We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #72 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
New York City, New York
1 review
“San Funcisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family had a fun time and we were just a few mins walk for the Famous Fishersmans Wharf. We were not to far from pier 39 which had great attractions for our two little girls. There's great restaurants all over and and great vibe. We took the trolley car tour, took a boat trip to Alcatraz, and a boat and bus tour to the Golden Gate Bridge. It was a heart trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Lgwalt85,

We would like to thank you and you're family for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. The city itself is magnificent for a family vacation with their being so many activities for the whole family. Pier 39 is always a must and endless hours of fun can be spent there. We are glad to hear that you experienced all the great fun that our locals do. We hope to accomodate you again in the near future.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    483
    723
    264
    49
    33
See reviews for
485
588
57
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

really expensive especially valet parking at $45 dollars a day but everything in san Francisco is. stayed for 2 nights so location was important to see as much as possible. minutes from pier 39 and wharf area and 20 mins to Chinatown area and took us about 1.5 hours to walk to golden gate bridge, managed to find a free bus shuttle back! wide variety of breakfast choices but really busy and people struggled to find seating to eat. comfy and quiet so a good choice for us

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear hollyk44

It seems like you we're pretty busy during you're stay enjoying all the great attractions that San Francisco has to offer. We do understand that parking rates are pretty expensive in the city, that's why we always like to recommend our guest to take advantage of our city transportation. We would like to take the oppurtunity to thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Fisherman's Wharf. We hope to see you back on you're next trip to San Francisco.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Clean hotel, basic breakfast but its free!!
Great location within walking distance of pier 39 and all the attractions.
Remember this is a busy part of town and you pay to be near the attractions, yes a breakfast was a line up - not too long to wait....
We had a mini suite with 2 beds, fridge and microwave , just hate the paper cups!! But could see Alcatraz and the bay in the distance. Very quiet room and helpful staff.
Great place for location, price a bit steep, breakfast ok, wifi terrible!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Chrispk2,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel was ok. Rooms tend to be a little small in San Fransisco. Breakfast was a bufferr & it was good. For the short amount of time that we spent in the room it was doable. Front desk was pleasant, as was housekeeping!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Cathie J,

We would like to take the time of thanking for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Expres & Suites in Fisherman's Wharf. We're sorry to hear that you had such a short stay, but we do hope to serve you again in a future visit.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel is located near the wharf and probably has one of the best locations in the area. We walked to lots of the major attractions (Wharf, Pier 39, Alcatraz, Lombard Street, Ghirardelli Square etc.). As for the accommodations we parked our car with the valet on site... price was around $50/ day but that is expected in the city. The hotel common areas were clean and updated and staff was very accommodating. When our rental car was hit in the valet, they were quick to solve the problem. We booked the mini-suite which was spacious but could use updating with a flat TV, new couch (ours had burn marks), and furniture was a bit worn. The bathroom was very clean and updated.. we appreciated the bath and body products! As for breakfast, we went down around 8 each day and although the area was full, we always were able to get a table. The food was always full and ranged from typical cold fruit and such to the pancakes, gravy biscuits, meat, and eggs. They even had turkey sausage! My biggest complaint over breakfast was that there was no one in the dining room to clean off tables... by the end of breakfast they were dirty and sticky! Overall the staff was great as was the facility. If I were ever to return to San Fran, this would be the place for me!

Room Tip: Upper floor not facing North Point Street... can hear road noise if a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was average at best. Had to ask for an extra rollaway which had been booked, this was accommodated no problem. View was terrible over a square blocked roof looking into other rooms. Breakfast was ok but very busy had to queue for pancake machine. This was a budget hotel but we didn't pay budget prices although it was August.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear natbag,

Thank you for you're kind post. We are glad that we we're able to accomadate you're needs while being a guest with us. We do understant that at time we might not be able to offer views only due to the way the hotel was designed. As far a our breakfast area we are looking into expanding to accomodate our guest's more comfortably. Hopefully, we see you back when the change is done. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suite as you're preferred choice.

Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Picked this hotel because the so called suite offered a sleeper sofa. When I checked in I was assigned a regular double room with a sofa that was not a sleeper sofa. There was not even room to open it if it was a sleeper. Went back to the front and informed them the description of the suite I had booked included a sleeper sofa. The front desk clerk, Joseph, informed me that I had booked a mini-suite and not a family suite. I once again stresses that the room description on the Internet disclosed that there was a sleeper sofa. I further explained that I needed the sleeper since I have a special needs child who requires to sleep alone and that we were a family of 4. Joseph then took by reservation print out went to the back room and then accommodated us by placing us in a handicap accessible "suite" with a sleeper sofa. He was not the friendliest person and just shy of being rude. The suite was very dated and drab, but clean. There are no "good" views from this property but it is centrally located in Fisherman's Wharf. The Hyatt is right across the street and the Holiday Inn is next door. The hotel does not have wifi in the rooms. They are also not well insulated and you can here all the hallway and plumbing noises. The breakfast is not very good and very crowded. However, the Hollywood Cafe next door to the hotel is superb! The valet staff was friendly and quick. Valet parking was $45 per day plus tax and includes in and out privileges. Overall, I feel that this hotel is overpriced and outdated. I gave it a 3 because it was clean and had good location.

Room Tip: I recommend you call the hotel and obtain a full description of the suite you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Yoyi412,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and for your nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry about the room confusion, food selection and the poor customer service provided by our front desk. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;