We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #71 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights in November. After reading some of the reviews here I was a little concerned about what to expect, but I shouldn't have worried as it was perfectly fine. The location was great just a few minutes walk to the cable car line, shops, restaurants, bike hire and piers. We found the hotel very clean and reasonably quiet. The rooms were a standard double bed hotel size, but still manageable for a family of 4 with bags. The free breakfast was a great start to our day and there was also free wifi in the lobby. We didn't have a car but found it easy to get around using taxi's, buses and a ride down town on the cable car. My family absolutely loved San Francisco and can't wait to return one day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Fisherman's area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    732
    269
    50
    33
See reviews for
494
594
60
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked this hotel based on review here. It was really easy to find and honestly so much closer to the wharf the I expected. Think I was expecting vegas size blocks. This hotel is so close to the wharf, has a safeway and 2 walgreens within a block or two.

Things I liked about this hotel. Location was perfect, we could walk quickly to wharf. Check in was quick and friendly, breakfast was busy but a good selection of items including pancake machine. The beds were comfy ( a bit harder then mine at home), shower was always hot with good pressure. Blacked otr shades, fairly quiet street besides the 6am food service delivery honking. computer/printer was easy to use, quick and worked perfectly.

Things that could be improved. We booked this because free Wi-Fi was important to us. What I didn't know was it is NOT in the room and only available in the lobby. Also the tv worked fine but such a small variety of channels was pathetic. After a long day of touring around a few more good channels would be great. If you love ESPN it was 4 of the 20 channels. I knew parking was high but valet was the only option and by the time it was all said and done it was over $50 per night. (the room was 100). Note-there is a Hertz rental office one block down.

Only one incident at the hotel was our next door neighbors decided to have a party and start smoking cigars. The smoke instantly flowed in our room. YUK!! However after calling the front desk they immediately address it and even put a ozone machine to clean out the air quickly. By the time we got up in the am you couldn't smell it at all. The hotels says $250 fine for smoking in the room.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here for four nights towards the end of December. We were thrilled to be able to walk to all that Fisherman's Wharf/Pier 39 have to offer. We did have to cab to the Golden Gate Bridge though. The hotel was definitely not the most luxurious, but it was clean and spacious. I was disappointed that we had no view whatsoever - many of the rooms face inward to an empty "courtyard." So we couldn't see anything except other people's rooms, and therefore had to keep the curtains shut the whole time. The free breakfast, though not gourmet by any means, was enough to last us through lunch without breaking the bank at a nearby cafe every morning. Like someone else mentioned below, the towels in the bathroom are paper thin. We had them replaced every single day because they just wouldn't dry before the next shower! Other than that, we got a great night's sleep every night with no noise to complain about.

Overall, for a grad student on multiple-night stay with a limited budget, this place was a great find. It also seemed to be popular for families with children. But if I had more money, I'd stay at a higher end place!

Room Tip: Request exterior-facing rooms if you want something to look at. Request interior-facing rooms if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located at Fisherman's Wharf. The staff was cordial and efficient. The room was clean with extra pillows on each bed. The breakfast was just ok. There was a lot of variety, but the biscuits and the gravy were cold to luke warm. All in all, we would definitely stay there again. The breakfast/lunch place next door (Hollywood Cafe) serves an excellent lunch and breakfast for a reasonable price. There is a Safeway store a couple of blocks away if you want to pick up some snacks for the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Was there last week.

Chech in was fast + little gift as priority club member,

Great location for wharfs, marina, presidio, fine art museum and Russian Hill visiting - little bit far from Golden Gate park,Mission & Castro.
But the bus & street car (Mason) are just the next corner and there is a lot of bike rental all around.

I had a mini-suite with a king size bed, a sofa, a wet bar, micro-wave and mini fridge.
And yes it's a little dated - old style big 27" tv, very old carpet and old "melamine" counter.

My suite was on the first floor, far from the elevator with an interior view - the window faced other rooms in a kind of courtyard. No view to the sky !
Consequence: I had to close the curtains for my entire stay. My room was sooooo dark !!!! ” But on the other side, it was really quiet.

The wifi doesn't work in the room but the free internet works fine if you connect your laptop using the internet cable that is provided in the room.

The free breakfast was ok. No problem finding a place for me to sit even at different times.

There is a Trader's Joe and a World market on Jones 2 corners (Mason) from the hotel.
Fresh food, prepared meals and lot of wine.

Room Tip: If you don't want feeling depressed - ask for an external view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Staff was very helpful from check-in to check-out. They merged two reservations into one for a seamless stay. Awesome area. Can walk to nearly everything. Short walk to street cars or cable cars for everywhere else. Good dining nearby. Recommend a game at ATT Park during baseball stadium. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed as a family of four with two small children earlier this month. The location was perfect as was the service. Yes the rooms are a little dated but most importantly they were clean. No wifi in room was a huge downer for us as in the evenings when kids are asleep my husband and I generally get on the Internet and correspond back home and or plan and confirm the rest of the holiday. Unfortunately we were not able to do that this particular stay !! Breakfast was ok ... Not ideal for us traditional aussies but did put something in our tummies to get the day started. Would stay again :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.