We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sashimi good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hana Zen Sushi Bar - Pier 39

Hana Zen Sushi Bar - Pier 39
Pier 39, Suite M.209 (Beach & Embarcadero), San Francisco, CA 94133
415-421-8822
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hana Zen Sushi Bar - Pier 39 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #736 of 5,012 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Embarcadero
Transit: Public Transit available
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great sashimi good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Figured when at fisherman's wharf, seafood like sashimi must be good and was not disappointed.
Honestly I was apprehensive about entering as the place was empty as the dinner crowd has not come in even though it was past 7pm. Low crowd turnover for eating sashimi would be bad idea! But my Asian son was desperately in need of eating rice! So we were seated right by the windows with the blinds slightly drawn. The scenery is beautiful but the sun was burning on my back. So I tried to move a seat but in the end, ended changing table as the sun was too much for my liking. The waitress attending to me obliged with a smile and was nice about it. My son ordered the kids teriyaki chicken bento and we ordered tempura and also sashimi which was the best ever! The tuna and salmon melted in my mouth and did not have any fishy smell. A must try! There were 12 thick pieces of sashimi.The hostess, a Japanese lady, was friendly and came by to pull the blinds up to let people enjoy the sunset. She also came by to chat with us. I would definitely go back again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    36
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mortsel, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

It was time for lunch when we visited Pier 39 and decided to go find a Japanese restaurant, when we stumbled accross Hana Zen at the end of the pier. We suspected that - given its prime location - it would be overpriced and a clear tourist trap, but this was not the case. Nice food, correct prices and a friendly service. And what a view !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Lovely Tuna Steak and a fun experience with the Hot Stones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Came across this by chance as I was wandering around Pier 39 on my first night in San Francisco. Wanted to eat somewhere with a view and and fancied some Tuna which Hana Zen was showing on their boards outside. I didn't realise when I went in that it was a Hot Stones place and wouldn't have known what that was anyway.

Friendly waitress explained everything which is that you get the Tuna (or other steak) raw and then you slice it and cook it yourself on the hot stone they bring for you.

Steak was great and it was a fun experience.

Will go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best thing about this place is the views of the SF Bay.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Upon entering, my friends and I were greeted by an empty hostess station. We see the staff towards the back socializing with each other and we weren't greeted/seated until we flagged someone down (The restaurant wasn't even busy) (strike one).
Wait staff - pleasant but definitely lacking in quality serving skills (strike two)
Food - best thing out of the dishes we ordered was the Miso soup (which doesnt say much) (strike three).

The saving grace of this place is the great views of the SF Bay. My recommendation, ask for a table by the windows, order a simple appetizer and drinks and savor the views. Save your money for another restaurant with high quality servers and better food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Sushi rolls were half the size that we expected. Service was slow and the restaurant was not busy. Good views at the end of pier 39. Just not worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Zen Sushi Bar - Pier 39 also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Hana Zen Sushi Bar - Pier 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hana Zen Sushi Bar - Pier 39, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.