We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Behind The Scenes Tour With Locals!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discover Walks - San Francisco Walking Tours

Discover Walks - San Francisco Walking Tours
2454 Chestnut Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 ‎
(415) 494 9255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 394 Activities in San Francisco
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: How will you visit San Francisco: with an expat guide or with true NATIVES? On paid tours, or on FREE, pay-what-you-want, services?
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“A Behind The Scenes Tour With Locals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I recently took a trip with a few friends to San Francisco and decided to look up any free tour options available for college students. After finding DiscoverWalks and meeting our guide Danny at the start of the Fisherman's Wharf Tour, it was nice to be guided around by someone who not only was from the area, but also had so much insight into the area. We were shown alleyways, bars, restaurants, and historic landmarks that were off the main path, which made for a highly enjoyable time! Anyone can get lost in the hype of Pier 39, but DiscoverWalks really helped us see parts of the Wharf we would have otherwise missed! Even with us each tipping 10-15 dollars, it was a steal in terms of the knowledge and insight we gained! Thanks DiscoverWalks! I will definitely be taking the North Beach Tour and hopefully the Chinatown Tour (if it will be ready in time?) the next time I'm in the Bay Area!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    5
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Rochelle, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Greatest part of the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

My wife and I went to California for the first time. Plenty of things to see, most of the time on our own. We found about Discover Walks online, and our guides made our trip. We walked for about 2 hours each time, but Dan (right?) and James made it seems like their was no effort, just pleasure.
Now we know San Francisco, and I can say, we have 2 friends in town. Bravo!
PS: don't forget to tip the guides, they deserverd it. We tipped $30 per tour.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“So glad we did this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We did the North Beach tour. Our guide, Danny, was great. He showed us the well known attractions as well as some places/sites that most tourist would never hear about. I’m so glad we did this on our first day as Danny not only gave us a great tour of North Beach, but also had some great suggestions for what to do and where to eat/drink for the rest of the trip. The places he suggested were true local joints, not your run of the mill tourist traps that other tours often guide you towards. All around a great experience that helped shape the rest of our vacation.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect introduction to the neighborhoods of San Francisco!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We live close to San Francisco but decided to stay up there for the weekend and play tourist. These tours are so fun! We took the North Beach tour our first day in town which was great because not only did we learn about all the historical places and events in North Beach but we also were given a ton of recommendations of restaurants to try as well as things we need to make sure we do during our trip. We had been to the area many times before but obviously had missed some very interesting side streets and most of the stories we heard were new to us.

We loved the personal attention we got during our tour and felt like we were walking around with a friend. We ended up taking the Fisherman's Wharf tour the following day. Thanks for making our weekend so enjoyable!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
1 review
“See the city the right way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

What a great tour this group puts on!! I went with some friends on the Fisherman's Wharf tour and we had such a fun time. The tours are informative but not to the point that they are boring, the stories are told in a fun way and kept our interest the whole time. I had been to the Wharf area many times before but there were so many things that I never knew about the area. It's definitely a tour that is fun for someone's first trip to the city or their 100th. I was only in the city for the day but we plan on taking the North Beach tour soon to learn the secrets in that neighborhood.

Thanks for the good times Discover Walks
-Derrick

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Walks - San Francisco Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Walks - San Francisco Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discover Walks - San Francisco Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.