We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavash

Lavash
511 Irving Street, San Francisco, CA 94122
(415) 664-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #327 of 5,012 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Persian
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Lavash restaurant is a rather small but cozy and warm place. The menu contains a number of appetizers and a wide variety of Persian cuisines. Our party of five adults ordered khoresht Bademjan (eggplant dish served with rice), Kebab Barg (fillet of beef with rice and BBQ tomato), Joojeh Kabab (chicken breast with rice and BBQ tomato), and Kebab Soltani (combination of Barg and Koobideh- mixed ground beef and lamb- served with rice and BBQ tomato). For appetizer, we ordered Sabzi Pani, which is a dish consisting of herbs, feta cheese, cucumber, tomato, walnut and grapes served with lavash (a white flat bread). While Joojeh was slightly on the dry side and Bademjan was not as tasty as we expected, our food was delicious. The service was excellent. Although we did not order dessert, the menu contains some delicious choices, such as baklava, faloodeh, and makhloot (combination of fallodeh and ice cream). An 18% tip was added to our bill, which was not enough for such a superb service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Persian food except for friend's homemade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

What a wonderful lunch! I had the prawns kabab which was just right. Very flavorful. The dolma was the best I've ever had. Probably could have ordered another, we gobbled it up so fast. Then a neat Cherry Refresher drink that was just delightful. On our way out we picked up some baklava that was scrumptious. Very fresh and tasty. Will go here every time we get to SF, it was that good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, CO
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Top Notch Service and Wonderful Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Four of us came here for lunch on a Saturday and were treated to a fabulous meal. I ordered the Fesenjen and found it to be just like my Persian friends make in Denver...delicious. Others dishes were equally good. The personal service was attentive and we never felt rushed. The restaurant has just a few tables but did not feel crowded or noisy. I chose the baklava for dessert and was impressed with its flaky layers with just the right sweetness. If I lived in the area this would definitely be at the top of my list for places to eat. Thanks for the most enjoyable meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Great Persian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our son recommended to eat at Lavash. It was a good experience with great ambiance and delicious food. The restaurant has only a few tables but an extensive menu. The dining area was cozy but still very private. The service was excellent but not bothersome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Lavash isn't much to look at from the outside. Even inside it's nice in a very cosy, homey kind of way (which I like). But the food is absolutely fantastic. I've heard that some Persians say it's the best Persian food outside of Iran, and that's easy to believe. The flavors are fresh, complex, and mouth watering. We had two of their signiture dishes, the Zereshk Polo and the Adas Polo and we can't wait to go back and try other things on the menu. The service was fast and couldn't have been more friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavash also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Lavash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavash, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.