We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #72 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Westchester, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“holiday inn express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel was ok. Rooms tend to be a little small in San Fransisco. Breakfast was a bufferr & it was good. For the short amount of time that we spent in the room it was doable. Front desk was pleasant, as was housekeeping!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Cathie J,

We would like to take the time of thanking for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Expres & Suites in Fisherman's Wharf. We're sorry to hear that you had such a short stay, but we do hope to serve you again in a future visit.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    681
    248
    45
    31
See reviews for
440
540
55
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel is located near the wharf and probably has one of the best locations in the area. We walked to lots of the major attractions (Wharf, Pier 39, Alcatraz, Lombard Street, Ghirardelli Square etc.). As for the accommodations we parked our car with the valet on site... price was around $50/ day but that is expected in the city. The hotel common areas were clean and updated and staff was very accommodating. When our rental car was hit in the valet, they were quick to solve the problem. We booked the mini-suite which was spacious but could use updating with a flat TV, new couch (ours had burn marks), and furniture was a bit worn. The bathroom was very clean and updated.. we appreciated the bath and body products! As for breakfast, we went down around 8 each day and although the area was full, we always were able to get a table. The food was always full and ranged from typical cold fruit and such to the pancakes, gravy biscuits, meat, and eggs. They even had turkey sausage! My biggest complaint over breakfast was that there was no one in the dining room to clean off tables... by the end of breakfast they were dirty and sticky! Overall the staff was great as was the facility. If I were ever to return to San Fran, this would be the place for me!

Room Tip: Upper floor not facing North Point Street... can hear road noise if a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was average at best. Had to ask for an extra rollaway which had been booked, this was accommodated no problem. View was terrible over a square blocked roof looking into other rooms. Breakfast was ok but very busy had to queue for pancake machine. This was a budget hotel but we didn't pay budget prices although it was August.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear natbag,

Thank you for you're kind post. We are glad that we we're able to accomadate you're needs while being a guest with us. We do understant that at time we might not be able to offer views only due to the way the hotel was designed. As far a our breakfast area we are looking into expanding to accomodate our guest's more comfortably. Hopefully, we see you back when the change is done. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suite as you're preferred choice.

Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Picked this hotel because the so called suite offered a sleeper sofa. When I checked in I was assigned a regular double room with a sofa that was not a sleeper sofa. There was not even room to open it if it was a sleeper. Went back to the front and informed them the description of the suite I had booked included a sleeper sofa. The front desk clerk, Joseph, informed me that I had booked a mini-suite and not a family suite. I once again stresses that the room description on the Internet disclosed that there was a sleeper sofa. I further explained that I needed the sleeper since I have a special needs child who requires to sleep alone and that we were a family of 4. Joseph then took by reservation print out went to the back room and then accommodated us by placing us in a handicap accessible "suite" with a sleeper sofa. He was not the friendliest person and just shy of being rude. The suite was very dated and drab, but clean. There are no "good" views from this property but it is centrally located in Fisherman's Wharf. The Hyatt is right across the street and the Holiday Inn is next door. The hotel does not have wifi in the rooms. They are also not well insulated and you can here all the hallway and plumbing noises. The breakfast is not very good and very crowded. However, the Hollywood Cafe next door to the hotel is superb! The valet staff was friendly and quick. Valet parking was $45 per day plus tax and includes in and out privileges. Overall, I feel that this hotel is overpriced and outdated. I gave it a 3 because it was clean and had good location.

Room Tip: I recommend you call the hotel and obtain a full description of the suite you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Yoyi412,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and for your nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry about the room confusion, food selection and the poor customer service provided by our front desk. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the first negative review I have left. I didn't realize te complete absence of customer service in HI express (my fault) but at $450 a night for a 2 queen room this was terrible.
Terrible breakfast with lines flowing right through to the lifts, queues for the lifts, no wifi, ancient tv, paper cups and utensils.
Maid ignored the do not disturb sign and woke our baby.
Hubby got stuck for 4 hours at Alamo waiting for our car (that's another story) and I couldn't get any assistance to check out of the room with 3 small children, 3 car seats, a pram and 10 pieces of baggage by myself.
I now know the express version of the HI is a no service hotel but I can't believe what they charge for the absence of service.
Room was fine and location was great, but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear tiggy2,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights, nice friendly staff, clean hotel, my only complaint was, ok I know this will sound strange but there are no snack machines in the building. Drink machines are provided but on a late night snack run its rather odd when the front desk looks at you like you are from mars when you ask if there are any snack machines in the building cause the signs say snack and ice machines on your floor but the "snack" machine is not there, just drinks. I don't like going out at night in new places so even walking around the block was out for me.
Overall, this is a great location as others have stated being in walking distance to the wharf.
As for the "bums", there are a lot of homeless people in the San Francisco area. They didn't bother anyone and I wasn't afraid to walk pass them on the sidewalks. I never encountered any in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Nolafam1,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments here on Tripadvisor. We are so happy to hear that you had a good time here in San Francisco's Fisherman Wharf. Come back and see us, and we will look into providing late night snack options.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for four nights. The staff are very helpful but you don't often see much of them. The rooms are typical of budget accomodation and are a little small - even though we were in a 'family room'. However they were very clean and the maids did a great job each morning. The fitness center is a nice touch and is a good place to work out although there are onky treadmills and exercise bikes. Breakfast was very limited to a few snacky items and drinks so we went out most mornings which didn't bother us as we got to taste authentic local cuisine. Something which could be improved on also is the WiFi. It is free which is great for someone like me who is tech savvy however it is only available in the reception area and so it often turned in to more like a crowed internet cafe with everyone trying to use it. If it was available in the rooms it would fare better. Finally, a positive point is that the location is great - right near the seafront next to many great restaurants, bars and attractios. Overall I am not disapointed with the Fishermans Wharf Holiday Inn Express, you get the necessities but as with anywhere it can be improved.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello jamesellis2,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review here on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and found the hotel staff to be helpful. Next time your travels bring you to San Francisco come back and see us.

Best,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.