We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #70 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Room was clean, which is always a plus, but honestly, that should be a given in any hotel.
Here's the cons: awful pillows, ancient TV, no pool/spa/jacuzzi, rooms with no view, very expensive (the wknd we had to be there was about $150 more than the previous weekend, due to events in town), no in-room wifi, no refrigerator, no microwave.
Here's the pros: friendly service staff, good free breakfast, nice bathroom, good location, room safe, in-room coffee/tea, quiet (we were beside the mechanical room & elevators, but it was not a problem).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear 83nighthawk

We would like to thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Fisherman's Wharf. Our staff will be happy to hear the great comments. We truly value you're feedback and always give our guest a chance to express themselves. We have different pillow options that are available at you're request. Our sister hotel has a swimming pool that our guest are welcomed to use. Soon we will be upgrading to WI-FI access all over. Hopefully, with this insight you give us a second chance to better serve you.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    730
    269
    50
    33
See reviews for
494
592
60
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel for a total of 5 nights in July and August 2013. The first 4 nights we were given a room on the top floor. The room was very clean and very quiet. The beds were comfortable and we got a good night's sleep. The fifth night (we had gone other places in California and came back for one night before flying home) we were upgraded to a suite which was really nice! Again, the room was quiet, clean and comfortable. We didn't eat the free breakfast in the hotel. The line of people waiting for breakfast each morning was very long and we preferred to get a good hot breakfast elsewhere or we went to a very cute and inexpensive bakery just a couple blocks away. The location of the hotel couldn't be better! Everything was close by - the cable car, streetcar and muni buses. The wharf was a couple blocks away and you could even walk to the Alcatraz cruise pier. We rented a car when we left S.F. for 5 days and the rent a car place was a block and a half away - very convenient and loading the car by the hotel very easy. The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and very accommodating. The only thing my daughter didn't like was there was no wi fi in the room - you had to go down to the lobby to use wi fi. We got a decent rate at this hotel considering the time of year we travelled and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear pixiedust49,

We would like to thank you again for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Fisherman's Wharf. We are so happy to hear that you're stay was all around a great stay. Our staff takes pride in their job and its comments like this that reasurre us that we are on the right path. Tell you're daughter that we truly apologize regarging our wi-fi connectivity but it is something that we are working on. Again, thank you and we hope to see you in the near future.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Location at Fisherman's Wharf was great and getting places was very easy. The room was fine and the breakfast good. The major problem was that there was no room wifi at all, not even to purchase. The cell phone connectivity was poor and the only way I could go online was to hold the phone up to the window. Travelling with my 18 year old son made this even more obvious. I would choose another place simply based on this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear peternuke,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and location. We are working hard in upgrading our wi-fi connectivity.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family had a fun time and we were just a few mins walk for the Famous Fishersmans Wharf. We were not to far from pier 39 which had great attractions for our two little girls. There's great restaurants all over and and great vibe. We took the trolley car tour, took a boat trip to Alcatraz, and a boat and bus tour to the Golden Gate Bridge. It was a heart trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Lgwalt85,

We would like to thank you and you're family for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. The city itself is magnificent for a family vacation with their being so many activities for the whole family. Pier 39 is always a must and endless hours of fun can be spent there. We are glad to hear that you experienced all the great fun that our locals do. We hope to accomodate you again in the near future.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

really expensive especially valet parking at $45 dollars a day but everything in san Francisco is. stayed for 2 nights so location was important to see as much as possible. minutes from pier 39 and wharf area and 20 mins to Chinatown area and took us about 1.5 hours to walk to golden gate bridge, managed to find a free bus shuttle back! wide variety of breakfast choices but really busy and people struggled to find seating to eat. comfy and quiet so a good choice for us

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear hollyk44

It seems like you we're pretty busy during you're stay enjoying all the great attractions that San Francisco has to offer. We do understand that parking rates are pretty expensive in the city, that's why we always like to recommend our guest to take advantage of our city transportation. We would like to take the oppurtunity to thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Fisherman's Wharf. We hope to see you back on you're next trip to San Francisco.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Clean hotel, basic breakfast but its free!!
Great location within walking distance of pier 39 and all the attractions.
Remember this is a busy part of town and you pay to be near the attractions, yes a breakfast was a line up - not too long to wait....
We had a mini suite with 2 beds, fridge and microwave , just hate the paper cups!! But could see Alcatraz and the bay in the distance. Very quiet room and helpful staff.
Great place for location, price a bit steep, breakfast ok, wifi terrible!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Chrispk2,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel was ok. Rooms tend to be a little small in San Fransisco. Breakfast was a bufferr & it was good. For the short amount of time that we spent in the room it was doable. Front desk was pleasant, as was housekeeping!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Cathie J,

We would like to take the time of thanking for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Expres & Suites in Fisherman's Wharf. We're sorry to hear that you had such a short stay, but we do hope to serve you again in a future visit.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;