We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #67 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We repeatedly come back to this hotel to stay - Why? The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean and don't show their age in the 10+ years we have been coming here. You can't beat the location - easy to transportation and great restaurants including the Hollywood Cafe next door for hearty breakfast. Internet service in the room via Ethernet is fast, reliable and free which is good enough for me - I'm here on vacation; who want's to check work email so often anyway! Oh and the bonus - a great place around the corner for "Reflexology" after a long few days of walking!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    764
    279
    52
    33
See reviews for
506
630
65
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great location. Two blocks from the piers. Friendly staff, very helpful with information. Free breakfast buffet, good choices, some variety on different days.. clean rooms. need free WIFI in rooms. wifi available in the lobby only. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: ask for outside room. inside courtyard not much of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a great hotel if you're staying in the City. The location is great with easy public transportation nearby. The rooms are large and clean, the beds comfortable, in-room WiFi free, and a great free breakfast! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this to anyone and will stay there again.

Room Tip: No need to rent a car if you're staying here - public transportation is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and stayed here primarily because of the reviews. That being said, the one drawback was that we were located in a room without a view, unless you wanted to see the opposite building about 15 feet away. If you stay here, make sure they put you up in a room with a view of anything but what we had. The room was clean & comfortable as were the beds. The fan in the bathroom was a waste - it made so much noise and didn't even keep the steam out. And how about a flat panel TV? Breakfast (included) ended a bit too early for my taste. Housekeeping staff was a pleasure - always very friendly. I would stay here again but would certainly look elsewhere first.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express brand offers similar experience no matter what city or country you visit. It makes the stay stress-free :) Bed and pillows very comfortable, shower, bathroom amenities sufficient. The front desk staff was very helpful, accomodating and friendly. The free breakfast bar
offers good quantity, variety and reasonable quality food choices. The only complaint was the view from the room. The curtains must be closed at all times unless you like staring at another rooms only a few feet from your window! No view at all and no privacy if curtains open. I was on the Priority Club floor 4th across from elevators.
Not sure if the specific hotel or Holiday Inn corporate is responsible for answering email enquiries but I enquired twice and never received a response. The offer from the website was not used or mentioned so probably outdated or?? Poor customer service as I had to book alternate plans on my own despite the website offer of discounts.
For the most part highly recommend the convenient location only blocks away from Fisherman's Wharf and many stores and amenities. You are also able to use the Holiday Inn facilities only 1 block away.

Room Tip: If you want a view other than a wall ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

For the price it was ideally located, comfortable and convenient. Well stocked breakfast bar with good hours for business or pleasure needs. Beds & pillows comfortable. Front desk staff very helpful & friendly.
The room view was horrible as you look into other rooms only a few feet away so keeping curtains closed necessary. A fridge in-room would have been really nice (for snacks, beer etc).
Noise level was very good and contributed to good sleeps.
Walked everywhere as it was centrally located but far enough away from tourist areas to make it quiet and relaxing. Able to use Holiday Inn facilities as well (1 block away).

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for it. If you want quiet no view room ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Louis, MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights. The location is the best part of this hotel. The rooms are nothing fancy, but we just used it as a place to sleep at night, or to rest our feet for an hour or two during the day. All of the major sites are close by. We rented a car, and had to pay for parking, which is quite expensive. That said, if you're worried about how much things cost, you either didn't do much research, or you shouldn't be going to San Francisco in the first place. We used the rental car to drive to Napa and to Stanford.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection, high speed Internet access and Sony PlayStations. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.