We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, a little noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #68 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value, a little noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This property is centrally located within the Fisherman's Wharf area - ideal for walks into The Presidio, over the Golden Gate Bridge, down The Embarcadero.
The rooms are a good size and clean.
Breakfast is included and although advertised as "Continental" it's typical American fare including sausage patties and eggs, muffins, biscuits, grits, cereal, yoghurts and the worlds most unreliable pancake making machine.
The only downside is that rooms on the rear of the property can be a little noisy as they face out onto the Trolley Car line (F) and local street cleaning can be a little obtrusive.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the front of the property, facing away from the sea and trolly cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    746
    272
    51
    33
See reviews for
500
607
61
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a business conference in downtown San Francisco and hotel was great. Clean and tidy, rooms were basic but clean, bed was somewhat firm but again was fine. No wifi in the rooms is a little inconvenient for those of us that travel with iPads etc, but otherwise all good. Free breakfast is basic and probably nothing special but for free and for something quick, it was fine. Very close walk to all the restaurants of Fishermans Wharf.
Only challenge I had was getting a taxi around 7.30am.....with a large number of hotels in the area and a Hyatt directly opposite, it was difficult on some days getting a taxi, although not really the hotels fault I guess.
Overall, nice hotel in an expensive city at an affordable rate that is safe, clean and tidy....would certainly stay again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I booked this hotel in March 2013 after it received such good reviews by fellow travellers.
The benefit was the free wifi and hot breakfast included in the rate but the fine print was not advertised...

I did note one of the reviews stated no wifi however this review was not dated so I assumed the hotels website was accurate when they stated free wifi. They did not state that the wifi was only available in the foyer of the hotel!!!

The 'hot breakfast' (available from 6:30am and closing very promptly at 9:30am) consisted of scrambled eggs and a sausage pattie thing. This certainly met the 'hot' criteria but if you love your breakfast then don't get too excited about this place.

We also had a vehicle to park. The only parking available at the hotel is valet parking at $45 + tax per night. The hotel's own website http://www.hiefishermanswharf.com/specials stated half price valet parking during weekday stays. The link to book this 'special' did not work. Nor did any of the other links.
When we came to check in we explained this. They seemed not to believe me and had never heard of this special. I showed the reception on my iPad and the woman went to get the manager. They both sat there analysing my iPad and checking other sites to ensure that I hadn't crafted their page not to open. How insulting!
Then the manager advised that he would have to contact IT as it appeared that the page was not working. (You think?!). Confirmed that he would not be able to honour the half price parking as we had booked through a third party website. Despite us not being able to book through their page!
He also mentioned that the 'special' was priced at $180 on average per night. This was a mark up which covers the price of the parking anyway.

Another annoyance I have experienced was the cleaner vacuuming the hall and banging the room door at 8:30am. My travelling companions thought that he was going to bust into their room just as they came out of the shower. When I went downstairs for breakfast, I passed the cleaner who was vacuuming outside the lifts with no nozzle attached the the vacuume! Just the pipe of the vacuume cleaner.

Laundry facilities were also advertised as being available in the garage. This is actually a block distance walk from the elevators.

Who is running this place? You should be ashamed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We apologize for any confusion. We do offer complimentary wifi in our lobby area, and by the end of 2013 we will have wifi in all guest rooms. Our complimentary breakfast is available from 6:30 to 9:30am daily in our lobby.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn and was pleasantly surprised. It was very clean, beds were so comfortable, the staff were very friendly and accomodating. Location, location, location - Fantastic. We've stayed in Holiday Inn accomodation previously and have loved all of them. We would stay at this one again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

During January this year we brought a school group from Australia to San Francisco for a major school excursion. Having run this trip previously, and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf, there was no question about where we would stay this year. The hotel is fantastic, with very polite and obliging staff where nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is a quick way to get the day started (particularly for school students) and the rooms were perfect for our group. Having the hotel close to all the tourist attractions, eateries, and Fishermans Wharf made our logistics much easier, as many things were in walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and found the location excellent.
The staff were very friendly the room was clean and had everything we needed and the breakfast included in the rate was superb.
I would definately stay here again if we went back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Pluses: great location, great staff, nice common areas, and free breakfast (although the menu is the same from day to day). Minuses: the rooms could use a deep cleaning- carpet, walls, curtains appear dirty with old stains; wi-fi only available in the lobby; tv in room needs to be upgraded to a flat screen. Good stay but with all the hotels available in the area, not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear sally04olive09,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our location and liked our staff. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments regarding cleanliness are very much appreciated. This is one of the ways that let us know where we need to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.