We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed staying here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #67 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Northfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We enjoyed staying here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We had an interior room so our view was the other part of the hotel, but the bonus was how quiet it was at night. No street noise. It is $45 for the valet parking, but you can come and go as often as you want. The valet employees were excellent. The front desk employees were very helpful with our questions. You do need to get down early for breakfast, because the breakfast area does fill up.
The location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    764
    279
    52
    33
See reviews for
506
630
65
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This Deco building houses a standard HIE and that is what you get. The room was clean and linens freshly laundered. we slept well, it was quiet as the room looked into an internal courtyard.

The breakfast was a bunfight - many people not enough seating we chose the banana to go option!

The position of this hotel is perfect for exploring San Francisco - Trolley and trams nearby, the Ocean less than five minutes walk, the tour bus pick up just down the road, Historic ships pier five minutes away, some great restaurants within minutes.

The parking charge -ouch!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear briel,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am pleased to know that our location suited your needs and you found our rooms clean and comfortable. I apologize for the inconvenience our breakfast area may have caused. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here on a recent visit to San Francisco and were rather disappointed. The hotel is very dated and the room itself was very basic. As we were in a 'one bedroom suite' i would have expected more than just a sofa and a sink and mini fridge within our bedroom.

The choice for breakfast is quite good but it is too crowded and if you want something like pancakes you have to wait in a queue for an average of 10 minutes to use the machine.

Location-wise this is very close to the Fishermans wharf if thats where you want to be. However the area itself seems very unsafe considering it is the tourist area. As 2 females on our own we did not really feel safe around the area at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Louise M.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor. Our hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's famous Fisherman's Wharf, and I am sorry to hear that at any time you felt unsafe. Please come back and see us.

Sinecerly,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We have just arrive, I can't believe how dirty the room was. Hairs and shampoo dropping everywhere. I need to stay here 4 more days. Never again! I can't believe this is the holiday inn. We are staying here with 3 children.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Sivandor28,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that our cleanliness was not up to your standards or ours, for that matter. I can only hope that in the future you will give us the opportunity to show you that we have improved.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is clean and comfortable, good location with walking distance to most attractions. Breakfast is a great bonus, but do try to get there early beacause it does get quite crowded and can be hard to find a table.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for three nights and had two rooms. The location is convenient to the restaurants, piers, and easy to get to the Golden Gate Bridge. Parking is outrageous, but if you have a car, you really have no other choice. The daytime/evening staff is wonderful, but Andrae who works overnight might be the rudest, most condescending desk clerk I have ever met (and I spend about 170 nights a year in hotels). I will not let this issue tarnish an otherwise enjoyable stay on Trip Advisor.
If you are traveling with family note that the rooms have full size and not queen beds and no mini-frig. Do not expect much in the way of a view out the window, but do expect a clean room and free breakfast. The free breakfast alone is worth about $12 a person near the wharf.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed for six nights in April, on holiday from Australia. Overall the hotel is a good hotel - staff are friendly and very helpful, the rooms are clean, I like the art deco style, very attractive public areas. We were on the 4th floor and had a great view admittedly over a parking lot but we could see the Golden Gate bridge and the Bay so had no complaints about that. The room itself was a bit tired especially the sofa. Beds were comfortable though. Supposedly we had a suite, but less like a suite than other hotels we stayed in. Very small. Only a short walk to Pier 39 and also Ghiradelli Square, and to the cable cars. There was no noise so we slept well. My main negative was the breakfast - eggs were inedible and everything else so sweet. Juice I think must have been cordial. Bananas and yoghurt were all I could eat! There is a Safeway nearby where you can buy sandwiches and other prepared meals for a good price. (Just ask where it is as it's not in a place you would normally go when walking.) Given the hotel's location and price I don't think you would get better value.

Room Tip: The top floor would be best I think and ask for a room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.