here and in SF is at a premium so avoid rentals, use transfers from the airport and public transportation if possible to get around SF. King bed room was plenty big. This is a high value hotel not a high priced show place. Felt safe in the surrounding area at night. Heartily recommend this hotel and would love to stay here again. Wished our Waikiki hotel was this nice.

Room Tip: There are no views to be had, so just avoid rooms near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Danny W and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express. We are located right at Fisherman Wharf which you can walked to everywhere and all our staff are helpful and friendly as well. We just upgraded to have wifi in our guest rooms as well. Hope you have a fun time in Waikiki and we look forward to seeing you again in San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel, we had no issues and it was the best price for a family of 5 it was clean and comfortable. Best thing was the breakfast was included, which really helps before you set off everyday. Location was great on Fishermans Wharf, everything was walking distance. Including the crooked street Lombard St, the piers for restaurants and Alcatraz, Ghiradelli Chocolate,and Boudin's for Clam Chowder! We took a cable car to Chinatown and had the most wonderful Dim sum now my kids are addicted to Shrimp dumplings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Sr19999 and thank you for giving us such a good review. We are glad that you like our breakfast and we do have a really great location. Shrimp dumplings is a delicious dim sum and we look forward to seeing you next time when you visit the chinatown here in San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you’ve chosen to stay in the Fisherman’s Wharf area, you’ll find this hotel convenient to everything. It is within walking distance of Pier 39, many restaurants, cable cars, and tourist buses. Our room was clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was good, but very busy each morning. Free wifi is available in the lobby. The valet parking, although expensive, was quick and convenient and worked out well for us. The front desk personnel were very welcoming and helpful. When I discovered a problem with my new cell phone, they directed us to a nearby Radio Shack for assistance. Overall, we had a good experience and would recommend the Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco WWLJN and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our front desk staff were able to assist you with your cell phone. We also upgrade to have wifi in our guest room as well and not just the lobby. Hope this will invite you back to stay with us next time when you visit San Francisco.

Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list