We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muir Woods/Sausalito Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gray Line of San Francisco - Super Sightseeing

Gray Line of San Francisco - Super Sightseeing
2627 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman's Wharf)
415-353-5310
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #139 of 298 activities in San Francisco
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Our company offers tours in the Northern California region, including Wine tours in Napa Valley and day trips to Yosemite National Park. We offer Hop on Hop off Buses around the city and Guided tours around the city. We are now offering tours to Monterrey Bay and Muir Woods National Monument.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Muir Woods/Sausalito Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went on the half day Muir woods/Sausalito tour, we booked through Viator online. We went in May, the weather was nice & cool in the 60's. We took the morning tour so we were picked up at our hotel and dropped off at our hotel after the tour. After you are picked up, they take you to their office near Fishermans Wharf area to check in for your tour, then you are directed to the bus you will depart on. Our driver was James, he provided a humorous as well as informative history of the area. The walk through Muir Woods was peaceful & scenic, you walk up to bridge 4 & turn around there. Then we drove down to Sausalito a very pretty coastal town, we had time for a quick lunch & stroll. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    65
    21
    39
    57
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great way to get around without having to drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I used this company for 2 different tours:

1. The hop-on/hop-off bus tour - Excellent! It was a great way to see all the major sights of the city without having to navigate the roads myself. I spent an entire day hoping on and off and managed to never get the same tour guide twice. I had 5 different people and 4 of them were fabulous, only 1 guy was bland. Luka was the best! He had great stories, he sang to us and he was a riot. Catch his bus if you can! But the tour hits all the major points you'd want to see, and the majority of the guides give you a great local perspective and some history about the city and the attractions. Highly recommend!

2. The Muir Woods/Sausalito tour - All together this was a 3 hour adventure. It was great, took us everywhere we needed to go and it was reasonably priced. Our driver was Troy, who not only had interesting stories but a good sense of humor. Muir Woods was a really cool place to see in person, and Sausalito is filled to the brim with amazing little shops to peruse. And not to mention, the view across the bay is just about perfect. Highly recommend!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista Ca
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good way to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

so nice not to have to do the driving. Our guide kept us informed while driving up a tricky mountian road. we did a tour with 3 stops so time was somewhat lmited at each spot - but all was as advertised with free time and smooth transitions. Our guide took us on 2 exptra photo stops that were worth the whole trip. Booking was easy. buses were clean.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great way to see the sites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Because we were only in San Francisco for a few days, we decided to do two tours to get to see as much as we could. I don't regret it at all!!
The first tour was the morning city tour. We got to see all of the neighborhoods, heard interested facts and got great photo ops. Our bus driver was great! The bus we were on sat low. So he called the depot and ordered a new bus for us. We didn't have to wait or waste time because he ordered the bus to come while we were at one of our 20 minute stops! It didn't delay our trip one minute.
I highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants the stories of the city. We even got tips on best places to eat and other "must dos" in the city.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One Great, One Good and One Michigan 500?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I went on San Francisco tours which included hotel transportation to/from the Super Sightseeing office near the Fisherman's Wharf. Kenneth picked us up on the day of our second tour. He drove like a race car driver. He even jokingly commented about previosly driving in the Michigan 500 (there were passengers from Michigan on the bus). We were so relieved to arrive at the office so we would no longer be tossed around the bus. Can you imagine what went through our minds when we found out Kenneth would also be our bus driver for the tour we were going on? The tour was to Muir Woods. There are extremely steep hills (up and down) on the narrow, winding road. Not only were we concerned with his speed, our arms were aching from holding on so tightly. I guess the speed limit signs were only suggesstions. BTW, no seat belts available! Kenneth even joked about a guy who was driving too fast and ended up going down a steep ravine. Totally UNSAT! Add to it, the PA was too loud and it was difficult to listen to Kenneth thourgh his "whistle" when he pronounced words with an "S". Needless to say, he didn't receive a tip from us. It was awesome to see Muir Woods, not enough time for anything other than lunch in Sausalito, but the bus ride ruined it. The tour operator for the Sonoma and Napa Valley tour was really good, informative and entertaining, but difficult to understand at times due to his accent. He was also a good bus driver when he wasn't too distracted with talking to us. He got a tip from us. The best driver was for our city tour. He drove the largest bus, and had a radio DJ voice which was easy to listen to. He was very knowledagble and spoke of experinces growing up in the area. He was also the driver that took us back to our airport hotels at the end of the day. He was by far the best tour operator and the best driver! He got three tips from us!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line of San Francisco - Super Sightseeing also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line of San Francisco - Super Sightseeing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gray Line of San Francisco - Super Sightseeing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gray Line of San Francisco - Super Sightseeing to your Saves list