We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and super friendly staff...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #68 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location and super friendly staff...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 6 nights and was very impressed. Front desk staff, especially Ady were super friendly and helpful. We booked the basic room and then we realised that they don't have a fridge so I would recommend upgrading if you need one. Rooms are quite spacious and had free cable Internet. Free breaky is a bit hectic but after some cereal, toast and eggs you are ready to start your day! Great location with only a 3 minute walk to Powell -Mason cable car line. Take this line instead of Hyde as loads less people. Get a Muni passport from the kiosk ($28 for a 7 day pass) near the cable car turn around and you are set. Saves you loads of $$ and its $6 each way otherwise! Safeway is two locks away and loads of restaurants close by. Another plug is for Plugz bike hire right next door to the hotel. OMG, I know it sounds strange to ride an electric bike but believe me you will be laughing as you go up the hills to the Golden Gate Bridge while everyone else is puffing. $10 more per day but its so worth it.
You can pay loads more for other hotels in the area but just remember that your going to be spending most of your day out n about. We got a super deal on Webjet and felt like we got our $ worth.
P.s...Quake Super shuttle does door to door from the airport at $17 a head and ask them for a business card for the return which is $13 a person. No mucking about and not loads of stops.

Room Tip: If you need a fridge then go Junior Suite. Our room faced Beach Rd and you can hear general street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    714
    256
    46
    31
See reviews for
464
569
57
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Me & my husband always try new place to spend our anniversary, 1st time in San Francisco, I booked 3 times and change until I decided to book in Holiday Inn because I trust them & I'm right the place was clean & staff were very helpful, it is near to everything, love to walk & enjoy the Fisherman's wharf, catch the hop on & hop off bus. I always stay in Holiday inn

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

It was my guy and I on a rare trip and he found this room last minute for a great price. We loved the location, walked to Ghirardelli Square, the Wharf, bicycle rentals! Fantastic free breakfast which shocked me because this hotel seems to have a large capacity!

He was terribly unhappy with the comfort of the bed (I give it a mark for uncomfortable but not horrible) and the gunshot-loudness of the toilet flush and bathroom fan (I am always grateful for a bathroom fan, so I'll take it!). My only complaint was the microscopic pillows and television-most name-brand properties have upgraded these items so it was surprising to have a decade-old box TV and tiny, barely there pillows.

The front desk could have been better staffed, we always had to wait , luckily everyone was very nice and knowledgeable . We learned next time we can take a door-to-door shuttle from SFO to the hotel for $15, only a couple dollars more than using the Bart and F-line!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Checked into this property late on a Friday night. Inquired about wi-fi for Priority Club members, and was told that it was available only in the lobby. Haven't stayed anywhere over the past few years (and we travel extensively) that do not provide wi-fi in guestrooms, especially if you're a member of their reward program.

As I went to draw the curtains, I noticed a pair of soiled socks on the floor, that remained there during our three night stay. The first morning, I purposefully left the curtains pulled in order that housekeeping staff may see and remove them, but no such luck.

Positives included the convenient location, knowledgeable front desk staff and bagels, cereal and fresh bananas for breakfast. Cons included the $45 per night parking fee, slow elevators (there are only two), the bed pillows that were either extra firm or so soft that it was as if there wasn't anything under your head, and the interior decor that was either in-your-face as in the common areas and the sleeping room that was drab and in desperate need of an update.

Would I stay there again? Probably not. But for someone looking for a great location at a average hotel, this just may be for you.

Room Tip: An FYI that the majority of rooms face other rooms due to the layout of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear awaywego123,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am happy that you found our location to be convenient for your needs. I am very disappointed to read about your experience with the room accommodations you were allocated and if the Wifi connectivity was also a let down. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Once again, thank you for your stay and I do apologize and regret that this impacted your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express coundn't be in a better location for visitors wanting to tour and sight see in the city. Our room was clean and comfortable and the rest of the hotel was too even though it stayed very busy. The front desk staff was very welcoming and helpful. I would stay at this hotel again without question.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great location, clean, free hot breakfast, wonderful customer service, what else could you ask for? Sure, the view from our hotel room sucked, but we didn't pay money to go to San Fran to sit in a hotel room. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone who is making a trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and 2 kids last weekend. I have to say that the hotel is at a great location, the staff is wonderful and the rooms quite good ( except for the cathode ray tube TV). Overall a great place to stay for a family as their 1 double beds room for a family of 4 was ideal for us. The parking is $45/night but it is the cheapest you can get in that area. Overall a very pleasant stay !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.