We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“different perspective” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angel Island State Park

Angel Island State Park
Pier 41, San Francisco, CA 94109
415 435 1915
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$179*
and up
San Francisco Golden Gate Seaplane Tour
Ranked #15 of 317 Attractions in San Francisco
Type: Historic Sites, Islands, Military Bases/ Facilities, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, State Parks, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Biking, Hiking, Picnicking, Camping, Group tours/walking tour, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The largest island in San Francisco Bay features magnificent views of Marin County and San Francisco, while offering a wide variety of recreation for outdoor enthusiasts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“different perspective”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Took a ferry out to Angel Island State Park which was a nice way to enjoy my first day San Francisco,
Advice - but the ferry ticket (operated by Blue and Gold Ferries) in the Ferry Terminal. We looked around and couldn't find where to buy the tickets until we asked someone. Buy a sandwich or something to eat while on the island and when you get to the peak of Angel Island the view is very rewarding and you can sit and eat lunch there on one of a few tables around.
Walks are relatively easy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    97
    24
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Segway tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We took the ferry over from Tiburon. It was a weekday, so it wasn't too crazy. The fog was in full swing, but then, that is the bay area. We had Groupon coupons for the Segway tour and saved about half the price. Two guys, who were both sweethearts, but whose names I forgot, trained 6 of us for about 15 minutes and off we went. It was slightly nerve wracking at first but once you master the first hill, it gets easier and easier. It was a BLAST! Lots of info and great views, in spite of the fog. It is a tour so you are not allowed to go off alone. It is HIGHLY recommended that you dress in layers. I think the food on the island is lousy, and wayyyy too expensive, so either bring some food, or wait till you get back to Tiburon or SF to eat. Angel Island is a jewel, and whether you Segaway, bike or walk it will be a delightful adventure.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Take a picnic and tour Angel Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We took the ferry from Tiburon to Angel Island. Just a 20 minute trip. Once we were on the island we signed up for the tram tour. Our guide, Robert, was wonderful on the hour trip around the island. We then ate our picnic lunch on the lawn over looking the port. We brought our lunch with us but food is available on the island. After lunch we hiked to the immigration center before returning to the port to catch the ferry back to Tiburon. We had beautiful fall weather and had a wonderful time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“How us this only 23rd best thing to do?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

It should be higher. A little gem in the bay. We'd liked to have spent longer on the island but it was part of a tour. You can take picnics and meat to BBQ so get over there with some friends and relax. Amazing views from various vantage points and filled with history.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
California, U.S.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

You get some history while you are hiking! Bring your bikes if you got one. Also would be good your bring your own food. This island only has one Cafe, you can find place to enjoy your own lunch.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel Island State Park also viewed

 

Been to Angel Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angel Island State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.