We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #68 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Arcola
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel is very close to the attractions of Fishermans Wharf. The rooms are very clean and comfertable. The breakfast is great one of the better hotel breakfasts. The only downside is the parking which you have to do valet (which is costly). Good place for families to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    486
    723
    257
    47
    32
See reviews for
472
577
57
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The husband & I expected room to be basic when we booked. The only reason we booked anyways was the location. Right on Fisherman's wharf, it couldn't get any better. Just walk out & voila you are at liberty to choose souvenirs & crab cakes. A short walk & you land on pier 39 with their roaring(whatever their noise is called) sea-lions. There are many places to buy tickets to get into hop on hop off bus to explore SF city. It's like the activities of the entire city can be known by merely walking past stores in this area. So much about location advantage.
Coming to the room, it's so basic that the TV must have been 30 years old. They had coffee maker which was a huge relief. What I appreciate is their complementary morning breakfast. We were so hungry by the time we woke up that we gorged everything. Even though the spread is limited, it's still worth trying once. In case you are the type who wants to pay for a good breakfast, then step outside the hotel & on your left is a place called - Hollywood Cafe(if I remember the name correctly) they serve breakfast for the entire day & their food seemed delicious.
All in all I would say, the hotel served our purpose & we didn't have to she'll out much money in comparison to other hotels in that area.

Cheers,
Finla & Alok

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Alok P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased you liked the location. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This property is clean and tidy with a good breakfast, comfortable and quiet room with plenty of mod-cons in a central and terrific position to enjoy the city's famous wharf precinct and a hop. step and cable-car to the city centre, Union Square etc. Great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

What a great location! Absolutely close to everything for a family! Tours were at that street corner, short walk to grab the cable car, about 2 blocks from the Wharf! The room was clean and had a nice view of Alcatraz... immediately below us was a street and parking area so not a picturesque view there but just sitting at night watching the lighthouse on Alcatraz was GREAT! The staff were so nice... we had planned to spend the last night up near the airport, but we decided to try to stay one more night.. NO PROBLEM.. they worked it out for us and helped us arrange transportation for early the next morning. The front desk staff was very very nice and extremely helpful...one even told us all we needed to know about riding the cable cars since it was our first visit...she rides them once a year just for the practice!! The continental breakfast was all we needed to start our day..really good, but do go early...tour people grab a few extras for their pockets I believe...here are two very important factors about this hotel: NO Bedbugs and wonderful lemonade in the lobby! We enjoyed our stay very much!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with a view of Alcatraz...if you like to watch a lighthouse in the fog as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel was in a great location. Walking distance to the wharf, which we spent a lot of time. We stayed for 2 nights. The rooms were nice with lots of pillows. It was a little confusing finding the main lobby as the area that our GPS took us USED to be the main lobby, it is NOW around the block. Fortunately, they had phones at the old location so we could call and get directions.

The one thing we did not like, was they do not offer wi-fi in the rooms, only in the lobby. They do have an Ethernet cable in the room, but the tablet we brought does not have an Ethernet connection, so we were unable to use it in the room.

The breakfast's are great. They include, hard boiled eggs, omelets, danish, bagels, pancakes, cereals, sausage or bacon (alternate days), cereals. So, not your typical continental breakfasts.

I really like the Holiday Inn Express chains, I just wish they would put mini fridges and microwaves in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We only were able to stay a couple days but this is one place we will come back to. Great location and close to everythng esp the muni line (transit system). You can get anywhere in the city just from out front if you want or just a short walk to Fisherman's Wharf piers and Ghiradelli Square. From the time we checked in (and they let us in a little early) the staff was very friendly and helpful. Got a room looking toward the wharf and it was clean and nice. Took us a minute with the TV remote because it was an older TV and you had to push the button to turn it on really hard but once we figured that, it was fine. The staff answered our questions any time (even though we probably got a little annoying asking so many) but they helped us with bus routes and places to eat and we thoroughly enjoyed speaking with them. I hate that I didn't get their names because I usually try to so I can give them props but they were all nice and helpful. The continental breakfast was a big plus to help us save money but it was also very good with plenty of choices... eggs, bacon or sausage (changes from day to day), cereal, bagels, toast, muffins, cinnamon rolls, biscuits and gravy and a variety of beverages. It was very nice and clean area to eat with lots of room! We will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Two family members and I stayed here for two nights in November on our way back to New Zealand from Europe and found the hotel to be excellent, the rooms were nice and clean and quiet, the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was fabulous. The location was great, within walking distance to the famous Fisherman's Wharf and Alcatraz.
A great place to stay, would definately come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.