We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Supper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotogna

Cotogna
490 Pacific Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)
+1 415-775-8508
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cotogna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #324 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Montgomery
Transit: The Muni bus lines 1 California, 30 Stockton, 10 Townsend and 12 Folsom all stop within a block or two of Cotogna. The closest Bart stop, Montgomery Station, is a 10 minute walk.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Supper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I went back to Cotogna on this trip, and weren't disappointed. The Sunday Supper is a wonderful option - prix fixe set menu, with or without wine pairings (we opted for one of the $40 bottles, a feature of the menu and a good value). Delicious locally sourced ingredients, presented with flair and imagination. Great evening.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    56
    30
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“Worst ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Visited Cotogna on a recommendation and reviews. What a disaster! In a city with so many restaurants, it would be hard to do worse! The waitstaff was arrogant, uninterested, inattentive and slow -- long wait, lack of attention, ignored requests (and never even noticed their mistakes). An artichoke appetizer was tasteless and unattractive (a sin in northern California); the lettuces, which would have been nice, were spoiled by a tasteless and glutinous dressing. A dungeness crab pasta dish had some questionable tiny worm-like strands of something that could have been crab, faux crab, or ...?, and was so salty I couldn't finish it and my mouth was puckered for the rest of the afternoon. Stay away! Skip this place and have a beautiful salad and sandwich at the coffee/juice bar up the street. Gets a 'one' only because there's not a negative rating!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“What happened to the Porchetta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Were excited to go back to the restaurant to finally have the Porchetta, only to be told it was out of season. When is pork out of season. The only thing on the fire was burning cauliflower. Disappointing to say the least. Did have a great pizza.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great, fun night of food and drink!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Really enjoyable evening! Nice food and wine in a relaxed atmosphere - I am not a "foodie" although my girlfriend is, so I made reservations here and was very pleasantly surprised! A nice, fun price fix menu with an enjoyable flow. I highly recommend it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful find in SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A native told me about this restaurant. We dined on a Sunday evening with a price fixed menu. We did not have reservation and chose to wait. The wait was only 15 minutes and the three of us were placed at a large table that we shared with two other couples....community dining. This may not be the usual but we found it charming. Our meal consisted of an asparagus tart, followed a wonderful mushroom filled pasta. The main meal was a wonderful fire roasted chicken with fresh veggies. We opted out for the cheese plate which was followed by a strawberry/ruhbard compote with creme fraiche. Each serving was accompanied by a different wine which on this evening was french. My understanding is that this varies from the typical Italian wines that are served. The food was tasty and appealing. Our waitress was beyond fantastic. The staff was very polite and I never detected a frown. The entire restaurant which is quaint was clean. The price paid was approximately $100/person and I felt to be reasonable. Not a daily expenditure, but well worth for a special occcasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotogna also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cotogna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotogna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.