We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average But Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #66 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Norcross, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Average But Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here last year as a stopover on our way to Hawaii. This is your average Holiday Inn Express except for the fact that it is located in the Fisherman Wharf’s area of San Francisco. This is of course a huge plus because you can walk to all the fantastic nearby attractions. Also within walking distance are a couple of grocery stores and several restaurants.

We didn’t try the complimentary breakfast which was included with our room, but it appeared quite popular as evidenced by the large crowd every morning. If you want to stay in this part of San Francisco for a decent price, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Tripre,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the travel community.

We really like to ensure that our guests are comfortable and are able to benefit from a relaxing break with us and so I was delighted to read that you were happy with our services especially with the location. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations, and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

We do hope that your review will be useful for any future travelers and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    773
    281
    53
    33
See reviews for
515
632
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for two nights - actually am in the room now leaving the review. Check-in was on a Sunday morning and they let us in early. They were very busy so I was surprised. The location of the hotel is EXCELLENT. Close to everything. You don't need a car at all.

The hotel is clean and in good repair. Having wifi ONLY in the lobby is unacceptable. So, too, is the amount of noise you hear in the rooms from others in the hall, the doors closing, toilets flushing, etc. Unacceptable. I suppose that they get away with it based on where they are located.

B-fast in the morning is good - lots of options. Exercise room is basic and dated. They have two computers available for use a a spot to check-in for flights. There is not shuttle to the airport. Figure on $16-$17 per person, one-way.

I am not sure that I would come back. I think I would find space at the four other hotels in the area if I could be sure it was quieter and wifi was included in the rooms.

Room Tip: Lots of choices for food and beverage in short walking distance. Trolly drops you off 1 block from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

stayed 2 nights and was very pleased. the hotel is only 2 blocks from the wharf, and a short walk to ghirardelli square. plenty of restaurants, tourist shops, and a walgreens nearby we had a king room that was very spacious, and clean.breakfast was good and had a nice selection.
there is free wifi in the lobby only, free wired internet in the room.
my only issue is that there was no coffee available during the day. other hotels at the same level have coffee 24 hrs. as i am up at 530 am it would be nice to grab a cup of coffee before breakfast is ready, and a cup to relax with when returning from a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Perfect Location!! Great included breakfast!! Staff was very friendly and helpful! Asked for room with a view and was quickly accommodated with no problems!! San Francisco is a great place to visit and this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a multi trip with virgin holidays great location everything is around you it is a quite hotel considering its location friendly helpful staff average rooms basic but if your just getting up an shooting off out exploring its fine an your right in the middle of the action amazing restaurants all around defo stay there again love San Fran :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear MrMangoTree,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River NJ
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Come outside and you are right near the pier. My only disappointment is that our room faced a alcove where all rooms share this space and you don 't see outside. Sad
However, the breakfast was good room was very clean, and amenities, were lovely down to the fact we asked for a longer checkout and a luggage stay in their concierge room which they accommodated for us.
Take the shuttle they recommend it was cash at 17 per person.really worth it in this crazy city.
they do add on a tourism associations district tax to your room rate, we did just find booking it on line with holiday inn.

Room Tip: stay on the top floor they do accomodate a lot of families, with small kids strollers etc, you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We found the Holiday Inn Express in Fisherman's Wharf to be an excellent value and a great place to stay. The room was very clean which is my #1 priority. The room may not be huge, but you shouldn't be spending alot of time in your room during a vacation anyway. It was certainly large enough for my wife and I. The king bed was comfy. All of the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was more than adequate. The location is amazing.

If you're a Priority Club member, you get a free bottle of water at checkin and also late checkout (14:00) on the last day. Nice touch.

Room Tip: 4th floor, Non-Smoking King was very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.