We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #67 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I spent six days 12/6 to 12/11 at the Holiday Inn Express Fishersman's Wharf, San Francisco and it was absolutely GREAT. Great staff, clean room, quiet, wonderful breakfast buffet and outstanding location to visit many great tourist attractions. I would stay there again in a second!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, a room in the back and it was sooo quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    486
    723
    257
    47
    32
See reviews for
472
577
57
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

You could spend more money and probably find a nicer hotel in the same neighborhood, but there is no need. The Holiday Inn Express had everything we needed for our week-long stay in SF. It is perfectly located, within walking distance to Pier 39, Ghiardelli Square, two cable-car rides and all the seafood places. We chose this hotel because it offered a buffet breakfast every day. It's the standard HIE breakfast; not too fancy or anything, but it sure beats shelling out extra bucks in the morning for the same type of food somewhere else. The room was good, but perhaps not the cleanest, especially when we checked in. We had a microwave and a fridge, a big plus. We did not use the microwave since it still had someone else's food splattered on the inside. It was never cleaned while we were there.

The beds were comfortable, we didn't notice any undue noise, and the staff was friendly. We used the exercise room almost every day: 3 treadmills, a bike and a couple other machines. It wasn't too crowded at 5:30 am.

The beds and the room, overall, were comfortable. The free wi-fi is available only in the lobby, which was a little annoying. There are two computers available and they worked well, too.

Overall, there is some room for improvement, but I'd book again.

Room Tip: The mini suite has a fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Camundongo,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience the housekeeping services may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel had a great location in Fisherman's Wharf, we chose this hotel due to its proximity to Pier 3 as we were booked in on a Hornblower Cruise for NYE. On check in, the staff were very friendly and amended our booking quickly as it had been reserved in the name of our friend.

The hotel was a little dated and although our room was spacious with a comfortable king-sized bed, the furniture and decoration did not look like it had been given any attention in a while. We had two lamps in the room that after being turned on when we arrived, would then not switch off when we wanted to go to bed. The view from the room was not great, we were facing in onto a courtyard with a view directly into another room.

Fresh filter coffee was available in the room, but the coffee machine was located in the bathroom which didn't feel very hygienic and although wi-if was available this was only in the lobby, not in the rooms. I was also disturbed during the night with the slamming of doors along our corridor.

Overall I think this was an average hotel and on my next visit to San Francisco I will look to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear SFS83,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I booked a hotel in san francisco for a night 25th dec - 25th dec with name holiday inn. I reached to the hotel and checked in comfortably. Around 11 pm someone knocked at the door and claimed its his room as he was holding the key with same number. In the middle of the night this is quite annoying and too disturbing. I said the person to check with reception and then after an hour when we are slept again then got a call from reception asking when we checked in etc etc. which i think is their responsibility of the hotel staff to know about rather disturbing the guest. In the morning, front desk wasted our another half an hour in trying to figure out all this and realizes that they accommodated us on the behalf of some other person and so will be charging our credit card even though it is paid to expedia already. This is such a big harassment to chose hotel via expedia and face so much of problems and disturbance. Hotel doesnt know themselves that who they are dealing with, not good enough even to verify the itienary of the guest. This is quite bad on the behalf of hotel as well as expedia to recommend such pathetic hotels. This is just the management part. On the facilities side, around 2 am the thermostat starting making noises after every few seconds and trust me any noise is disturbing that time. Hope expedia can help us to fix this bad experience and wastage of money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear VikCeo,

Thank you so much for your recent comments. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights in November. After reading some of the reviews here I was a little concerned about what to expect, but I shouldn't have worried as it was perfectly fine. The location was great just a few minutes walk to the cable car line, shops, restaurants, bike hire and piers. We found the hotel very clean and reasonably quiet. The rooms were a standard double bed hotel size, but still manageable for a family of 4 with bags. The free breakfast was a great start to our day and there was also free wifi in the lobby. We didn't have a car but found it easy to get around using taxi's, buses and a ride down town on the cable car. My family absolutely loved San Francisco and can't wait to return one day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Fisherman's area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked this hotel based on review here. It was really easy to find and honestly so much closer to the wharf the I expected. Think I was expecting vegas size blocks. This hotel is so close to the wharf, has a safeway and 2 walgreens within a block or two.

Things I liked about this hotel. Location was perfect, we could walk quickly to wharf. Check in was quick and friendly, breakfast was busy but a good selection of items including pancake machine. The beds were comfy ( a bit harder then mine at home), shower was always hot with good pressure. Blacked otr shades, fairly quiet street besides the 6am food service delivery honking. computer/printer was easy to use, quick and worked perfectly.

Things that could be improved. We booked this because free Wi-Fi was important to us. What I didn't know was it is NOT in the room and only available in the lobby. Also the tv worked fine but such a small variety of channels was pathetic. After a long day of touring around a few more good channels would be great. If you love ESPN it was 4 of the 20 channels. I knew parking was high but valet was the only option and by the time it was all said and done it was over $50 per night. (the room was 100). Note-there is a Hertz rental office one block down.

Only one incident at the hotel was our next door neighbors decided to have a party and start smoking cigars. The smoke instantly flowed in our room. YUK!! However after calling the front desk they immediately address it and even put a ozone machine to clean out the air quickly. By the time we got up in the am you couldn't smell it at all. The hotels says $250 fine for smoking in the room.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here for four nights towards the end of December. We were thrilled to be able to walk to all that Fisherman's Wharf/Pier 39 have to offer. We did have to cab to the Golden Gate Bridge though. The hotel was definitely not the most luxurious, but it was clean and spacious. I was disappointed that we had no view whatsoever - many of the rooms face inward to an empty "courtyard." So we couldn't see anything except other people's rooms, and therefore had to keep the curtains shut the whole time. The free breakfast, though not gourmet by any means, was enough to last us through lunch without breaking the bank at a nearby cafe every morning. Like someone else mentioned below, the towels in the bathroom are paper thin. We had them replaced every single day because they just wouldn't dry before the next shower! Other than that, we got a great night's sleep every night with no noise to complain about.

Overall, for a grad student on multiple-night stay with a limited budget, this place was a great find. It also seemed to be popular for families with children. But if I had more money, I'd stay at a higher end place!

Room Tip: Request exterior-facing rooms if you want something to look at. Request interior-facing rooms if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.