We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #66 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family on a Budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at this hotel during Spring Break 2013. The hotel is PERFECT for families that want to see the Wharf, everything was a short (5-15 minute normal walk) distance from this hotel. Wonderful, fresh crab and sourdough 2 blocks away and we all agreed we would highly recomment this hotel for the price. The staff were EXTREMELY nice, especially Brandy, considering how busy they were with 2 large school groups staying at the hotel also for Spring Break. Our room was bottom floor in the back (#180) and we did not have any problem with noise at all.
We like HIE because of the free breakfast, it was typical like all the others which is enough for us and there was plenty, even with the large groups. The only bad thing was I am gluten-free and not much for me offered at breakfast, but there is a Trader Joe's a block and a half easy walk away that had everything I needed cheap. My teens loved to snack on the fresh sourdough large loaf ($5) I bought each morning at the factory 2 blocks away. We road cable cars ($14 daily pass or multi days for $28), road the antique electric trolley cars (you use the same pass), and went to Alcatraz ($30pp).
The kids thought the Segway tour we did with Electric Tour Company, near Ghiradelli factory, was the best. We had Jasmine as our guide and she made this 2-3 hour tour a blast. You drive on the streets as a group and my kids said "even mom did good" and considering I have have back surgery in the past I was surprised how easy this was. Jasmine gave lots of history and fun facts to our group and even stopped for a quick slice of pizza when traveling through the Italian part of town. It was expensive for us, $70pp, but was well worth the time if this is something you have never done before. We thought about using bikes, but at $50pp for that, we decided to splurge. And again, only 6 blocks from the hotel so again hotel is perfect location.
We had to fly into Oakland airport from where we live. I had read about using Quake Super Shuttle and it was perfect. Again a little pricey, $180 round trip for family of 4, but you schedule before you leave home, they were extremely prompt, and drive you around the LONG traffic jam on the Bay Bridge and got us to our hotel within 30 minutes. Same for the trip back. We saw others using BART and trolleys, and then dragging bags several blocks, and that takes twice as long. Quake was worth the convenience.
Overall, great trip. We booked air and hotel through Allegiant because that is what flew direct for us. With teens, they can make these walks without problems and get to enjoy some of the wierd street people at the same time!!

Room Tip: We had no noise issues with room #180 on bottom floor in the back. Sidewalk and street right outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    486
    721
    257
    47
    32
See reviews for
472
576
57
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
eastern nc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The good: great location, 2 blocks from fisherman's wharf. Nice staff.
The Bad: expensive, and got whacked with an extra $45 charge to park the car for one night. Terribly uncomfortable beds, cheap lumpy pillows, AC so weak room stayed hot all night, walls so thin I heard conversations all night from the hall and other rooms, elevators slow or out of order. My daughter got some kind of weird bites or rash on her hand during the night.
I always stay at HIX, but I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. You are correct. Parking in the Fisherman's Wharf district of San Francisco is expensive. We do our best to advertise our $45.00 a day valet parking charge. We appreciate your honest comments, and we will immediately address your other concerns.
Sinecerly,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location however it is an average hotel with basic facilities. The price makes it worthwhile staying here. Free wifi in the lobby also which is great. Breakfast line was long every day with a very basic selection of food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Elena99AU,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding breakfast selection. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at hotel for 2 weeks on a business trip, the location of the property is amazing. Arrived at hotel after long flights from Melbourne, the reception staff was very busy in checking-in guests but it was not too long of wait to check-in (may be 7-10 min), hotel has nice concierge and ambiance although the lift appears to be bit slow.

I had booked mini suite with 2 queen beds, found that Room was also of a decent size, but damaged carpet within room sets off overall nice decor of the room. It elevates your pain little bit specially when nails coming off the carpet bites you, and you are left helpless when you call front desk (saying I'm just an employee, I don't take care of the room).

Other hand hotel offers free breakfast, everyday the very same breakfast with no change. Stays over 10 days, and eating same breakfast in the morning was quite boring. The good things was, you just walk out of the hotel and walk either side of the hotel you can get to wharf in 5 minutes and plenty of food options are available.

Overall not a bad place to stay, but it could do better!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Vinay17in,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is very well located in Fishermann's Warf: all highlights are easy to reach, there's a Wallgreen's around the corner as well as Avis & Hertz car rental. The rooms were ok. The breakfast is fine, nothing more nothing less: eating on a paperboard plate with plastic spoon, fork and knife is not very stylish but I guess that's part of the Express type of culture. The staff is friendly. Wifi is only available in the lobby, not in the rooms. That should be fixed. Beds are fine.
We tried to get a coke from the vending machines on our floor: did not work. Why keep these machines?

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Recently stayed here with a friend for 2 nights - Saturday and Sunday - on my first visit to SF.

Good things:
-The location! Very easy to get around, a nice area to walk in, and convenient to a lot of tourist destinations. Probably the best part of the hotel.
-The room was comfortable and clean, nothing to write home about, but quite nice. We had a view of an air shaft from our windows, but whatever.
-The breakfast was extensive, and good. Pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, bagels, yogurt, cereal, biscuits and gravy . . . really more than you'd expect from a continental breakfast. The only negatives here was the lines were insanely long to get food - it was a long wait - and the only fruit was green bananas.

Negatives:
-Parking fees. It's insane. The amount paid for 2 nights of parking was the same as if we had stayed another night in the hotel. I feel like I should have splurged on a nicer hotel if I was going to spend that much on parking.
-The housekeeping woman came into our room to clean at 8:40am on a Sunday. We were in bed! I'm sorry - before 9 am?!? Especially on a weekend day, though I don't think any day that would be appropriate. Note that we were NOT checking out that day, either. What kind of hotel does that? That's a pretty major annoyance to me.
-One of the elevators was broken, and so it took a good 10 minutes to wait for the only other elevator each time. Totally understandable, things break, but they should have at least very clearly marked where the stairs are and how to get around using them - my friend and I tried to walk down the stairs once, and ended up in a weird back hallway on the first floor with many unmarked doors. A little odd.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear travelingteacher23,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, We truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience the housekeeping and elevator may have caused you. We will address these points and we hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

I look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our first visit to San Francisco, and we were coming to be tourists and see the sights. We were really nervous about finding a good hotel in a good location, and we hit the jackpot with Holiday Inn Express. The location could not have been better...only two blocks from Fisherman's Wharf and along those two blocks are numerous shops, tour/bus operations, bike rentals, restaurants, etc. The staff was so helpful and friendly, the rooms were spotless and comfortable, and the complimentary breakfast bar was amazing. Would definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend it to anyone coming to see the sights in San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.