We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to see everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #66 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location to see everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel check in was efficient and quick, the room was clean and spacious, our maid was lovely and keen that we had everything we needed. The location for us was ideal we could get to all parts of the city from here but we don't mind walking and exploring, we did go to Union Square a couple of times and I found this area too hectic. As other reviews have said the breakfast is a 'bun fight' and if you want a relaxing meal this isn't the option for you, everything was plastic and throw away which I didn't like, not very environmentally friendly, but it is free so everyone seems to put up with it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello Helen D,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as it was our pleasure in having you here. I do hope to see you again soon at a Holiday Inn Express & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    770
    281
    53
    33
See reviews for
512
632
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel has everything you need, its location can hardly be beaten, the rooms are clean and staff are friendly!
We stayed in a room with two double beds for two couples. Whilst the room is really small for four people, would be more than enough space for two, however we knew what we were booking and it more than suited us.
Bathroom was clean and the room was cleaned daily. The staff were GREAT - we arrived two hours before check in and they advised us our room was ready and we could check in there and then which was PERFECT.
Breakfast was basic but good enough to have a feed before heading out for the day.
Location is great - there is no need to have a car as it is within walking distance to fishermans wharf and public transport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco hannricho and we are glad that enjoyed your stay with us. If there is a room ready, we will try to check in our guests because we know after a long travel, the first thing they would like to do is to check into their room and relax. We now upgraded to have wifi in all our guest rooms as well. Hope this will invite you back to staying with us next time when you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here on our way from the east coast to Hawaii weekend of Sept 13, 2013. Loved this hotel and stay. Absolutely perfect location. Just across the street from much more expensive "name" hotels for a much lesser price. No more than a 10 min walk to everything on the Wharf, including cable car turnarounds, Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square (for chocolate lovers) and shops, Alcatraz boat pier, restaurants, bus stops, and the Grey Line open air SF tour bus station is next door.

Hotel was just what we wanted, no more, no less. Very clean with a friendly, helpful staff. Nice breakfast though some patrons do not help when leaving their messes behind. This is a self service breakfast, not a restaurant. Be courteous to others. Don't expect a high rise, this is four story hotel, so it is a little more spread out, but a non issue. Parking here and in SF is at a premium so avoid rentals, use transfers from the airport and public transportation if possible to get around SF. King bed room was plenty big. This is a high value hotel not a high priced show place. Felt safe in the surrounding area at night. Heartily recommend this hotel and would love to stay here again. Wished our Waikiki hotel was this nice.

Room Tip: There are no views to be had, so just avoid rooms near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Danny W and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express. We are located right at Fisherman Wharf which you can walked to everywhere and all our staff are helpful and friendly as well. We just upgraded to have wifi in our guest rooms as well. Hope you have a fun time in Waikiki and we look forward to seeing you again in San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel, we had no issues and it was the best price for a family of 5 it was clean and comfortable. Best thing was the breakfast was included, which really helps before you set off everyday. Location was great on Fishermans Wharf, everything was walking distance. Including the crooked street Lombard St, the piers for restaurants and Alcatraz, Ghiradelli Chocolate,and Boudin's for Clam Chowder! We took a cable car to Chinatown and had the most wonderful Dim sum now my kids are addicted to Shrimp dumplings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Sr19999 and thank you for giving us such a good review. We are glad that you like our breakfast and we do have a really great location. Shrimp dumplings is a delicious dim sum and we look forward to seeing you next time when you visit the chinatown here in San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you’ve chosen to stay in the Fisherman’s Wharf area, you’ll find this hotel convenient to everything. It is within walking distance of Pier 39, many restaurants, cable cars, and tourist buses. Our room was clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was good, but very busy each morning. Free wifi is available in the lobby. The valet parking, although expensive, was quick and convenient and worked out well for us. The front desk personnel were very welcoming and helpful. When I discovered a problem with my new cell phone, they directed us to a nearby Radio Shack for assistance. Overall, we had a good experience and would recommend the Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco WWLJN and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our front desk staff were able to assist you with your cell phone. We also upgrade to have wifi in our guest room as well and not just the lobby. Hope this will invite you back to stay with us next time when you visit San Francisco.

Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Staying at this hotel was a great start to our California Holiday. It is in a great location, an easy stroll to Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39, cable cars etc. it was also good sized accommodation. We were a family of five and had plenty of room. Two double beds and a sofabed. The complimentary breakfast was great, reasonable quality and plenty of it, it was however very busy at breakfast times. The valet parking was good as well, not having to fuss around too much after a long trip. Don't book this hotel expecting a five star luxury experience, book for a great value hotel with friendly staff, in a perfect location. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ideal for a family of five
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hello EH278,

Thank you so much for sharing you thoughts on you recent stay with us. I am so glad you found us a value. We are an Holiday Inn Express and we work really hard at providing a value while still providing the service you deserve. I also am glad you found our staff friendly. I do hope to see you again soon at a Holiday Inn Express & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just completed a 4 night stay here. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. It is a very busy hotel given the choice location, but you would not know it by the quietness of the rooms. If you are looking for an ideal Fisherman's Wharf location, this property is perfect. Easy to walk to all attractions and cable cars and buses are literally just a block away. Housekeeping was immaculate and we would not hesitate to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hello GJCrawford,

Thank you so much for the recent review and stay with us. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. and hope you do visit us again at a Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.