We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South of the border for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pasion - SF

Pasion - SF
737 Irving St, San Francisco, CA 94122
4157425727
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pasion - SF is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,249 of 5,012 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 9th Ave
Description: Welcome to Pasion, the Nuevo Latino restaurant from owner and executive chef Jose Calvo-Perez. Pasion brings a taste of the Latino Carribean, South and Central America to the Inner Sunset District of San Francisco, combining excitement and energy of Latin American cuisine and decor with a modern, urban flavor. iBuen Provecho!
Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“South of the border for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Pasion is a great addition to the Inner Sunset neighborhood, particularly now that it is open for lunch! It'a a smart looking interior with wooden tables and chairs and an attractive bar and was fairly quiet the times I've dined there at lunch. Menu is a nice mix of salads, hearty sandwiches (a Cubano, for example) and other Latin fare. The guacamole was excellent too! A nice alternative to the more casual spots on 9th Ave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have been to Pasion several times since it first opened and the experiences were always good. However,for Fathers Day my wife took me to Pasion and, on this visit, the experience was not very good.

We had a reservation and were seated promptly. However, it took about five minutes for the waiter to appear and offer us menus. He took our drink order and delivered it in about another five minutes, which was good. He then disappeared for quite a while before returning for our order. We started with the roasted potatoes which arrived far too warm - almost cold. This was followed by our entrees which also arrived cold. We should have sent the entrees back but didn't.

I think they may have been understaffed for Fathers Day and that our waiter was not able to get to the kitchen often enough to serve the food hot. As I said, this was the first disappointing visit I have had here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Loud, loud, loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The restaurant was so loud that we could barely talk directly across the table, much less from one end of a six-person table to the other. Our ears were literally ringing when we left the restaurant.

While the food was quite good, particularly the ceviche dishes, I would not go back, simply because the noise level is painfully high.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We've been to Pasion a couple times for dinner. It's a great fine dining restaurant in our neighborhood, but non-pretentious. We've always enjoyed great food and service. Enjoyed everything that I have eaten here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

First time for us here and a very good and interesting (in a good way!) meal.
Service was excellent with very good recommendations on the food and wine.
We will return soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasion - SF also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Pasion - SF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasion - SF, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.