We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barbacco

Barbacco
220 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)
415-955-1919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Barbacco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #248 of 4,595 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Battery
Transit: Embarcadero Bart Station, Embarcadero Muni Station and all lines that run through Market Street.
Leicester
Level Contributor
252 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Buzzing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

First dinner on this trip to San Francisco and attracted by TripAdvisor reviews and that it was just round the corner from our Hotel.

We were a "Walk In" and waited around 5 minutes or so before being seated.

Efficient and pleasant waiter and good combination of wines and meal choices.

Seats a little too close to one's neighbours for my liking but guess this is normal in the Financial District.

Would go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    54
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Everything tastes great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner with two colleagues on a Thursday evening. We didn't make a reservation but we were treated wonderfully by the hosts during our wait, which was shorter than expected. We ordered 3 apps and 3 mains-- all were delicious. Our server was great and really helpful with recommendations. The atmosphere is lively and the communal seating works nicely without being awkward.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice walk in Bar Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Very good wine by the glass, the portions were reasonable, and the sauteed squid dish was perfectly done. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable.


Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not so bad, could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Was looking for an italian experience. Didn't found the usual flavor of italian cuisine, average food with lack of fresh spices and sauce. May be Perbacco is better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food but Noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Barbacoo is a nice place, good selection of food and drink. Tho, nothing impressive and the place can be quite noisy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbacco also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Barbacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.