We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually a very good place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel North Beach

Save Saved
You added Hotel North Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel North Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   935 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly St. Paul Hotel) (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
2 reviews
“Actually a very good place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms with clean shared bathrooms and showers. I only paid $60 a night through Trivago.

With regards to comments about rude service, this 'Patrice' was not to be seen and all staff were warm and professional. Even when I was let in at 4am not a grumble.

Downside only is the fact that bathrooms are shared but at $60 it's fine.

Great place to stay, great price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    36
    44
    15
    21
See reviews for
1
43
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bordeaux
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is definitely overrated. I guess the reason is the amazing experience of the city itself which makes anyone extremely happy such that they forget how horrible and how overpriced this hotel is.

Paid 69$+tax for my room (my cell, in analogy to Alcatraz prison)
- no private bathroom
- pay more than what you've planned as tax is not included in your booking receipt
- overpriced
- very small room
+ they say it's good to be next to the China town, which in my opinion is the lamest attraction of this amazing city

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Oradea, Romania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed there twice, each time for a period of 3 months. The location is great given that you could say North Beach is almost in the heart of SF. Price wise the hotel is a good deal, if you are only looking for a place to sleep at night and spend most of your time traveling around. A ten minutes walk will get you downtown or a 20 minutes walk will get you to Fisherman's Wharf. Columbus street with it's great restaurants is around the corner, China Town is right there and a bus station is right outside the hotel. If you are short on cash but still want to spend some time in the wonderful city of San Francisco this is an ok place to stay at. I would say it's mostly suitable for young people but don't stay there if you are traveling with kids :)

Room Tip: Rooms with windows facing the street are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The staff is not friendly and the security guy might decide on day, at random, to control you even if you have been staying in the hotel for a few days already (and that you have already met him a few times and said hello to him everyday without him answering you. Maybe it's because the day before 5 cops came to check on something/someone/ prostitute? at the hotel.)
Appart from that, the location is great, right next to Chinatown and within walking distance to the center.
The room is huge if you are a Oompa-Loompa. From an average-sized human being's point of view, it would be considered as quite small. However, we enjoyed the fridge and the microwave in the room. There are some washing machines and iron boards for a few dollars.
The shared bathrooms are clean.

Room Tip: Don't pick rooms looking on the street even if in the others you have a direct view on your neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I used to live in North Beach, SF in the mid 2000's. The city is made up of many residential hotels or SRO's (Single Room Occupancy) hotels because of the insanely high price of rent for a "normal apartment".
I stayed at this hotel for several weeks after being driven out of another nearby SRO due to massive bed bug infestation. At this time the "Hotel North Beach" was called "Saint Paul Hotel" and was just another resident hotel but one of those that were kept up better and a haven for many that had been driven out of the various nearby Residential Hotels because the bedbug problem was massive and not being addressed. The Saint Paul Hotel cost less then $200 a week to stay at even with the hotel tax added. A room could be had for one night for $29.

A company called Mosserco owns this building along with some others - a mix of tourist hotels, resident hotels and regular apartment buildings. Apparently along with the name change Mosserco has decided to hike the price of this property and sell it as a tourist hotel. Now they are asking upwards of 60-70 dollars a night for rooms that used to be $29 only a few years back?

I finally moved out of SF because living in this city comfortable requires either a minimum of a 6 figure income or the ability to live with half a dozen roommates. No choice was acceptable when I was getting into my mid-40's age wise.

San Francisco is just getting far too uppity to gain much respectability from me anymore and to anyone who considers staying here this used to be someone's HOME. Now why do you think there are so many HOMELESS in San Francisco. I could be one of them but I just left for a cheaper location and my dignity intact.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you want to be able to walk to most tourist destinations in downtown San Francisco, but don't want to spend a lot of money on a hotel, this is a good place to stay. If you plan on spending a lot of time in your room, this is not a good place to stay.

The rooms are small, and there are shared bathrooms on each floor. The bathrooms are really clean--until after midnight, when drunk people use them and sometimes miss the toilet. Our room was on the corner of Columbus and Kearney, and it was really loud at night, especially because it was so hot in our room that we had to open the window (the heat is controlled by the front desk). If I stayed here again, I would ask for a room on a back alley.

Because some transient people live here for weeks at a time, there are a lot of rules (visitors have to sign in, for example) and you have to leave a $30 cash deposit at the front desk (they return this when you check out if there's nothing wrong with the room). This was kind of a hassle since we were not expecting it.

Overall, Hotel North Beach was worth it for the location and price, but it definitely isn't the most comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September 2011. We were on a road trip from San Diego to San Francisco and so this was our final destination before heading back to the UK. We turned up on the spot as we struggled to find anywhere to stay in the city (there was a huge IT convention going on and every hotel we tried was fully booked).

The room was clean and the bed comfortable, although being in such a busy location meant that traffic noise was heard most of the time and throughout the night.

There was no ensuite but the shower and bathroom we shared with other guests was clean. The shower was very powerful which was great to wake me up!

Great location, right in the middle of Chinatown so plenty of great restaurants to choose from!
If you need somewhere cheap but clean to stay I would suggest this place, however probably only for one or two nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel North Beach

Address: 935 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly St. Paul Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel North Beach 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel North Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.