We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing French Bistro near Golden Gate Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Central Parc

Bistro Central Parc
560 Central Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94117
+1 415-931-7272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Central Parc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 5,093 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Corner of Grove and Central
Transit: buses: 21, 5, 43 within one block on Masonic Street buses: 71, 6, 66 within 4 blocks on Haight Street
Description: Bistro Central Parc is tucked away in the Neighborhood of NOPA... The food is spectacular and the atmosphere is casual and fun. White table cloth food without the tablecloths. The Kitchen staff has been together for over 10 years and the pride is shown in every dish served. Bistro Central Parc is truly a San Francisco secret little Gem
Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing French Bistro near Golden Gate Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We traveled by bus from the Financial District to go to this restaurant on our last night in San Francisco. We were looking for a good French restaurant. This was perfect. It was worth the 20 minute or so bus ride. The wait staff was very attentive and gave good advice when asked. The owner came out and made our acquaintance. We ordered a bottle of wine on recommendation from the waiter. It ended up being very good and perfect for what we ordered. The food was very good. It was cooked perfectly. We ordered an appetizer as well as our entrees and it was a perfect quantity as well. We didn't feel stuffed afterward which is a good thing. They provide water to the table in a bottle (tap) or you can order special water if you like. The place was clean and neat and small enough so it felt intimate. It's a nice place for couples or for a small group. Casual dress is fine here too- it is not a formal place although one would be comfortable with more formal attire. It made the perfect last night for our wonderful visit to San Francisco!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Un bijou dans le parc!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

No wonder Bistro Central Parc is rated #15 on Trip Advisor! It deserves its rating. We had dinner there on our recent trip to San Francisco and it was a wonderful experience. Jerome, one of the owners, took care of our table and made sure we were having a great time. The menu was so inviting, it was difficult to make a choice. We wanted one of each. My husband finally settled on Salmon Tartare for the appetizer and I chose Escargots. Both were delicious. For the entrée, my husband tried “Beef Cheek” at Jerome’s recommendation and he was not disappointed. And for me, Magret de Canard with a cherry sauce was wonderful. We completed this superb dinner with two delicious desserts, “Volcan” and “Tarte Tatin”. Jerome recommended a great wine that complemented both our main dishes. Bistro Central Parc will rival any restaurant in France. The food is superb and we highly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Paris in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Mere words could not reasonably describe the wonderful experience we had recently at Bistro Central Parc during a recent visit to San Francisco. To say the food was delicious and attractively presented would be an understatement. Escargots, tartare de saumon, magret de canard, braised beef cheeks and the desserts were prepared and served with great care and expertise by a genuinely friendly group of people. The owner is not only the friendliest of the bunch, he really knows fine food and good wine.

We are already making plans for a return trip to San Francisco in the near future, just so we can dine at Bistro Central Parc.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This seemingly unprepossessing neighborhood is not to be missed. The food, mostly traditional French with a San Francisco twist, was nothing short of superb, with absolutely beautiful presentation. My starter, salmon tartare, was wrapped in gravlax, garnished with salmon eggs, was as beautiful to see as it was delicious to taste. My entree, duck breast, was cooked to perfection, medium rare as ordered, lightly but deliciously sauces. My dessert, tarte tatin, was good...not great, not Parisienne, and not up to the standard set by my 1st 2 courses. This bistro is a hidden gem, not to be missed. I will surely return when next I in SF.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A little bit of Paris in SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is at the top of my list of favorite restaurants in San Francisco. It is just a small restaurant with excellent food and true French atmosphere. I had the endive salad and a filet. The flavors blended perfectly and the presentation was beautiful. Excellence is in the details. Service was personal and everyone had a comforting French accent which made dinner all the better. The wine list had many selections by the glass and even a few half bottles which was perfect for sharing. Dessert had it's own menu and I wanted one of everything, but we ended up sharing a "chocolate volcano". I believe reservations are needed but they do have seats around a long bar which would be perfect for drop-ins. They also use open table which I love.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Central Parc also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bistro Central Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Central Parc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.