We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice H.I. Express in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #57 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice H.I. Express in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The H.I. Express at the Fisherman's Wharf is a great location to launch a San Francisco vacation. My wife and I spent five nights at the hotel, enjoying our visit to San Francisco.

We arrive at the hotel around 1pm, a little early, but were eagerly greeted and allowed to check in early. I booked at standard king room, which is what we were given. I had read that most of the rooms do not have a view, this was true. Most of the rooms look into courtyards, with views of the other room windows. If a view is important to you, pay the extra for a view room. The room was a quaint room, with king size bed, desk, sitting chair and a small bathroom. Nothing large, but for a big city, and two travelers, they are adequate. The room was clean, everything functional, and supported by the standard H.I. Express accessories. Daily housekeeping was good, and responded to requests for extra tissue as I had a cold.

Breakfast is the usual fare that H.I. Express serve. Nothing terrible about it, but nothing to stand out. The hotel has a tour desk, which was helpful for arranging tours and transfer back to the airport. There is a microwave in the lobby, as well as a baggage scale. It would be good if the hotel would add refrigerators and microwaves to all rooms.

Overall, I would stay again. I was treated well at the hotel by any staff, the hotel is clean, and is consistent with Holiday Inn Express that I have stayed throughout the country.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view, if a view is important to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

typical holiday inn- location is walking distance to fisherman wharf and ferry to alcatraz. staff was very helpful room was ok good selection of pillows bed was comfortable. price point a little high probably because of location. cost of breakfast at hotel was expensive.

Room Tip: become a rewards member for better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antiquemilitary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear antiquemilitary,

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share such lovely comments about your Holiday Inn experience. We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here beginning of January 2016 for 9 days. I called beforehand as we were using Holiday Inn points and my son is "Spire" status so manager said sure he would upgrade us. It was a very nice room and our upgrade got us a microwave, refrigerator, counter and sink, and couch. Comfortable beds, modern bathroom. Hotel is super nice and location is perfect - couple blocks to Fisherman's Wharf. Gym is small - couple of machines. Breakfast buffet comes in handy but closes exactly at 9:30. Weekends gets very crowded - hard to find a seat, midweek no problem. 2 pancake machines, ready made eggs or omlettes, sausage, bagels, juice, cereals, muffins, yogurt, apples,bananas. After no bananas for 2 days, I told the front desk and thereafter every morning there were bananas. Lobby is very nice - a few TV's and couches, tables and chairs (for breakfast buffet). There are about 3 computers to use and printers. There is a Concierge who seemed to be on duty very often although when I asked for a map of Chinatown he said he didn't have one. Surprised he didn't offer to find one on-line and print it for me - but then again, I discovered Chinatown is only a few streets so no map needed which he could have told me. Staff very helpful and luggage is stored in a secure room if you need it to be which we did upon check out. One thing we found odd as we used Uber and Lyft everyday is quite a few times when we put in hotel address, drivers would tell us it would come up as Beech Street (behind hotel) around the corner so driver would have to call and ask where we were. Sometimes we just put in Hyatt address which is across the street to make it easier. Sheraton is down the block along and another Holiday Inn around the block (not Express so no breakfast there). Right next door is a cafe and around the block is Jack in the Box, In and out burger,7-11, and other restaurants. The clam chowder gotten at the wharf at one of the outside places was very disappointed. Codmother Fish & chips around the block @ 496 Beach St - good for fish & chips - outside tables only. Fisherman's Wharf fun place to stay - typical tourist stuff - Ripley's much more interesting than we thought and Alcatraz audio tour a must. Cost Plus World Market is a block away - quite interesting store if you have time, it is next to Ross' Clothing store. We stay alot at different Holiday Inns and this one was one of the best. Even if were paying and not using points, it is a great value.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhonaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear RhonaP,

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share such lovely comments about your Holiday Inn experience. We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Check in and front desk, namely Cleofe, went above and beyond ... Great ambassadress for hotel ... Room was amazing with view of sea, yachts, mountains etc .. Inclusive breakfast with great hot and cold and healthy choices ... Great location, easy walking, great transportation and block from tours. Great value for money, trumped by the best customer service . Really can't do much better.

Room Tip: Front desk will guide you very efficiently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Anna H,

Hello- Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 star review. Appreciate the kind comments. Glad your Holiday Inn experience was satisfying and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed at many HIE locations. This location was well priced and clean. The breakfast was plentiful and seemed to have something for everyone. (the coffee was really good which is never the case for "free breakfast" coffee). The location is extremely convenient for Fisherman's Wharf, public transportation, little Italy, Chinatown, etc. The downside is people sleeping on sidewalks, urine smell in the morning... but that's not the hotel's issue. It is unfortunately common around SF. There is a Walgreens very close as well as plenty of souvenir shops and restaurants. This HIE does not have the small fridge in the room that I am used to. But the bed, pillows, shower, TV...all very good!

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FaithFromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear FaithFromFlorida,

Hello- Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 star review. Appreciate the kind comments. Glad your Holiday Inn experience was satisfying and we hope to welcome you back soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everithing run perfectly in this hotel. The staff was very friendly all along. The rooms are Ok, not very large but enough for a city trip. The location is PERFECT close enough to all the best spots and not close enough for you to get annoyed by the noise.
Breakfast is wonderful with lots of options and a big room so you don´t have to wait a second.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PedTrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear PedTrigo,

Hello- Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 star review. Appreciate the kind comments. Glad your Holiday Inn experience was satisfying and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at 5:00 am!!! (family of four). Check-inn was at 2:00pm. The desk person Mr. Surinder was very polite and nice, we asked for a room upgrade and were offered to check the room first to see if it was to our liking. It was, so we took it, then Mr. Surinder took pity on the kids, talked his manager into it, and gave us the room at 6:00am so we could crash after a long flight. A very thoughtful act on his part for which we are grateful.
The rooms are what you would expect for your money, the breakfast is included and is more than adequate. The place is very conveniently located, walking distance to the piers, the cable carts, bicycle rentals and a good beer place across the street.
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Oscar S,

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share such lovely comments about your Holiday Inn experience. We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#19 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,429 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman'...
#52 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#33 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#110 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 3,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing