We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Port access.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #67 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good location for Port access.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here the night before a long cruise. After a day of mishaps in Los Angeles, we made it to this hotel late in the evening, at close to 11pm. Our room was ready and comfortable and we slept well. The hotel staff was warm and welcoming, and the room was smallish and did not have much of a view but we were only here for one night. After a decent free breakfast, we walked around the neighborhood and found a Ross close because I had forgot to bring good walking sports shoes. When we were ready to go to the port, the hotel called for a cab for us and we made it in a few minutes. Very easy and close to the port, we will stay here again if we ever take another cruise out of SF.

Room Tip: Get one away from the elevators, which are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    476
    710
    255
    46
    32
See reviews for
472
577
57
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in April 7th , room was ok bit old some stains in the wall just a little tired looking. Some stains on carpet.

A disposable breakfast is included. Everything from knives to forks plates cups are all 100 percent disposable. I have never seen anything like it in my life. Stay here and you will see why we are doomed. The only redeeming thing was rainforest alliance bananas.
Paid $198.62
Price is only for location . Was going to stay on but wanted to charge another $25 per night so stayed in holiday inn next door. Better rooms and rates .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Traveler6526,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations to all of our guests. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at HIE Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco for 3 nights in Nov 12. Location was great, close proximity to restaurants, transport and sights. Rooms were small and our room was on the first floor with a cable car track right outside our window which was noisy at times, but didn't run throughout the night which was good. At least we had a view of something - our friends looked out their window to a brick wall!!

Beds were very comfortable, room was clean. Free wifi only available in the lobby which was inconvenient but we survived!

Free breakfast was great, hot cakes, cereal, bacon, eggs - good way to start a day if sight seeing.

Guest laundry was located at the neighboring Holiday Inn hotel which was a pain especially due to our busy schedule. We'd make the trek over to Holiday Inn to do laundry, wait for a machine to become available and have to wait for it wash otherwise we had to leave the hotel and come back 30 mins later to collect the washing.. big time waster!

Expensive compared to other hotels we used throughout our stay, but location is good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, SC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here for 2 nights in one of the family "suites." It was HUGE, clean and very comfortable. I agree that the pillows were not the best, but our beds were very comfortable. We were on the top floor and did hear some street noise, but it was not too bad. We usually turn the AC unit's fan on and leave it on for noise when we sleep. The breakfast was standard fare, but decent. It gets crowded, so I would go early if possible. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to do and had a great view of the city out of our window. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix az
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at Holiday Inn Express three times now, and will stay again. The hotel is consistently excellent- clean, courteous, and caring. Location unbeatable. The only down side is room size, which is a bit small even for a big city hotel. It is on par with the more expensive hotel brands such as Hyatt and Sheraton, but at a much friendlier price. By the way, when you go to a big city, don't bring a car. It will cost a FORTUNE to park it. San Fran is a walking/mass transit paradise- if you need a car, walk a block from this hotel to Avis or Hertz and rent one for the day. Holiday Inn Express Fisherman's Wharf is a winner!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first visit to San Francisco and we knew nothing about the city layout. This hotel is so conveniently located to both the F line streetcar and the Powell-Mason Cable Car that it makes transportation to the center of the city a snap.

The hotel itself is immaculate. From the lobby to the rooms the housekeeping staff is superb. The front desk is operated by very friendly and very helpful staff. The daily breakfast is abundant with many choices. We traveled with a child, who is a picky eater, on this visit and he was always happy with breakfast.

We will definitely stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recently returned from a week long stay and have nothing to say but thanks. Thanks for making my stay perfect. I have nothing to complain about, yes the elevators were slow at times, but the hotel is only 4 stories, so we utilized the stairs during peak times. The breakfast was plentiful daily, and is open from 0630--930 daily. If you are expecting the lines to be short at 9am, then I suggest you get there early. We were there normally around 7, and the lines were minimal. Everything is walking distance, from the Embarcadero, to Littly Italy, to Chinatown. Many things to do and see. I will definately book my next stay with the this hotel when visiting Fishermans Wharf!

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor, no outside noise heard at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.