We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - room - service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #56 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great location - room - service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Stayed 3 nights (June 12-15, 2008) in a King room on the 1st floor. There was no view, just a courtyard of windows - but that didn't matter, because we were sightseeing from morning til night and I was too tired to care when we were finished.
If you need a nice hotel, in a great/safe location, with a clean room & free breakfast - look no further. We got a rate of $187 per night through the hotels website - and when you factor in the complimentary breakfast - that's a pretty good deal. There is plenty to eat - not just danish & coffee. They had hot cinnamon rolls, cold cereal, carton milk, eggs (scrambled or omelet depending on the day), bacon or sausage (depending on the day) biscuits and gravy (daily), and then breads, english muffins and bagels. If this doesn't work for you, there is a Denny's literally right around the corner - as well as a Walgreen in case you need pop/water, medicine, sunscreen, snacks, toothpaste, film developing, socks - or anything else you forgot or think you might need.
The turnaround for the Powell-Mason is only 2 blocks from the hotel. You can pay $5 per way, per person. Or buy a 3-day unlimited ride pass for $18 per person. We chose this option which gave us no excuse to explore the city more.
Overall a great hotel - no complaints! The rooms were big & clean. Had in-room safe, iron, ironing board, coffee, internet, movies, video games, etc. There are 2 computers for internet access just off the lobby that are available 24/7, at no cost. Great for printing boarding passes for the flight home, booking tours, researching restaurants and attractions - and checking your emails from home - as well as sending the standard "wish you were here" email to the folks back home.

  • Liked — 2 blocks from everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    888
    303
    55
    36
See reviews for
595
714
77
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
254 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

We stayed at the HI Express for two nights and everything was fine. We had a large clean comfortable room with a king size bed and a very large bathroom on the second floor (no view). The free breakfast was a little crazy, but to be expected located in a tourist mecca.

The room rate was a tad expensive, but you are paying for location, location, location. The fee to park was outrageous; $37 per night + 14% tax. Two nights of parking cost $84.00 plus valet tips each time you take the car out. This was painful.

I would recommend this hotel, if you can stomach the parking fee and all the tourists.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking Fee
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cw_squared
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

We stayed here for 5 nights (June 10-14) in 2008. The room was ready upon arrival and was very clean. We called ahead to ask for a room along the north face of the hotel as this would give us a view out towards the bay. When we got there we were told they really didn't reserve rooms in spots just details like King bed or non-smoking. So our view was just another wall of the hotel. Other than that, the staff was extremely nice and I realize that everyone would want that view so I guess it's just the luck of the draw.
The complimentary breakfast was pretty good. They had cinnamon rolls, bananas, bagels, various cereals, bread for toast, bacon or sausage (seemed to alternate), biscuits, gravy, milk and various juices. There may have been more but we can't remember. The food was good (not great). And the crowds were generally not too bad except for Saturday morning.
The room wasn't large but it was fine for what we wanted. Just a place to relax between excursions around San Francisco. It was very clean and had a decent decor for a regular hotel. The staff was always friendly and willing to answer any questions we had.
We considered it an excellent deal for the price we got off Hotwire as the location near Fisherman's Wharf was the best feature of the hotel. A quick walk to several attractions made our sightseeing easier. We didn't rent a car because so many forms of public transportation are within a couple of blocks from the hotel. The selection of television channels were pretty sparse but we didn't spend tons of time in the room aside from showering and sleeping so that didn't bother us too much. I would suggest trying to find a deal online if you can. We saw a guy walk in off the street and they were asking $239.00 for the one room they had.

  • Liked — Proximity to so many attractions.
  • Disliked — No view from the room.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

Stayed at this hotel June 6-9, in King Bed standard room. Room was very clean and nicely decorated although not overly big (but who cares...your not going to SF to stay in your room!)

Common areas were also very clean. Two computer stations near the front desk with printers available 24/7. Nice complimenary breakfast included (cheese omlettes or scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits & gravy, yogurts, cereals, fresh cinnamon buns, toast, coffee and juices).

Location was great. Close but not too close to Fisherman's Wharf. Two blocks from Powell & Hyde Cable Car stop (can buy 1, 3 and 7-day MUNI passes at booth at this location). Two blocks from F Line stop. Walgreens and Safeway also a few blocks - good for snacks, drinks, etc. for your room.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

I converted my Air Miles into Priority Points for three nights free - nice!.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
233 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

Used my Priority Points for a two night stay. This is a nice Holiday Inn Express with a wonderful location. The first room we were given was on the 4th floor and was tiny, with no view. Called the front desk and asked for a room with some sort of view. The only available room with an outside view was on the smoking floor, but we decided to try it out. There was no "smoking" smell in the hallways and the room we chose had no smell of smoking at all. (Room 370). Very nice room with good views and the windows did open so we could get some fresh air! Yes, it was loud with the windows open, but with them closed, it was quiet. The beds were very comfortable, staff was friendly and accomodating and a great location! Breakfast was nice with both hot and cold items. Sure saves a lot of money! We did the Super Sightseeing Tours which is next door to the hotel. We did two tours (Muir Woods and City) as we only had one day to really get out and see the city. I am glad we did! Safe location - Cost Plus World Market right down the street, so we bought our wine and snacks there and enjoyed it in the room!
I would definitelly recommend this hotel for a trip to San Francisco. Wish we would have had more time in the beautiful city.

  • Liked — Location and comfortable beds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

Great location, 5 mins from harbour and 10 mins from Pier 39. Room was in Holiday Express building 2nd floor overlooking main road and trams. Didnt find it noisy at all. Room was clean, comfy, staff pleasant, breakfast fine, although the 1 evening meal there was disappointing. There is a large late night Walgreen supermarket across the street which had food, toiletries, drinks etc etc, plenty of eating places around. Highly recommend Boudins on the Wharf for breakfast, sourdough soup and ambience. Really recommend taking yr own hairdryer to Holiday Inns in the US, the ones supplied are weak and lethal!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hairdryer
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallend Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights in May. Very happy with the hotel which is in a great location. The room was pretty standard but it was spotlessly clean, the furnishings were good, it was nice and quiet and overall very comfortable.

The continental breakfast was tasty and there was a pretty good choice.

What more could you want ! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Very comfortable and friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisher...
#103 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 2,625 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#16 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,107 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman'...
#63 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#111 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 2,864 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#89 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
#104 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.