We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican - Some of the Best We've Had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Pisto's

Don Pisto's
510 Union Street, San Francisco, CA CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)
+1 415 395 0939
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
ontario, canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican - Some of the Best We've Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Found the restaurant while browsing Yelp for some good Mexican restaurants in San Francisco. Decided on Don Pisto's as the reviews were good, prices were right and the atmosphere was perfect for a casual dinner out.

Took the transit to Union St. Make sure you know the address if you plan on going as their is no signage, which clearly isn't needed since the place was packed.

The restaurant itself is loud and small. Full of people in my age group - mid 20's to 30's. We were told the wait would be about an hour, and after travelling across town and really wanting a Mexican fix we said no problem. We were welcome to stay at the bar; had a Margarita and a Dos Equis. Margarita was excellent - we had at least 2 more each.

Less than 20 minutes later we were seated. I have a feeling they try to weed people out by saying you won't be seated for a long time.

We shared the guacamole which also came with green salsa. Both were great. Chips were homemade and not too salty.

Next we shared the Tortilla soup (sold as 2 bowls); lots of chicken and flavour in the dish. You could tell it was homemade too.

Each of us finished with a different taco. Small, and served with piping hot mini corn tortillas I had the Carne Asada (very spicy) and my wife had the Barbacoa. Hers were not was spicy as mine, but both had a different sauce. Sharing and trading was encouraged!

In the end we had a great meal, ate just enough food not to feel like we rolled out of the place. Our server was pleasant, food came up fast without feeling rushed between courses. If in SF again we would definitely return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    15
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not as good as the reviews would suggest.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I went here because it is literally feet from where I was staying. The room is small, with extra seating below. The outside is hardly marked at all, but if you're going here you'll know where it is.

Frankly, I was not impressed with the food. The taco shell was tough and chewy. The meat was too spicy for my taste, and the guac was also too spicy. The tacos are tiny and expensive. Maybe I just am not cut out for this type of place, but I won't be going back here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great & Authentic Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Ate here while in San Fran, based upon the reviews we saw here on Tripadvisor. We were staying in Fisherman's Wharf, and it was a nice walk from our hotel. We arrived at 8:00pm and had to wait an hour to get in on a Sunday night, so were not sure it was going to be worth the wait, but it was! The host was fun, and kept things entertaining, offering up drinks while we waited. Inside the restaurant is quaint and small, with a loud and fun atmosphere. We had the guacamole which was fresh and delicious, as well as the salsa which had a nice kick! For our entree's we orderd the Al Pastor tacos which were simple yet SO flavorful as well as the carnitas tacos which were also good with a nice mole sauce. We also added a side of rice and beans which were a nice side to our meal. Overall the prices are great, and food SO delicious! A definite "Must eat" if you are in the area. We will definitely be back when we are in town again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fabulous Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went while on vacation in SF. The atmosphere is perfect, feels local and welcoming. Small bar, friendly people, relaxed atmosphere and the most fabulous tacos! We tried four different kinds and spicy guacamole - loved all of it. The chips and salsa are outstanding. Craving another meal from there right now!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Besos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is a great spot. The menu is small and you can tell that they concentrate on producing great, fresh food vs. offering everything and only making it ok. You will not be disappointed. Great staff and great food - Margarita's were tasty as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pisto's also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Don Pisto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Pisto's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.