We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Hills

Seven Hills
1550 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
415-775-1550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pacific
Transit: On the Hyde street cable car stop at Pacific.
Description: SEVEN HILLS is a small neighborhood restaurant located in the romantic Nob Hill district of San Francisco. Our emphasis is on home made pasta. Our wine list was created by two Master Sommeliers; Nunzio Alioto and Chuck Furuya, you will find it extremely approached and well suited to our cuisine. We look forward to seeing you soon...
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is what San Francisco is all about. It's small and can be cramped when the tables are changing. Don't even think of going here without a reservation. The food is interesting and top-rate, and the wine-list is small was very well-chosen. Every dish we have had here over several visits has been great. Don't miss the pastas. The service is Thanks again to Alexis and Alex for another great evening of good fun and fine food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi John & Margo

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are really focused on the food here and i am so glad that you found us. I look forward to your next visit which is very soon i hope!

Cheers

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    73
    24
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Don't Leave San Francisco Without Trying This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

It's rare to find a restaurant devoted to good food and service that achieves its goals, but this one does! The menu is varied but not overwhelming, and one gets the impression that each dish was carefully chosen to allow the chef to "shine", each time in a different way. The bean salad and calamari which we chose as appetizers were wonderful. I don't think I've ever had calamari which were better prepared, and their salty and spicy taste of the ocean paired surprisingly with eggplant caponata. All the dishes were this thoughtfully designed, and I expect that the ones we didn't taste were as well. My partner had one of their signature entrees, Ravioli Uovo, which was pasta (with a brown butter sauce) assembled around an egg yolk that was poached as the pasta was heated. Mine was "tootsie rolls" which were small cheese-filled pasta tubes with a wonderful butter sauce. The half-plate servings are small (but rich), and we shared a third, Spaghetti with a rich tomato sauce, carmelized onions and sausage. For dessert we had panna cotta and ricotta dishes. Like the main dishes, each looked like a small serving, but they were so rich (and well prepared) that we had trouble finishing them. We especially liked the Marin County honey on the panna cotta. As befitting this restaurant's small size, the wine list was not overly long, but each offering was obviously carefully chosen and was on the list for a reason. The complimenting flavors of our meal were chosen with the expert assistance of our two waiters who knew the menu "cold" and did not hesitate to answer any questions (including what to order). It's rare that I eat a meal, taking very small bites to savor each dish as long as possible, but this was that kind of meal. If you want a routine meal indifferently served, go someplace else. If you want a meal composed of dishes chosen to focus on the individual qualities of the ingredients, served by enthusiastic, friendly staff, come to this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi amosesq

Well, i have to admit it this is by far the best review we have ever gotten here. I'd like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a compelling and detailed review. I get the feeling that you had a wonderful time at the restaurant. I really appreciate your business and all your great compliments - thank you.

Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Like being in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Amazingly good food. Great service. I had the risotto and loved it. We were with a party of 8 and everyone was pleased. It is a small place so reservations are a must. It is also rather noisy so just be aware of that before you go. I will return again the next time I am in SF.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi San

Thanks for the great review. Reservatiosn are a must due to the size of the dining area and the fact that trip advisor users are really enjoying their experience with us! I'm glad to hear that you will be returning.

Cheers

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It might not be so hidden but it is a jewel. There was so much we wanted to try so we did order several items. Our waiter was very good, the food was great and I'd return again. You won't be want to miss the fresh and tasty flavorful food here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi Cassie

Thanks for the great review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed everything. Thanks for pointing out all of our fresh choices we really take a pride in what we offer our guests here!


Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a week long stay in San Francisco over New Years, trying all of the "foodie" restaurants, and this was the best. The manager/owner (forget his name, but he had a British Accent), was absoutely wonderul to deal with over the phone and in person. He checked on us periodically and even brough my wife a sample of thier dessert wine for free.

I started with the Ravioli Uovo and it was great. Just mealts in your mouth. No wonder it's their signature dish. It's a can't miss if you visit. We had a couple different pastas and they were both excellent as well. This will be our first stop next time we are in San Francisco.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi Steve

It was my pleasure to welcome you into the restaurant, i am so glad that you both enjoyed everything. I look forward to your next visit when you can sample everything else that the menu has to offer!

Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Hills also viewed

 

Been to Seven Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.