We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to tourist attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #66 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Close to tourist attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in mid-June after visiting the National Parks. We are HI Priority Club members & were given a 4th (top) floor room overlooking the Bay--these rooms are noisy during the day.

Our room had 2 Q beds, closet w/safe, bath w/tub, TV, tele, c/m, table/chairs & A/C -- no balcony if that matters to you.

Free breakfast is offered --pancakes/cereal/eggs/breads/coffee/juice -- seating is limited for the size of the hotel. Valet garage parking is offered @ $45/night. The hotel is a close walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 & 33 (Alcatraz boat), Ghiradelli Square, cable cars.

There are several hotels on this same street, but we were happy with our choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    486
    720
    256
    47
    32
See reviews for
471
576
57
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We loved staying at this hotel because we were within walking distance for so many of the attractons and restaurants on Pier 39. The hotel was very comfortable, clean, quiet and had a nice breakfast bar. The only thing that we missed in our room was a microwave and icebox.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great spot near Fisherman's wharf. Clean rooms, good service at front desk, OK breakfast for a free one, but gets tiring if you are there for more than a few days. Would like to see Wi-Fi in rooms too, not just in lobby. Would also like to see an onsite bar to relax at after a hard day of sightseeing. We usually had a night cap at Knuckles across the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great location (within walking distance to cable cars, Alcatraz and public transport) this hotel had a good hot breakfast and a friendly staff. The views from our small room were nothing to speak of, and the bathroom was rather small and dark, but for what we paid and expected, this place fit the bill completely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We had an interior room so our view was the other part of the hotel, but the bonus was how quiet it was at night. No street noise. It is $45 for the valet parking, but you can come and go as often as you want. The valet employees were excellent. The front desk employees were very helpful with our questions. You do need to get down early for breakfast, because the breakfast area does fill up.
The location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This Deco building houses a standard HIE and that is what you get. The room was clean and linens freshly laundered. we slept well, it was quiet as the room looked into an internal courtyard.

The breakfast was a bunfight - many people not enough seating we chose the banana to go option!

The position of this hotel is perfect for exploring San Francisco - Trolley and trams nearby, the Ocean less than five minutes walk, the tour bus pick up just down the road, Historic ships pier five minutes away, some great restaurants within minutes.

The parking charge -ouch!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear briel,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am pleased to know that our location suited your needs and you found our rooms clean and comfortable. I apologize for the inconvenience our breakfast area may have caused. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here on a recent visit to San Francisco and were rather disappointed. The hotel is very dated and the room itself was very basic. As we were in a 'one bedroom suite' i would have expected more than just a sofa and a sink and mini fridge within our bedroom.

The choice for breakfast is quite good but it is too crowded and if you want something like pancakes you have to wait in a queue for an average of 10 minutes to use the machine.

Location-wise this is very close to the Fishermans wharf if thats where you want to be. However the area itself seems very unsafe considering it is the tourist area. As 2 females on our own we did not really feel safe around the area at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Louise M.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor. Our hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's famous Fisherman's Wharf, and I am sorry to hear that at any time you felt unsafe. Please come back and see us.

Sinecerly,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.