We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most terrible stay in US” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel North Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel North Beach to your Saves list
Hotel North Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   935 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly St. Paul Hotel) (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Nanning, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the most terrible stay in US”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

u can walk down the stree to the Bart station or Pier 39 within 15mins, so honestly,it's good location, but that's all. the room's very small that u even can't open your case on the space. and you have to pay $30 cash as the key deposit.overprice ,in one word.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    40
    59
    28
    31
See reviews for
2
57
57
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auroville, india
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I really enjoyed the classic quaintness of the hotel, the reception area is cozy and the internet access is great. The receptionists were at all times friendly and extremely efficient and helpful. I arrived from a very long journey from India at an odd time, the room was not available before the afternoon. I could freshen up and change and leave my luggage safely while I ventured out. It was actually the best thing I could do to combat jet lag.

There is no restaurant but the nearby cafe "happy Donut" and restaurants and bars - the legendary Vésuvio", "City lights bookstore" make up for it. The rooms are indeed small and the bathrooms were in the corridor but you are not in san Francisco to stay in your room all day. And there are quite many restrooms and showers very reasonably clean on each floor!

Location is great within walking distance of several areas of interest like China Town or Little Italy, Market place and within a few steps of a bus going to Fisherman's wharf.The shuttle bus back and to the airport is 17 $ one way and very convenient.

Though there is a policy that there should be no noise after a certain hour, the neighbor's tv was one night way too loud and inconsiderate. Perhaps a round should be made around the corridors after 10pm to make sure this does not happen too often.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel North Beach is close to all the sights and there is a great little cafe for breakfast next door. The rooms are very small but they have everything you need.Its shared bathrooms but there were several options just down the hall. I didn't ever have to wait and they were always clean. One thing to bear in mind was that the room was very hot and stuffy and there was no fan or air con. Wifi was available although connection was much better downstairs in the foyer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Hotel north beach is cheap and close to transport. The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are basic but come with a wardrobe sink desk bed draw and tv . Basic is all you need I'd your trying to be on a cheap hotel. It's shared bathrooms which is fine there are many to use. They are clean which is good. The hotel is a bit strange I think some people live there full time and some other rooms are used for hotel short rents . One thing is it is on the verge of china town and party town. Lots of loud people, drunks and strange people but it okay for a short stay on a heap budget. There is a few really nice Italian retardants up the road an transport is really close.
Good luck !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently did a road trip around California. We were on a budget and opted for cheap and cheerful accommodation; somewhere to put our heads down for a night or 2. We appreciate that you get what you pay for and so would have been happy as long as it was clean and functional.

The North Beach Hotel was absolutely fine. The hotel staff were friendly enough and the room was clean albeit tiny. It was a double room with a shared bathroom. The room was just about big enough for the 2 of us and our bags but there wasn't much room left for manoeuvre. But then we literally needed somewhere to sleep for night so it was absolutely fine.

There was a weird smell but that would be my only other complaint.

The location was fantastic, we walked to all the attractions and there are some fantastic restaurants in the area.

Given that it was heaps cheaper than any other accommodation we could find in San Fran we were really happy with the North Beach. Great location, no frills but a clean and functional room.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to sleep, who doesn't mind sharing a bathroom and isn't looking for frills and luxuries. We would definitely consider staying here again for a short visit to San Fran.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I chose that hotel because every thing else was very expensive and I came for a long trip . The room was Ok, the towels and sheets weren't changed even once in a 3 nights stay. The shared bath was not cleaned very frequently. If you are on a low budjet you might pick this hotel because of its great location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms with clean shared bathrooms and showers. I only paid $60 a night through Trivago.

With regards to comments about rude service, this 'Patrice' was not to be seen and all staff were warm and professional. Even when I was let in at 4am not a grumble.

Downside only is the fact that bathrooms are shared but at $60 it's fine.

Great place to stay, great price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel North Beach

Address: 935 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly St. Paul Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel North Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel North Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.