We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Hills

Seven Hills
1550 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
415-775-1550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 5,005 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pacific
Transit: On the Hyde street cable car stop at Pacific.
Description: SEVEN HILLS is a small neighborhood restaurant located in the romantic Nob Hill district of San Francisco. Our emphasis is on home made pasta. Our wine list was created by two Master Sommeliers; Nunzio Alioto and Chuck Furuya, you will find it extremely approached and well suited to our cuisine. We look forward to seeing you soon...
Toronto
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“It's all about expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is quite simply an amazing spot. But you need to be the kind of person who appreciates great food and service without pretense. No valet parking. 30-or-so seats. Consider yourself lucky to get one of them :) Make a reservation for sure. Yes...there is one bathroom. I met the owner, Alex, just outside the bathroom. Great guy, and we chatted at our table at length after. Lots of laughs. We love restaurants with character and darn great food, and this is exactly what you will get. Seven Hills is a neighbouhood spot.It's busy, it's popular, and the food and service are incredible. It's casual, yet the food is 5-star and plated beautifully. We think it was OUTSTANDING! Heirloom tomato appetizer...calamari appetizer...to die for. Just go. It really is a "5"!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi Marafrom Toronto

Great review. THis is the sort of review i have been looking for. THanks for pointing out all that is great about my restaurant. We are a small spot but we are really focused on the food and the people. I can't wait to welcome you back into the restaurant, when hopefully I'll have two toilet options for you!!!

Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    73
    24
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“cozy place to get some great italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

has a great neighborhood feel to it. super homemade pastas. would have liked a few more choices on the menu, but definitely a worthwhile choice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi jdteeth

thanks for the review, i usually hear how varied our menu here is. Nonetheless you seemed to enjoy everything which is something i love to hear. Hope you have a great Christmas

Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Hate to give it a 3, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I ate at Seven Hills on a Saturday with a 6pm reservation. We had heard rave reviews about the place and had booked the space almost 3 weeks in advance. When we arrived the restaurant was probably 85degrees inside, which was significantly warmer than outside. Then, we were seated directly next to another couple (and when I say, directly next to, I mean about 1.5 feet away). There were at least 4 tables to my right that would've separated us from them if only for 20 min or so before other diners arrived. Everyone is correct, the wine list is decent and the Ravioli Uovo is an absolute must. IT IS DELICIOUS! However, my husband's pasta dish was a bit bland although the homemade noodles were admittedly very good and the fried chicken that everyone raves about wasn't as impressive as I'd expected. Gave it a 3 because I'm spoiled when it comes to space and temperature. I was so distracted by the heat and the other patrons, that I had a very hard time focusing on my own conversation and food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi Wmk191

THanks for the review, even though it wasn't great. There's nothing i can do about the temperature in the room SF has very few hot days and i'm pretty sure that 99% of restaurants do not have air conditioning. As far as the proximity of the tables is concerned that is pretty standard when it comes to neighborhood restaurant as we do not have lots of options when it comes to the next turn. Typically i do this if we have lot's of four tops coming in. My restaurant can get loud and i have done everything i can to combat this. Let us know in the future if you want to move table rather than letting it affect your meal. Your review was on balance pretty positive. THank you for taking the time out of your day to write about us.

Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Enjoyed our meal/experience at Seven Hills...excellent pasta accompanied by a bottle of Costa De Oro Pinot Noir...good service and everyone in the restaurant seemed to be enjoying themselves (us included).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hi Joe

Lovely review, thanks very much, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed everything!
See you soon

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast (of Lake Michigan)
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

So being my first visit to San Francisco I consulted Trip Advisor for some of the top (affordable) places to eat in the city. I discovered the rather high rating of Seven Hills, and to my surprise it was along the same trolley line that fronted my hotel. I made a same-day reservation and gave it a try.

To be honest, I'm not a fine dining connoisseur in any sense of the word, so I rate based on whether it tastes good, looks good and makes me feel as if the price I paid for the food and service made sense. Seven Hills scored pretty well in all areas, but when this site ranks you in the top-ten out of like 2000 restaurants in the city, I guess I expect to be blown away. And really I wasn't. But again, I'm no expert.

Still, it was a very good dining experience. My only complaint is that they didn't take American Express, which seems odd to me for a higher-end restaurant. No biggie, turns out they accept ye olde dollars.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi Chaos Theory

Thanks for following the trip advisor reviews and checking us out. I'm glad that you enjoyed everything, we are in the business of feeding people here. Usually people say that we are on the pricier side so thanks for saying the opposite.
Hopefully we'll see you again on your next visit to SF.

Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Hills also viewed

 

Been to Seven Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.